Is Mantle exclusive to ATI/AMD or can future nvidia drivers adopt Mantle too?

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by dr_hycodan, Feb 1, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dr_hycodan

    dr_hycodan Member

    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Geforce GTX 980 SLI
    The performance boost that Mantle offers over DX11 is surprisingly good. Would be ashamed if nvidia users have to stick with DX11 while ATI users get to use Mantle.
     
  2. PhazeDelta1

    PhazeDelta1 Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    15,613
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    EVGA 1080 FTW
    Mantle isn't proprietary. Nvidia can use it if they want. But I highly doubt they will
     
  3. V@IO

    V@IO Master Guru

    Messages:
    494
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX780Ti @ 1233/7400MHz
    ^ Yip, for Nvidia to use Mantle would be like Apple using Android on their iPhone's, it aint gonna happen.

    But then again, i don`t think Nvidia is just going to sit back and do nothing (well i hope not) they might plan some kind of counter-technology of sorts.
     
    Last edited: Feb 1, 2014
  4. southamptonfc

    southamptonfc Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,669
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    (.)an X
    Mantle isn't anti Nvidia, it's anti Microsoft!

    Game developers do not want to develop for 3 different APIs. Nvidia will be forced into supporting Mantle.
     

  5. PhazeDelta1

    PhazeDelta1 Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    15,613
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    EVGA 1080 FTW
    Maybe but they wont support it unless they absolutely have to.. Just look at how long it took them to start making drivers for linux
     
  6. DesGaizu

    DesGaizu Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,601
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    JetStream 980 Ti 1400MHz
    For mantle to truly succeed we need nvidia on board.
     
  7. maur0

    maur0 Master Guru

    Messages:
    675
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    point of view gtx 570 1gb
    nvidia create a Mantle emulator, more slow with dx 11 lol

    problem is dx 11 totaly desotimized bad coded

    please microsoft fix dx 11 create service pack for dx 11 to optimize dx 11 = dx 9.0c




    pratical example
    [​IMG]

    same game on dx 11 very slow 1/10 speed dx 9
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Feb 1, 2014
  8. squalles

    squalles Master Guru

    Messages:
    554
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Galax GTX 1080 EXOC OC
    amd says mantle is open... but to nvidia use that need uses gcn in your architecture... so... is no open... is exclusive...

    nvidia announced make your own api now...

    dx12 announced soon with same gain than mantle and new nvidia api... so... microsoft owned amd and nvidia... and us gonna see this api´s death in soon...
     
  9. Anarion

    Anarion Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,922
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 ACX
    Nay. They said Mantel is not GCN exclusive. Mantle is thin abstraction layer. AMD is not stupid enough to make API that would only work with GCN. What would happen when they release new architecture? Exactly.... If AMD releases proper documentation then it might be possible to make driver for it. "...leading up to a public release of the specifications later in 2014."
     
    Last edited: Feb 1, 2014
  10. mohiuddin

    mohiuddin Master Guru

    Messages:
    657
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX670 4gb ll RX480 8gb
    what the hell?
    M_A_N_T_L_E ...mantle thread in the Nvidia section? :3eyes:
    hey OP, what mantle has shown so far (bf4) , still nothing revolutionary to be honest.
     

  11. EdKiefer

    EdKiefer Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,249
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    MSI 970 Gaming 4G
    No he is right, that is how low level api work , its very specific to HW .
    Sure Nvidia could problably use some of it now (if driver supported) but it be very limited and probably not worth it.
    For it to be worth it they would need to redo HW architecture that works just like AMD does .
    If rummors of Maxwell using co-processor onboard , I wonder how that could be used to take up slake and some BW of CPU .

    I doubt we see low level driver from Nvidia, If they wanted to go down that road they had best time to do it when they took over 3DFX . They never used any of that tech AFAIK .

    The best thing that can come out of this is better Dx extensions from MS .
     
  12. CalinTM

    CalinTM Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,465
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSi GTX980 GAMING 1531mhz
    This API will die like the rest of API's across the history, remember ?

    AMD wants their users to think they can put maximum performance, but they don't have the resources compared with the behemoth, Nvidia.
     
  13. ---TK---

    ---TK--- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    22,135
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x 980Ti Gaming 1430/7296
    If its so open why do you need a 7000 series or higher to run it?
     
  14. DarkOneZ13

    DarkOneZ13 Active Member

    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI/GTX 980/4096MB
    Nvidia already has nvapi.
     
  15. MrMicrochip

    MrMicrochip Member Guru

    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gainward GTX 1070 Phoenix
    Last edited: Feb 1, 2014

  16. dnottis

    dnottis Master Guru

    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA SSC 970 GTX 4GB
    I dunno, I overclock my GPU and CPU and I gain more than 12-15% in performance. Not really impressed. Show me a 75% increase and I'd consider it. Being AMD I'm sure there are issues not mentioned in these articles too. ie, the beta mantle driver probably breaks every other game so you'd be swapping sets depending on which game you are playing. At least that was the my last experience with AMD and my 5800 series cards. I don't intend on going back to that crap.
     
  17. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,876
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    ZOTAC GX980Ti Amp!Extreme
    So many false random facts going on here.. Not really surprised

    This has nothing to do with mantle, what you see here is tessellation and all extra dx11 features limiting it..

    DarkOneZ13
    That is not the same, its just hw monitoring layer.


    GCN is very similar to nvidia's gpus since Fermi days, that's why there wouldn't be any real issues supporting it.


    Nvidia needs a proper driver and then it will work.



    This slide says it all.
    [​IMG]


    So again its up to nvidia to support it, all you need to bitch @ nvidia forums.
    https://forums.geforce.com/
     
  18. Mythril

    Mythril Member Guru

    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 980Ti
    Personally I'd like to think nVidia will jump on the Mantel bandwagon and soon but if they don't I can only think it's because they are too "stuck up" (for a better word) for their own good. Mantle is a good thing. A step in the right direction.

    There is a lot of hate towards Mantel at present I feel from some nVidia users but I'm sure if nVidia had brought Mantel to the table first, these same naysayers would sing a different tune.

    I truly hope nVidia see sense and support this new API. At the end of the day more speed is a good thing. So please nVidia, have a good long hard think about your next move. I'd love to see you support Mantel to it's full but if in the future Mantel become a big player and you're still not playing ball then I see no other option but to jump ship and I believe a lot will.
     
  19. Anarion

    Anarion Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,922
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 ACX
    He is not right. You can not compare mantle and glide. It has abstraction layer, thin and "better" according to AMD and it is not tied to GCN.
     
  20. EdKiefer

    EdKiefer Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,249
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    MSI 970 Gaming 4G
    IMO , It would not be thin layer if they tried to support it on there hardware .
    The way it gets to be thin is to being very specific in function .
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page