I'm sick of my low scores. What the hell is wrong?

Discussion in 'Benchmark Mayhem' started by Dublo7, Jun 8, 2004.

  1. Dublo7

    Dublo7 Master Guru

    Messages:
    875
    Likes Received:
    0
    Graphics Card::
    8800GT 512mb OC @ 700/1750/999
    Hey people as you may know I have been doing some benchmarking lately and my scores for my Rig are ****. I have seen people with higher scores but lower PC specs, and im getting rather angry. Im not sure what is wrong. Even when I put my card on 500mhz/1ghz it dosent make any difference.
    Im using a 400watt generic PSU, and yes the video card is on its own molex cable.

    What the hell is going on? :(
     
  2. paulonone

    paulonone Master Guru

    Messages:
    576
    Likes Received:
    0
    Graphics Card::
    GTX 1080 TI
    I think you allready read the sticky about some tweakings in win XP, try to put it as ugly as possible...lol. I meant, set it to better performance, remove your drivers with Driver Cleaner and install them again, put your vga options like no aa/af, no vsync, better performance instead of quality and one thing that really works for me it's a ram recovery program, like memturbo. Close all the unneeded applications then make a scrub ram and try again. Maybe you can get some good points doing that.
     
  3. Dublo7

    Dublo7 Master Guru

    Messages:
    875
    Likes Received:
    0
    Graphics Card::
    8800GT 512mb OC @ 700/1750/999
    Yeah I have turned AA and AF to application controlled and V-sync off anyway.
     
  4. paulonone

    paulonone Master Guru

    Messages:
    576
    Likes Received:
    0
    Graphics Card::
    GTX 1080 TI
    And do you have a ram recovery program? One time i had a 5000(!) points boost by doing it. Because you have a good cpu, good ram...Try to see if you're facing some IRQ conflit or something.
     

  5. MikeMK

    MikeMK Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,045
    Likes Received:
    8
    Graphics Card::
    2x EVGA GTX980 Ti SLI
    errrr.... 46,212 im AM3 a LOW score? I think u may be askin a bit to much! I get about 41-42k with my system. I think yours is about right tbh. anyhow, its what its like in games that counts. Bechies are only an indication.
    btw, what is your 3dmark03 score?
     
  6. Dublo7

    Dublo7 Master Guru

    Messages:
    875
    Likes Received:
    0
    Graphics Card::
    8800GT 512mb OC @ 700/1750/999
    I dont have 3dmark03 yet as I have 56k and cbf downloading. I might get some of it tonight.

    Ill do that mem recovery thing. See what it does eh?
     
  7. Dublo7

    Dublo7 Master Guru

    Messages:
    875
    Likes Received:
    0
    Graphics Card::
    8800GT 512mb OC @ 700/1750/999
    I just got memturbo and I do memrecover. It dosent make any difference.
     
  8. Bluedog

    Bluedog Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,690
    Likes Received:
    0
    Graphics Card::
    MSI N680GTX TF 2GD5/OC
    Turn AA and AF to OFF|Image Settings to High Performance|Mipmaps to None|Vysnc to OFF|Overclock as much as possible (you knew that though) and remember the 1st thing to do is open up the msconfig utility and disable everything loading in the Start Up Folder. Reboot and try again.

    Also what are your memory Latency timings running @?

    From past experiences with Aquamark3 the WHQL 53.03 drv. worked best.

    Your CPU score should be around: 9800 to 10000
    Your GFX score should be around: 7000 to 7400

    putting you around 52000 I would think.
     
    Last edited: Jun 8, 2004
  9. Dublo7

    Dublo7 Master Guru

    Messages:
    875
    Likes Received:
    0
    Graphics Card::
    8800GT 512mb OC @ 700/1750/999
    Should I turn off on start up the Norton and my Soundmax config?

    Also where is the mipmaps bit.
     
    Last edited: Jun 8, 2004
  10. Dublo7

    Dublo7 Master Guru

    Messages:
    875
    Likes Received:
    0
    Graphics Card::
    8800GT 512mb OC @ 700/1750/999
    Bluedog you are a legend.
    My AM3 score rose to 50838
    GFX = 7227
    CPU = 8569

    Maybe If I find that mip mapping it will go better.
    Where abouts is it? hrmmmm
     

  11. Bluedog

    Bluedog Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,690
    Likes Received:
    0
    Graphics Card::
    MSI N680GTX TF 2GD5/OC
    Turn off everything including Norton and Soundmax even disconnect your Internet connection until submitting your score.

    Under the More Direct3D Tab you can set Mipmaps to the Lowest Level but it doesn't help that much, might even slow down a little bit.

    And nice increase so far and which drivers did you use or better yet post the link to your score. Don't forget to set it to be viewed as Public :)
     
    Last edited: Jun 8, 2004
  12. Dublo7

    Dublo7 Master Guru

    Messages:
    875
    Likes Received:
    0
    Graphics Card::
    8800GT 512mb OC @ 700/1750/999
    I used the 53.03.
    I didnt post up the score. I put it in my sig.
     
  13. Bluedog

    Bluedog Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,690
    Likes Received:
    0
    Graphics Card::
    MSI N680GTX TF 2GD5/OC
    Add the direct link to your AQM3 score kinda like I did mine below my sig.

    You can go back and submit the score. They are all saved in your My Documents Folder.
     
    Last edited: Jun 8, 2004
  14. Dublo7

    Dublo7 Master Guru

    Messages:
    875
    Likes Received:
    0
    Graphics Card::
    8800GT 512mb OC @ 700/1750/999
    Dont you have to pay to register for that stuff?
     
  15. Marley

    Marley Don José Cuervo

    Messages:
    3,080
    Likes Received:
    1
    Graphics Card::
    eVGA Geforce 275 GTS
    IMO, turning off AF in AQ3 is cheating, sure I can get in the 50K if I do that but so what the Bench is made to be run at 4xAF if you force it off it will give you an incorrect score. Hell I can break 51K if I turn off all the shaders and turn off AF set the LOD real low set for High performance, but it is still cheating.
     

  16. Strikerx80

    Strikerx80 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,352
    Likes Received:
    0
    Graphics Card::
    eVGA 980 Ti SC +120/+300
    yeah i dont see why ppl turn off things like that. those things are supposed to be on. they are part of the test. i just overclock and make tweaks to my OS, and run the bench at normal settings. then you get your true score.
     
  17. Elanzer

    Elanzer Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,466
    Likes Received:
    0
    Graphics Card::
    Radeon 9700 @ 325/580 (3.6ns hynix..)
    It takes away the whole point of benchmarking, what's the point in getting the highest scores if your scores aren't even comparable to the mainstream? It's a waste of time.

    Your scores are fine, the people who have 20k 3dmark2k1 marks have much overclocked cpus with better fsb/memory speeds (IE: 2.4/2.6C p4s with 1ghz+ fsbs, or A64s)
     
  18. Bluedog

    Bluedog Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,690
    Likes Received:
    0
    Graphics Card::
    MSI N680GTX TF 2GD5/OC
    No it's free.

    and guys it's benchmarking to see how high you can score @ the highest possible stable frame rate is all. I would gander to say that in AQM3 and Futuremark that probably 75% of the scores submitted are with the graphic cards control throttled down. How else would you explain the higher scores on like systems.

    and on a side note I leave the More Direct3D setting alone.
     
  19. Slam

    Slam Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,187
    Likes Received:
    1
    Graphics Card::
    MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
    agree 100%.
     
  20. Marley

    Marley Don José Cuervo

    Messages:
    3,080
    Likes Received:
    1
    Graphics Card::
    eVGA Geforce 275 GTS
    I agree, there is no point to benching if you are going to cheat, there is no difference between doing that and using SpeederXP.
     

Share This Page