I'm disappointed after with my 3DMark05 score. With 2GB ram!

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce' started by jerin222, Dec 5, 2005.

  1. jerin222

    jerin222 Member Guru

    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    eVGA - GeForce 7800GT OC 256MB
    I just got me new ram today:

    OCZ Platnium PC3200 2GB 2x1024MB CL2-3-2-5.

    So my system is same on the as on the right other than the RAM.
    My score with my old ram 512MB PC2700 is 7171 and with the new and improved RAM 7184. An impovement of 13. What the heck in going on?
     
  2. The Kyle

    The Kyle Banned

    Messages:
    4,113
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    Radeon HD3870 / Radeon HD
    3dmark05 won't show really any increase with more ram really. It's basically a test for your video card. I got nothing from 1gig to 2 gigs as well. It's actual in-game performance that you are looking for and it should be spectacular for your scenerio.
     
  3. jerin222

    jerin222 Member Guru

    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    eVGA - GeForce 7800GT OC 256MB
    Agreed. BF2 is crazy with my new RAM but 3DMark05 did not improve I was wondering.
     
  4. The Kyle

    The Kyle Banned

    Messages:
    4,113
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    Radeon HD3870 / Radeon HD
    Aye, <3 BF2 on Ultra High settings.
     

  5. bug77

    bug77 Banned

    Messages:
    3,468
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Palit 8800GT
    Look ma', I just changed the memory and the video card didn't get any better!

    Do you guys ever think before posting those? Why would you think changing RAM would make any difference to a video card test?
     
  6. repapips2004

    repapips2004 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,229
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    Leadtek A6600GT 128MB @ 500/1000
    waste of money... i think?
     
  7. alanm

    alanm Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,817
    Likes Received:
    2,910
    GPU:
    Asus 2080 Dual OC
    This has been shown by PC reviewers time and again that going from 1gb to 2gb RAM does virtually nothing to 3dmark scores and game FPS. A bigger difference however is seen going from 512mb to 1gb (though not spectacular, around 150 points in my rig).

    2gb does improve loading times though with games like BF2 and Doom3, so console yourself with that.
     
  8. repapips2004

    repapips2004 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,229
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    Leadtek A6600GT 128MB @ 500/1000
    like what ive said, its a waste of money!
     
  9. Kow

    Kow Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,459
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HIS Radeon HD 5850
    The big difference comes when you run out of free physical memory and it has to use the pagefile. Figure out how much memory you'll use max at any point during a game and base the amount you need off of that. Also remember that if you have more physical memory then you can bump your AGP Aperture size up a little bit too...
     
  10. repapips2004

    repapips2004 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,229
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    Leadtek A6600GT 128MB @ 500/1000
    i dont think, theres a game outthere that can max out 2gb! even with full of textures, etc... especially when u are using highspeed memory.
     

  11. darknight909

    darknight909 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,852
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 2080
    i hope you didnt get more ram just to up your futuremark score
     
  12. ViciousXUSMC

    ViciousXUSMC Banned

    Messages:
    1,563
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    Geforce 7800GTX@497/1300
    Actully I am supprised... that your scores didnt go down. Its proven that the higher latencies of bigger ram modules can slow down performance (esp on benchmarks) so the fact that it went up even a little is good!

    For me I am sure my score will go down, get my ram later today!

    But next time I play that FEAR demo with no hitches I will be a happy man and wouldnt mind the .5 loss in FPS
     
  13. hawkeyefan

    hawkeyefan Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,040
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    8800GT @ 787/1944/2244
    going from 1Gb to 2GB is like night and day in games like BF2. night and day.

    that's a fact, no matter how much it hurts your wallet. best $239 I've ever spent.
     
  14. AnthraxPants

    AnthraxPants Banned

    Messages:
    1,534
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    XFX 4890HD 1GB
    ViciousXUSMC - I was thinking the same thing. Lucky 3DMark05 didn't drop in score. It is mega GPU intensive and a darn good CPU helps too.
    BF2.exe can use over 1.5GB memory and it will page it out to your swap aswell. From memory I recorded 1.75GB+ memory use by BF2.exe using perfmon during heated battles.
    At least you can go set all your BF2 settings to 4 for ULTRA_QUALITY, best to do this for singleplayer though if you have FAST connection it may be alright online with the new patch if BF2 don't biatch about it that is. Hell I might try it myself, works great in singleplayer. YAY the 2GB!!! ;-)
     
  15. double_cut

    double_cut Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,150
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    PS3/360 Elite
    Totally agreed, one of the best upgrades iv ever done getting 2GB of memory.
     

  16. kitch9

    kitch9 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,891
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    XFX 7990 3GB
    Keep kidding yourself pal..... FEAR, BF2, COD2 all spring to mind.

    Plus no more waiting for windows to load back up when exiting a game...:)
     
  17. S_Kinton

    S_Kinton Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,884
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    512mb 8800GT & 22" Samsung LCD
    FEAR, COD2 and BF2 etc all use ~1.4Gb of memory at peak. So 2Gb as stated will reduce page access and hence result in smoother play, it wont increase fps (thats all down to gpu and cpu), but you will be able to use higher textures without hitches
     
  18. Dethred

    Dethred Member Guru

    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    AMD/ATI HD4870x2
    Who cares about 3dmark05 scores anyways? If you're off by 2000pts from where you should be then yeah, something is wrong, but the program doesn't show things that are hindering your gaming experience like RAM, CPU performance for anything over a ~3200+, and the condition of your Hard drive data.
     
  19. AnthraxPants

    AnthraxPants Banned

    Messages:
    1,534
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    XFX 4890HD 1GB
    Yeah where is flamming 3dMark06, 05 is pretty irrelevent these days.
     
  20. Kenneth_irl

    Kenneth_irl Active Member

    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    LT 6800LE@12,6 405@1,4v / 880@2,84v
    Wow you repeated yourself three times, and you actually haven't got a clue what you talking about.

    What a waste of posts! :rolleyes:
     

Share This Page