IS it worth it to overclock memory?

Discussion in 'Die-hard Overclocking & Case Modifications' started by Saifz, Oct 2, 2011.

  1. Svein_Skogen

    Svein_Skogen Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,230
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x GTX570, ASUS+eVGA
    As I said initially, overclocking memory (unless you have some sort of error-correction) really isn't worth the risk (it can, and will, cause corruption on the file system if and when it fails!).

    Having _MORE_ memory is usually a better solution (multichannel setup, OS filesystem cache, etc), and one that will increase the general speed your computer responds. The difference in speed when fetching from cache vs fetching from spinning rust, is several orders of magnitude (┬Ás vs ms), but to get any joy from a 24GB setup (or anything from 4GB and up) you need a 64bit os.

    Performance-tuning a workstation/desktop still takes some skill, and not buzzwords and forum-fu. And I've been at this "game" since the Micromation m-box mp/m-80 setups...

    //Svein
     
  2. __hollywood|meo

    __hollywood|meo Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,990
    Likes Received:
    139
    GPU:
    MSI 970 @1.55ghz
    isnt worth the risk? im going to respectfully disagree! its very easy to bootdisk memtest to check for preliminary instabilities, then conduct further, more rigorous testing within windows. its something you should do cautiously, yes. but some programs and games love memory bandwidth...

    oh and LOL @nobody. he talks about how high his IQ is, and cant spell himself. amazing.
     
  3. thatguy91

    thatguy91 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,643
    Likes Received:
    99
    GPU:
    XFX RX 480 RS 4 GB
    You probably wouldn't be able to overclock 1333Mhz memory to 1600Mhz. When dealing with individual memory modules, better gains can be had with lower timings than a higher speed. The reason behind this is the timings are in relation to the speed of the memory, and not a fixed point in time. This is why in the graph pointed out in an earlier post showed DDR3@1600Mhz 7-7-7 etc timings was faster than DDR3@1866 9-9-9 etc timings. In any case, these two memory modules isn't a reasonable comparison, because cost is also a factor. Memory voltage is a bit of a tough argument as well. The memory voltage is dependent on the speed of the RAM, timings, and the manufacturing process of the chips. In terms of DDR3-1600 for example, I wouldn't personally go for 1.65V modules...

    Tweaking memory timings on RAM you already have can be 'beneficial', at least you know you are getting the best you can from it. The timings such as 9-9-9-27 are the main timings, but there are also numerous other timings. In the 9-9-9-27 example, the first number (9) is probably the lest likely you will be able to reduce. Also, don't go overboard, you won't be able to run your 9-9-9-27 RAM at 9-3-3-10 or whatever! Also these four timings are the most likely to show instant instabilities, some of the other settings may seem fine but cause instabilities at some point (like in the middle of a game)!

    Before you start playing with timings, tweak all the other bios options first. Timings should be the last thing you play with.
     
  4. ---TK---

    ---TK--- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    22,111
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    2x 980Ti Gaming 1430/7296
    the jedec for ddr 3 is 1333. all the 1600,1866,2000,2133 rams are 1333 ram that are capable of running at a higher frequency afaik
     

  5. __hollywood|meo

    __hollywood|meo Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,990
    Likes Received:
    139
    GPU:
    MSI 970 @1.55ghz
    tommy is right. almost any type of ram that isnt binned for value/generic & is rated for 1333 will oc to ~1600. might require altering subtimings/votage ofc
     
  6. ---TK---

    ---TK--- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    22,111
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    2x 980Ti Gaming 1430/7296
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    with SB memory timings are unimportant. its all about memory speed. 1t 2t means little too maybe 200mbs more thats it.
    overclocking 1333 ram to 1600 is no problem at all too. you need more voltage and have to relax the timing and some of the subs too
     
    Last edited: Oct 8, 2011
  7. Pill Monster

    Pill Monster Banned

    Messages:
    25,214
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    7950 Vapor-X 1100/1500
    Yeah my ram is a perfect example, 1333 running at 1670 no problem, my latencies are a lot less too.
     
    Last edited: Oct 8, 2011
  8. Saifz

    Saifz Master Guru

    Messages:
    490
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    460 Zotac 1gb 800/2000
    I guess it back to the drawing board then

    realistically what timings voltage and frequency should i use for my ram without overheating or killing it?
    should i just stick with default cl9 and go for frequencies or change both timings and frequency?

    btw im using 2 x2gb
     
    Last edited: Oct 8, 2011
  9. Pill Monster

    Pill Monster Banned

    Messages:
    25,214
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    7950 Vapor-X 1100/1500
    ^I raised mine to 1600mhz without adjusting the timings.
    The voltage I barely touched, just bumped it from 1.50v to 1.51v.

    9-9-9-24 is Ok for 1600mhz.
     
    Last edited: Oct 8, 2011
  10. Saifz

    Saifz Master Guru

    Messages:
    490
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    460 Zotac 1gb 800/2000
    trying that right now will report back in 30 mins
     

  11. Saifz

    Saifz Master Guru

    Messages:
    490
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    460 Zotac 1gb 800/2000
    just tried at cl9 for 1600mhz by bumbing voltage to a little 1.51 and 1.53 and even tried auto voltage, none worked

    my computer wouldnt even end up booting.. now i just went back to default cl9 1333
    i guess tighter timings is the way to go for me?
     
  12. Pill Monster

    Pill Monster Banned

    Messages:
    25,214
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    7950 Vapor-X 1100/1500
    You can try 8-8-8-24 to start with, but unlikely you'll see the difference except in benchmarks.
     
  13. ---TK---

    ---TK--- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    22,111
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    2x 980Ti Gaming 1430/7296
    you may need more voltage. like 1.55-1.60 for 1600mhz
     

Share This Page