install windows vista separate partition

Discussion in 'Operating Systems' started by Denny85, Jan 28, 2007.

  1. Denny85

    Denny85 Master Guru

    Messages:
    999
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    none
    i have 250 gb hard drive it's separate partitions one is 127gb(Win XP) and another 104Gb

    can i install vista on the second partition? How can do this? install it from the windows or should i boot from a DVD( Vista )?
     
  2. (IRE)Wolfman

    (IRE)Wolfman Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,541
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    AMD 5700xt or 6700x
    pick clean install for xp
    then pick which partition
    not from windows

    then install vista from inside xp
     
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2007
  3. Denny85

    Denny85 Master Guru

    Messages:
    999
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    none
    yeah my second partition is clean.. so it's ok to do so? it's called dual boot right?
     
  4. (IRE)Wolfman

    (IRE)Wolfman Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,541
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    AMD 5700xt or 6700x
    a clean install means a fresh install instead of an upgrade

    if you have the full ver. not the upgrade

    then just install it to the 2nd partition

    and when you boot you will have the option to boot from either yes dual boot you could add more too like 95 and 98 and 2000 but that would be dumb(Unix and Linux too)

    SO JUST FRESH INSTALL IT

    AND MAKE SURE YOU PICK THE RIGHT PARTITION
     

  5. Burnt_Ram

    Burnt_Ram Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,926
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX 1050 Ti
    thats all you have to do? i could make a partition big enough for vista, and all i would have to do is install it on that partition and when windows boots it will give me the option to choose? i thought it was more complicated than that ...
     
  6. Denny85

    Denny85 Master Guru

    Messages:
    999
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    none
    I'm in Vista! :bigsmile: !!! so what drivers should i install ?
    i've installed video drivers and sound drivers. it's a strange thing it seems to be there's no x-fi interface ... where can i find 680i drivers?

    there's also no drivers for my mouse and keyboard( Logitech g7,g15)

    aa what else .....? ok i'm going to explore it ...

    oy i forgot how can i switch between xp and vista? can't find the way?
     
  7. MrBen

    MrBen Master Guru

    Messages:
    805
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    NVIDIA GeForce4 ti 4200 128MB
    do you mean how do you dual boot so you can pick which OS?
     
  8. x-speed69

    x-speed69 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,247
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2080 Ti Lightning
    like when u boot there should be an option to choose xp or vista
     
  9. Denny85

    Denny85 Master Guru

    Messages:
    999
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    none
    there's no option
     
  10. x-speed69

    x-speed69 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,247
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2080 Ti Lightning
    check from control panel --> system --> Advanced system settings --> startup and recovery if vista even knows u got another os
     

  11. Burnt_Ram

    Burnt_Ram Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,926
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX 1050 Ti
    no? you have vista on a seperate partition, or drive right? i knew there was more to setting up a dual boot rig :puke:
     
  12. Denny85

    Denny85 Master Guru

    Messages:
    999
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    none
    yes i have it on one drive
     
  13. Denny85

    Denny85 Master Guru

    Messages:
    999
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    none
    it says default operating system:
    Microsoft Windows Vista

    no XP :cry:
     
  14. x-speed69

    x-speed69 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,247
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2080 Ti Lightning
    yea but when u click that dropdown menu is xp there or only vista?
     
  15. Denny85

    Denny85 Master Guru

    Messages:
    999
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    none
    only vista
     

  16. Burnt_Ram

    Burnt_Ram Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,926
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX 1050 Ti
    let me get this right. you installed vista on it's own partion on your existing HD? and it killed XP?
     
  17. Denny85

    Denny85 Master Guru

    Messages:
    999
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    none
    no it didn't as i said my 250gb harddrive devided in two partitions.
    win xp is in D drive
    win vista is in C drive

    i can access d drive but it always tells me You don't have permission to access this folder. And i found BOOTSEC.BAK file in d drive ..

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jan 28, 2007
  18. x-speed69

    x-speed69 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,247
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2080 Ti Lightning
    no i don't think xp is dead it's just that vista overwrited that boot thingy and didn't notice that there was xp too.
     
  19. x-speed69

    x-speed69 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,247
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2080 Ti Lightning
    I think u can get back to xp when u boot up from xp disc go to recovery console and run "fixmbr"(if i remember correctly) but after that i don't think u can go back to vista...
     
  20. Denny85

    Denny85 Master Guru

    Messages:
    999
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    none
    aa that's bad ... i like Vista! hell no i will find the way!
     

Share This Page