Is NVIDIA the only IT company forcing telemetry to its costumers??

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by Jen1, Feb 12, 2021.

  1. lord_zed

    lord_zed Active Member

    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    980ti MOD 1500/8000 LC
    I got idea for You dont like it ?? Move to AMD sorted nobody is forcing You to use Nvidia :D
     
    AQUILES likes this.
  2. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,587
    Likes Received:
    7,811
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super

    Have never seen such question... What are choices:
    - you can answer "no" and Android will not use telemetry?
    - you can answer "no" and do not use Android?
     
    tfam26 likes this.
  3. Jen1

    Jen1 Active Member

    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    17
    GPU:
    Nvidia 1080 3x SLI
    I will, my next card 100% will be AMD,

    Not only NVIDIA is expensive and faulty with lots of bugs, they even collect data without my consent,

    I am even advising against buying NVIDIA cards, expensive, data collection, faulty, buggy. The full package
     
  4. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,587
    Likes Received:
    7,811
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super
    And still you are ignoring firewall option and fake dll-files option.
     

  5. rflair

    rflair Don Commisso Staff Member

    Messages:
    4,125
    Likes Received:
    419
    GPU:
    5700XT
    Does anyone compile a list of IP addresses and ports Nvidia uses so they can be firewalled?
     
  6. Jen1

    Jen1 Active Member

    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    17
    GPU:
    Nvidia 1080 3x SLI
    These are not options, these are just manipulating to the compulsory data collection of NVIDIA
     
  7. SatsuiNoHado

    SatsuiNoHado Active Member

    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    24
    GPU:
    EVGA 1080Ti FTW3
    this do not stop telemetry...you cant stop telemetry with this Option(not tweak) but there is other ways to do so unfortunately with broken stability/features and another false information on the net as other garbages..

    Diagnostic data is categorized into four levels as 0,1,2,3,4... allowtelemetry=0 means => 0(Security) Information that’s required to help keep Windows, Windows Server, and System Center secure, including data about the Connected User Experiences and Telemetry component settings, the Malicious Software Removal Tool, and Windows Defender.
    and this option "0 (Security)" only for enterprise users..so if you even set it as "0" it behaves like 1 if your lovely windows 10 is not enterprise edition
    so what is level 1 ?
    - 1 (Required). Basic device info, including: quality-related data, app compatibility, and data from the Security level.
    and because of this someone uses always enterprise edition for years even he has got original pro licence

    and what about forced telemetry in gpu driver?
    yes it is NaughtyVidia and Nobody does it better
     
    tfam26 likes this.
  8. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,587
    Likes Received:
    7,811
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super
    No, but I am happy owner of NV card. And have been since 670 one.
     
  9. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,587
    Likes Received:
    7,811
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super
    If they stop the transmission of collected data to NV over the Internet these are options.
     
  10. Jen1

    Jen1 Active Member

    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    17
    GPU:
    Nvidia 1080 3x SLI
    This my first and last NVIDIA card, I bought the 1080 when it was in its prime and it was very expensive, but I was happy it was so fast,

    But then the bugs start to come up, until now My Samsung TV doesn't work on NVIDIA but it works on both INTEL and AMD VGA.

    Is NVIDIA a strong and a fast GPU, yes it is, but it doesn't worth the price
     

  11. Jen1

    Jen1 Active Member

    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    17
    GPU:
    Nvidia 1080 3x SLI
    Again it is not, it will still collect data,

    I read once a post here that one had almost 5GB of data collected by NVIDIA, not sure if I am right or wrong, but it was a big size
     
  12. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,136
    Likes Received:
    3,603
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    HAHAHAHAHAHA

    The telemetry in android is always on, all you're doing is setting it from operational data to stalk my porn habbits or back again.

    enjoy that AMD telemetry.
     
    AQUILES, tfam26 and itpro like this.
  13. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,587
    Likes Received:
    7,811
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super
    That implies storing data in files. In such case files can be deleted by a custom made app.
     
  14. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,587
    Likes Received:
    7,811
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super
    AMD has it too?
     
    itpro likes this.
  15. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,587
    Likes Received:
    7,811
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super
    https://www.nvidia.com/en-us/drivers/geforce-license/

    Just in case... They state the collection in EULA. I don`t know whether this is enough for "consent"...

    ***

    https://www.nvidia.com/en-us/about-nvidia/privacy-policy/

    Also they state you can ask them to remove your data...
     

  16. Jen1

    Jen1 Active Member

    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    17
    GPU:
    Nvidia 1080 3x SLI
    It is optional in AMD; there is an option in the AMD control panel to disable data collection
     
    SatsuiNoHado and itpro like this.
  17. itpro

    itpro Master Guru

    Messages:
    931
    Likes Received:
    505
    GPU:
    Radeon Technologies
    I freely and willingly give my data to Nvidia, AMD, Intel, Canonical, Microsoft and Google by the way. I am still out of jail. :rolleyes::p
     
  18. rflair

    rflair Don Commisso Staff Member

    Messages:
    4,125
    Likes Received:
    419
    GPU:
    5700XT
    Well I for one agree, everyone should be given the option.
     
    Truder, fantaskarsef and Jen1 like this.
  19. painter

    painter Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,074
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    GTX 1060 6GB
    Sorry if I've missed it, but what data do they actually collect? To be honest I'm not that bothered, as I've come to accept, rightly or wrongly, that this is the way things are with current tech... everything is monitoring us all the time, including this website, unless you op out of everything.... and I'm not sure you can op out of everything even then.

    Given an easy option I would turn if off. This is how it should be.
     
  20. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,587
    Likes Received:
    7,811
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super
    Problem is Jen1 lists options not for everyone - only "advanced" users will know about telemetry and those options.
    Option for everyone - is direct setting in GUI.
     
    AQUILES and rflair like this.

Share This Page