1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

In need of a Keymapper.

Discussion in 'Game Tweaks and Modifications' started by TheDeeGee, Sep 12, 2018.

  1. TheDeeGee

    TheDeeGee Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,539
    Likes Received:
    171
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 1070
    I want to play through Populous the Beginning again, but the camera keys or bound to the Arrows. And since there is no way to rebind keys in that game i'm looking for a Keymapper.

    Does anyone know of any good ones?
     
  2. apophis

    apophis New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 1070
    u could use autohotkey

    and make a script

    Code:
    ;#IfWinActive, gamename
    #MaxThreadsPerHotkey 2
    #SingleInstance force
    ;/////////////////////////////BRACKETS ON/OFF MACROS//////////////////////////////
    ~[::
       Suspend, On
       SoundPlay, C:\Users\Quantum\Documents\off.wav
    return
    ~]::
       Suspend, off
       SoundPlay, C:\Users\Quantum\Documents\on.wav
    return
    
    ~*w::Up
    ~*s::Down
    ~*a::Left
    ~*d::Right
    this script works in the browser

    just change wsad to the keys u want

    it should work
     
  3. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,361
    Likes Received:
    1,432
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1070
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2018
  4. TheDeeGee

    TheDeeGee Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,539
    Likes Received:
    171
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 1070
    Sadly enough Autohotkey does not work with the game, probably too old. Cuz it works fine in Windows, even using the most basic script.

    Sharpkeys seems to force the entire system which is not very handy when you no longer need the remap.

    Oh well, guess i'll just shift my keyboard all the way to the left then ^^
     

  5. austin865a

    austin865a Master Guru

    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    180
    GPU:
    980ti sli
    I vagly recall there being a config file for the game that can be edited, but I cold be wrong.
     
  6. TheDeeGee

    TheDeeGee Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,539
    Likes Received:
    171
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 1070
    Seems Autohotkey works, just making it work for just the game doesn't.

    As in none of these work:

    #IfWinActive D3Ddpop3w
    #IfWinActive D3Ddpop3w.exe
    #IfWinActive D3DPopTB
    #IfWinActive D3DPopTB.exe

    I will just keep it basic then and run:

    w::Up
    s::Down
    a::Left
    d::Right

    That seems to work fine in game.

    And i had to run the Script as Admin.
     
  7. TheDeeGee

    TheDeeGee Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,539
    Likes Received:
    171
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 1070
    Well got it all working =]

    Code:
    run, Populous 3.bat, C:\Games\Populous - The Beginning\Shortcuts
    #ifWinActive, ahk_exe D3DPopTB.exe
    SetTimer,closewindow, 5000
    w::Up
    s::Down
    a::Left
    d::Right
    closewindow:
    IfWinNotExist, ahk_exe D3DPopTB.exe
    ExitApp
    
     
    AsiJu likes this.
  8. apophis

    apophis New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 1070
    cool

    strange mine didnt work

    cause the script is still the same

    maybe it was disabled by these lines

    Code:
    ~[::
       Suspend, On
       SoundPlay, C:\Users\Quantum\Documents\off.wav
    return
    ~]::
       Suspend, off
       SoundPlay, C:\Users\Quantum\Documents\on.wav
    return
    glad u got it working

    enjoy^^
     
  9. AsiJu

    AsiJu Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,082
    Likes Received:
    768
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC+
    AutoHotKey is pretty flexible and capable as you can indeed combine eg. run into the script.

    I made a script that enabled me to hotkey enable or disable upmixing via Equalizer APO (as APO had no such function).

    Namely a script that opens the corresponding .txt in Notepad, either adds or removes a hashtag (comment out) on the line, saves and closes :)
    Not too elegant but worked (could probably have made it smarter but meh). Also hitting the same key twice will ofc break the .txt file.

    Code:
    Numpad0::
       Run, notepad.exe C:\program files\equalizerapo\config\config.txt
       Sleep, 100
       Send, +,
       Sleep, 100
       Send, {LAlt down}
       Send, {F4}
       Send, {LAlt up}
       Sleep, 100
       Send, {Enter}
    Return
    
    Numpad1::
       Run, notepad.exe C:\program files\equalizerapo\config\config.txt
       Sleep, 100
       Send, {DEL}
       Sleep, 100
       Send, {LAlt down}
       Send, {F4}
       Send, {LAlt up}
       Sleep, 100
       Send, {Enter}
    Return
    
     
  10. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,361
    Likes Received:
    1,432
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1070
    I know how to program key mapper (got all parts) which will invoke key mappings configured for any process when named process is launched. But I am too lazy, and seeing no response to my earlier suggestion, I will not start the project.
     

Share This Page