Intel RST 13

Discussion in 'SSD and HDD storage' started by -Tj-, Apr 10, 2014.

  1. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,951
    Likes Received:
    29
    GPU:
    ZOTAC 980Ti Amp!Ext
    Anyone tried it yet?
    http://www.station-drivers.com/inde...-Storage-Technology-Version-13.0.0.1098-WHQL/


    I did beta and now 13.0.0.1098whql but both suffer from same "bug". One of my disks keeps resetting itself, I hear like a click and then it spins up and few min again and again.
    *HDD Samsung/Seagate F3 1TB and Hitacthi 500gb

    Even does it bios later lol, the only thing to fix it is first uninstall RTS13, turn off pc switch sata ports and then install back 12.9Whql.
     
  2. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,612
    Likes Received:
    42
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 970
    I use that a while but I got only one active HDD.

    I even flashed OROM v13.0 into BIOS so that ROM and drivers versions are matched. But alas in SATA mode OROM doesn`t used that much.
     
  3. alanm

    alanm Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,238
    Likes Received:
    38
    GPU:
    1070 AMP!
    This driver solved an issue I had with occasional slow access to hard drives. Had this problem for several months, now its gone.
     
  4. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,951
    Likes Received:
    29
    GPU:
    ZOTAC 980Ti Amp!Ext
    Where did it happen, windows 7 or windows 8.1 (update1)?

    I had some weird slow access in win 8.1 update1, but it turns out it was leaked update1 fault.. Did a fresh 8.1 install and all is snappy now, but then again im still at 12.9whql.
     

  5. alanm

    alanm Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,238
    Likes Received:
    38
    GPU:
    1070 AMP!
    Actually this was an issue since I first got the Asrock motherboard (both Win 7/8). It didnt affect SSDs, just the regular HDs. Thought it was just a peculiar glitch with my boards SATA controller and HDs. Glad its solved now.
     
  6. thatguy91

    thatguy91 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,542
    Likes Received:
    34
    GPU:
    XFX RX 480 RS 4 GB
  7. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,612
    Likes Received:
    42
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 970
    Is that huge increase of performance ever possible:

    13.0.0.1098:
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------
    CrystalDiskMark 3.0.2 x64 (C) 2007-2013 hiyohiyo
    Crystal Dew World : http://crystalmark.info/
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------
    * MB/s = 1,000,000 byte/s [SATA/300 = 300,000,000 byte/s]

    Sequential Read : 149.370 MB/s
    Sequential Write : 107.942 MB/s
    Random Read 512KB : 43.073 MB/s
    Random Write 512KB : 95.546 MB/s
    Random Read 4KB (QD=1) : 0.501 MB/s [ 122.4 IOPS]
    Random Write 4KB (QD=1) : 1.319 MB/s [ 322.1 IOPS]
    Random Read 4KB (QD=32) : 0.687 MB/s [ 167.8 IOPS]
    Random Write 4KB (QD=32) : 1.315 MB/s [ 321.1 IOPS]

    Test : 100 MB [C: 42.4% (395.0/931.3 GB)] (x3)
    Date : 2014/04/18 23:36:36
    OS : Windows 7 Home Premium Edition SP1 [6.1 Build 7601] (x64)

    13.0.1.1000:
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------
    CrystalDiskMark 3.0.2 x64 (C) 2007-2013 hiyohiyo
    Crystal Dew World : http://crystalmark.info/
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------
    * MB/s = 1,000,000 byte/s [SATA/300 = 300,000,000 byte/s]

    Sequential Read : 177.179 MB/s
    Sequential Write : 155.345 MB/s
    Random Read 512KB : 48.537 MB/s
    Random Write 512KB : 107.530 MB/s
    Random Read 4KB (QD=1) : 0.597 MB/s [ 145.7 IOPS]
    Random Write 4KB (QD=1) : 1.654 MB/s [ 403.7 IOPS]
    Random Read 4KB (QD=32) : 2.272 MB/s [ 554.7 IOPS]
    Random Write 4KB (QD=32) : 1.718 MB/s [ 419.4 IOPS]

    Test : 100 MB [C: 42.4% (394.9/931.3 GB)] (x3)
    Date : 2014/04/18 23:43:34
    OS : Windows 7 Home Premium Edition SP1 [6.1 Build 7601] (x64)
     
  8. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,951
    Likes Received:
    29
    GPU:
    ZOTAC 980Ti Amp!Ext
    ^
    2.3mb/s by 4k Q32 looks impressive for a HDD, :nerd:


    what the heck im gonna try this newer version posted by thatguy91, btw tnx :) maybe they fixed my disk resetting problem too
     
  9. dcx_badass

    dcx_badass Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,982
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX570 1280mb
  10. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,951
    Likes Received:
    29
    GPU:
    ZOTAC 980Ti Amp!Ext
    hm, I bought it a good year ago and it already said Samsung Seagate, never had any issues with it.. Until this RST 13.x.xx

    [​IMG]

    btw did you disconnect all other drives when you updated it? Idk which sata port is master
     

  11. dcx_badass

    dcx_badass Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,982
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX570 1280mb
    That firmware is one of the affected ones, and no I left everything connected, SSDs, DVD etc, didn't bother swapping to sata master either, the update failed when I disabled AHCI (which is normally recommended), but worked first time with AHCI enabled and drive worked fine straight after that.

    Bit more info here (his files didn't work for me though):
    http://jack-brennan.com/samsung-firmware-update-for-p67-and-sb850/
    http://support.asus.com/Search/KDetail.aspx?SLanguage=en&no=9EDC75DC-7864-541B-2CC4-B6A07951198D&t=2
     
    Last edited: Apr 18, 2014
  12. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,951
    Likes Received:
    29
    GPU:
    ZOTAC 980Ti Amp!Ext
    Ok thanks,

    but I can't run this Firmware, idk it won't start by boot (says its not a windows os and cant boot lol) and if I try to run normally in cmd it says its not compatible with my system.. I tried from usb and DVD, also startup cmd only and still nothing..


    Sadly this latest WHQL didnt fix this clicking.. Ah well, I'll just stick with 12.9whql for now.
     
    Last edited: Apr 19, 2014
  13. dcx_badass

    dcx_badass Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,982
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX570 1280mb
    If it won't boot as it says it's not windows then you need to disable secure boot in your bios, it's a stupid new security system that disables any other OS.
     
  14. IcE

    IcE Don Snow Staff Member

    Messages:
    10,664
    Likes Received:
    20
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 970 G1
    I did some testing with a Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, and found that the native 8.1 AHCI drivers produce more consistent performance than Intel's driver paired with this software. So it's not worth using, unless you're actually using a RAID setup.
     
  15. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,951
    Likes Received:
    29
    GPU:
    ZOTAC 980Ti Amp!Ext
    ^
    You are right, just did a quick ahci vs 12.9 vs 13.1 test and 12.9 looks bugged by 4k..


    default Ahci (intel 9.4.0.3)
    * MB/s = 1,000,000 byte/s [SATA/300 = 300,000,000 byte/s]

    Sequential Read : 433.583 MB/s
    Sequential Write : 152.434 MB/s
    Random Read 512KB : 389.591 MB/s
    Random Write 512KB : 143.003 MB/s
    Random Read 4KB (QD=1) : 28.285 MB/s [ 6905.5 IOPS]
    Random Write 4KB (QD=1) : 104.945 MB/s [ 25621.4 IOPS]
    Random Read 4KB (QD=32) : 169.016 MB/s [ 41263.6 IOPS]
    Random Write 4KB (QD=32) : 102.369 MB/s [ 24992.3 IOPS]

    Test : 100 MB [C: 49.5% (30.9/62.5 GB)] (x1)
    Date : 2014/04/19 0:37:27
    OS : Windows 8 [6.2 Build 9200] (x64)
    edit: or it was a 1time glitch.. now its at ~ 40mb/s read Q4 32. Although I think its from 12.9.0.1001 that somehow affected it later, at first i had 13.1 when i returned to default ahci and tested this above.


    12.9.0.1001
    * MB/s = 1,000,000 byte/s [SATA/300 = 300,000,000 byte/s]

    Sequential Read : 485.693 MB/s
    Sequential Write : 128.818 MB/s
    Random Read 512KB : 395.095 MB/s
    Random Write 512KB : 152.849 MB/s
    Random Read 4KB (QD=1) : 29.279 MB/s [ 7148.3 IOPS]
    Random Write 4KB (QD=1) : 105.571 MB/s [ 25774.1 IOPS]
    Random Read 4KB (QD=32) : 32.057 MB/s [ 7826.4 IOPS]
    Random Write 4KB (QD=32) : 105.333 MB/s [ 25716.0 IOPS]

    Test : 100 MB [C: 49.3% (30.8/62.5 GB)] (x1)
    Date : 2014/04/19 1:40:05
    OS : Windows 8 [6.2 Build 9200] (x64)
    13.1
    * MB/s = 1,000,000 byte/s [SATA/300 = 300,000,000 byte/s]

    Sequential Read : 451.449 MB/s
    Sequential Write : 141.001 MB/s
    Random Read 512KB : 416.074 MB/s
    Random Write 512KB : 138.714 MB/s
    Random Read 4KB (QD=1) : 30.928 MB/s [ 7550.7 IOPS]
    Random Write 4KB (QD=1) : 124.888 MB/s [ 30490.2 IOPS]
    Random Read 4KB (QD=32) : 171.940 MB/s [ 41977.6 IOPS]
    Random Write 4KB (QD=32) : 78.674 MB/s [ 19207.6 IOPS]

    Test : 100 MB [C: 49.8% (31.1/62.5 GB)] (x1)
    Date : 2014/04/19 1:21:59
    OS : Windows 8 [6.2 Build 9200] (x64)


    edit2:

    12.9.2 looks the "best" with ok 4K and no clicking either, i'll keep these for now
    http://station-drivers.com/index.php/downloads/func-startdown/527/

    * MB/s = 1,000,000 byte/s [SATA/300 = 300,000,000 byte/s]

    Sequential Read : 484.571 MB/s
    Sequential Write : 128.305 MB/s
    Random Read 512KB : 426.888 MB/s
    Random Write 512KB : 150.653 MB/s
    Random Read 4KB (QD=1) : 40.142 MB/s [ 9800.3 IOPS]
    Random Write 4KB (QD=1) : 95.962 MB/s [ 23428.3 IOPS]
    Random Read 4KB (QD=32) : 201.845 MB/s [ 49278.5 IOPS]
    Random Write 4KB (QD=32) : 91.976 MB/s [ 22455.1 IOPS]


    Ok i had to delete the keys then it got disabled, but i still couldnt boot usb drive or from DVD. Dunno, this asus is weird when it comes to this..
    I just coped that F3.exe file to USB main directory and then expected to boot lol


    It doesnt disappear, gets detected every time, so this is ok.


    This in bold happens after I install RTS13 and starts again after a while, RTS12.9.0.1 is ok. Gonna try another 12.9.2 :nerd:




    //Thanks all for tips, tests and help :)
     
    Last edited: Apr 19, 2014

  16. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,612
    Likes Received:
    42
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 970
    Btw, for the sake of curiosity have you experimented with 'AHCI Link Power Management - HIPM/DIPM' setting in advanced power plan settings? By default this setting is hidden (at least in Win7), you can reveal it by setting registry value 'Attributes' under the registry key '0b2d69d7-a2a1-449c-9680-f91c70521c60' to '0'.

    Full path of registry key
    Code:
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Power\PowerSettings\0012ee47-9041-4b5d-9b77-535fba8b1442\0b2d69d7-a2a1-449c-9680-f91c70521c60
    There is second hidden setting - 'AHCI Link Power Management - Adaptive'. Key is 'dab60367-53fe-4fbc-825e-521d069d2456' (near the previous one). It is timeout in milliseconds (0 .. 300000) to switch from Partial to Slumber mode.

    Edit: http://www.sevenforums.com/tutorials/177819-ahci-link-power-management-enable-hipm-dipm.html

    Edit2: Translated by google:
    In SATA AHCI Link Power Management there are two types of control - Host Initiated Link Power Management (HIPM) and Device Initiated Link Power Management (DIPM), which provide two additional device status , in addition to the existing Active - Partial and Slumber.

    Being in Active, the device is constantly ready for input-output . In the state of Partial, the host controller in the absence of input-output devices can translate into power saving mode and then exit out of it, no more than 10 microseconds. Slumber state has a deeper power-saving mode than Partial - on wakeup allotted 10 milliseconds. Slumber provides greater energy efficiency of the system , whereas Partial is a balance between performance and power saving.

    Device state Partial and Slumber can be carried out through HIPM and DIPM - the only difference is how the power saver mode is initialized.

    Power control , initiated by the host controller - HIPM , may be implemented as a hardware controller , and the program . By using this control , the host controller requests the power-saving mode immediately after all disk requests are completed , because it is aware of requests have been or will be sent to the device , it allows you to jump into a low power state immediately after all disk requests.

    Power management, device -initiated - DIPM , implemented by a disc. Drive determines how long it takes to execute commands to go into power saving mode immediately upon completion.

    Edit3: Another possible solution - http://forum.crucial.com/t5/Solid-S...eze-ups-in-Windows-7-solved-for-me/td-p/38766

    But instead 'HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\System\CurrentControlSet\Services\iaStor\Parameters\Port0\'
    do
    'HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\System\CurrentControlSet\Services\iaStorA\Parameters\Port0\'
     
    Last edited: Apr 19, 2014
  17. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,951
    Likes Received:
    29
    GPU:
    ZOTAC 980Ti Amp!Ext
    Thanks for extra help.

    Yes its the first thing I double checked, I have it disabled in bios and in RTS, but RTS 13.x.xx just doesnt want to work nice, keeps turning of my HDDs.

    Just checked regedit and its named iaStorA too..

    [​IMG]


    RTS 12.9.2 looks solid so far, I'll just stick with this one :)
     
    Last edited: Apr 19, 2014
  18. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,612
    Likes Received:
    42
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 970
    Apparently Intel changed LPM settings in registry. I have installed full RST application and turn LPM off through its GUI. Here is reg-file with LPM settings:
    Code:
    Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00
    
    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\services\iaStorA\Parameters\Device]
    "Controller0Phy0HIPM"=dword:00000000
    "Controller0Phy0DIPM"=dword:00000000
    "Controller0Phy1HIPM"=dword:00000000
    "Controller0Phy1DIPM"=dword:00000000
    "Controller0Phy4HIPM"=dword:00000000
    "Controller0Phy4DIPM"=dword:00000000
    
    Patterns are Controller#Phy#HIPM and Controller#Phy#DIPM. Phy0, Phy1 and Phy4 - are mine ports for two HDDs and DVD. And Aida64 confirms that DIPM off on both HDDs.

    And here is CristalDiskMark benches with HIPM and DIMP turned off:
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------
    CrystalDiskMark 3.0.2 x64 (C) 2007-2013 hiyohiyo
    Crystal Dew World : http://crystalmark.info/
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------
    * MB/s = 1,000,000 byte/s [SATA/300 = 300,000,000 byte/s]

    Sequential Read : 193.078 MB/s
    Sequential Write : 158.827 MB/s
    Random Read 512KB : 61.096 MB/s
    Random Write 512KB : 109.210 MB/s
    Random Read 4KB (QD=1) : 0.779 MB/s [ 190.2 IOPS]
    Random Write 4KB (QD=1) : 1.658 MB/s [ 404.8 IOPS]
    Random Read 4KB (QD=32) : 2.354 MB/s [ 574.7 IOPS]
    Random Write 4KB (QD=32) : 1.668 MB/s [ 407.2 IOPS]

    Test : 100 MB [C: 42.7% (397.6/931.3 GB)] (x3)
    Date : 2014/04/19 20:26:21
    OS : Windows 7 Home Premium Edition SP1 [6.1 Build 7601] (x64)

    Edit: I mean you can try it on RST drivers you have now.

    Edit2: After I turned on HIPM and DIMP for backup HDD and DVD scores in CrystalDiskMark went down considerably. But after I reverted back to HIPM and DIPM turned off for all ports scores became insane:
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------
    CrystalDiskMark 3.0.2 x64 (C) 2007-2013 hiyohiyo
    Crystal Dew World : http://crystalmark.info/
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------
    * MB/s = 1,000,000 byte/s [SATA/300 = 300,000,000 byte/s]

    Sequential Read : 198.625 MB/s
    Sequential Write : 168.527 MB/s
    Random Read 512KB : 68.951 MB/s
    Random Write 512KB : 122.957 MB/s
    Random Read 4KB (QD=1) : 0.907 MB/s [ 221.5 IOPS]
    Random Write 4KB (QD=1) : 1.802 MB/s [ 439.9 IOPS]
    Random Read 4KB (QD=32) : 3.165 MB/s [ 772.7 IOPS]
    Random Write 4KB (QD=32) : 1.793 MB/s [ 437.7 IOPS]

    Test : 100 MB [C: 42.7% (397.6/931.3 GB)] (x3)
    Date : 2014/04/19 21:01:17
    OS : Windows 7 Home Premium Edition SP1 [6.1 Build 7601] (x64)
     
    Last edited: Apr 19, 2014
  19. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,951
    Likes Received:
    29
    GPU:
    ZOTAC 980Ti Amp!Ext
    Just checked Aida64 and it says
    DIMP is supported, disabled
    HIMP is supported


    This is how it looks like in registry

    [​IMG]

    Guess Im all set? :nerd:
     
  20. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,612
    Likes Received:
    42
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 970

    Most definitely.
     

Share This Page