Intel CPUs since Skylake susceptible to USB vulnerability

Discussion in 'Frontpage news' started by Hilbert Hagedoorn, Nov 13, 2017.

  1. Hilbert Hagedoorn

    Hilbert Hagedoorn Don Vito Corleone Staff Member

    Messages:
    41,357
    Likes Received:
    9,495
    GPU:
    AMD | NVIDIA
  2. kruno

    kruno Master Guru

    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    70
    GPU:
    4890/1
    Really nice Intel really nice. And you can't disable that technology otherwise processor will shut down. I hope NSA did pay you more then your customers. We simply need more competition in PC arena be it Russian's or Chine's or heck even our on EU so we can hop between manufactures once they frack up. Hopefully more competition would bring more honesty hopefully:(:(:(
     
  3. RzrTrek

    RzrTrek Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,516
    Likes Received:
    712
    GPU:
    RX 580
    Hopefully this is for the best and will bring positive change.
     
  4. JonasBeckman

    JonasBeckman Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    17,485
    Likes Received:
    2,876
    GPU:
    MSI 6800 "Vanilla"
    Thought it could just be disabled but nope it still runs though not all motherboards use the AMT component (My own uses the 1.5mb firmware which apparently does not have it.) and cleaning it out seems to be a real mess and carries hardware damage risks if done improperly.

    https://www.eff.org/deeplinks/2017/...security-hazard-and-users-need-way-disable-it
    https://github.com/corna/me_cleaner

    Interesting to know a bit more on what that component does though, I knew about the bios firmware (Because it's a bit of a mess to update these and older boards only supports older versions.) but not the extent on how it worked and not that much on the actual software and driver component either, always more to learn it would seem and hopefully Intel can fix the exploit with a newer firmware release.
     

  5. nevcairiel

    nevcairiel Master Guru

    Messages:
    754
    Likes Received:
    293
    GPU:
    3090
    Its only really relevant for professional-grade setup which actually use the remote-management capability of the ME. Consumer boards do not have this, since you need to pay an additional license fee to Intel to enable it. So while Workstations in Companies might be affected depending on their setup, your usual home PC is not impacted from this.
     
  6. Turanis

    Turanis Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,779
    Likes Received:
    475
    GPU:
    Gigabyte RX500
    You can't hide,because of Windows 10 and Intel's Management Engine. (ofc there is also mobile spyware)

    O&O ShutUp 10 Useless.
    They have Intel ME which is hardware spy tool. :banana:

    "Consumer boards do not have this, since you need to pay an additional license fee to Intel to enable it. So while Workstations in Companies might be affected depending on their setup, your usual home PC is not impacted from this." Ofc is bullshit,all computers since 2008 have Intel ME.

    https://semiaccurate.com/2017/05/01/remote-security-exploit-2008-intel-platforms/
     
    Last edited: Nov 13, 2017
  7. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,920
    Likes Received:
    8,200
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super
    There are two versions of ME firmware - corporate and consumer.
     
    akbaar likes this.
  8. nevcairiel

    nevcairiel Master Guru

    Messages:
    754
    Likes Received:
    293
    GPU:
    3090
    All Intel boards have some sort of ME, but not all ME is made equal. Consumer boards have a much smaller version of the ME, and even on workstation/server boards the ME can have different features enabled/disabled based on licensing. Intel doesn't give AMT away for free.

    The link you so gratuously provided even explains how only boards with AMT are affected (although its hard to find between all the biased Intel bashing on SA)
     
  9. AlmondMan

    AlmondMan Master Guru

    Messages:
    762
    Likes Received:
    162
    GPU:
    5700 XT Red Devil
    It might be fixed in the latest version of the firmware. At least that's what the HP updates we roll on to the systems state. And the updates didn't used to yell really loudly about security vulnerabilities in firmware versions...
     
  10. Turanis

    Turanis Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,779
    Likes Received:
    475
    GPU:
    Gigabyte RX500
    Yes,yes,graciously provided. :)

    Any Corporation involved in this mass spyware industry do not let users/consumers outside of the spyware box.
    Thats why Intel update IME in feb 2017,because consumers are involved and graciously be in this,they need to be "protected".If you have IME+Vpro supported cpu then ...no comment.
     

  11. akbaar

    akbaar Master Guru

    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    16
    GPU:
    ASUS 2080 STRIX
  12. tsunami231

    tsunami231 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,943
    Likes Received:
    885
    GPU:
    EVGA 1070Ti Black
    if one dont let random usb devices to be attached system it dont mean anything, not so much in corporate environment i guess but knowing what the MEI does is and being out bag at that isnt good cause now those "miscreants" will now be looking for uses of this or find other ways in.

    these days people that find this "exploits" dont report to correct people but just make it know to all and make things worse.
     
  13. fry178

    fry178 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,702
    Likes Received:
    251
    GPU:
    2080S WaterForceWB
    i still see this more of an issue as something like win "spying" on me.
    first thing i do is check bios for settings and after windows is installed disable the device in DM.
    another reason i'll never run the driver disc from the board/"auto" install crap...
     

Share This Page