I don't think the 3080 has enough Vram

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce' started by SerotoNiN, Sep 4, 2020.

  1. alanm

    alanm Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,142
    Likes Received:
    2,302
    GPU:
    Asus 2080 Dual OC
    Dude, did you miss the basic argument that some games dynamically allocate as much vram as a GPU has? Without it necessarily being a breaking point on lesser vram cards? What almost always affects lesser vram cards is the fact that they are also less GPU power!
     
  2. Dragam1337

    Dragam1337 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,511
    Likes Received:
    1,408
    GPU:
    Rtx 3090 Strix OC
    Key word being "some" - not all.
     
  3. Amaze

    Amaze Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,977
    Likes Received:
    1,125
    GPU:
    1070ti 2126/4350
    I think the only way to properly test this is to have the exact same 2 cards with different vram and to my knowledge these do not exist at the high end.
     
    alanm likes this.
  4. alanm

    alanm Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,142
    Likes Received:
    2,302
    GPU:
    Asus 2080 Dual OC

    I dont recall any stutter. It may be there and I'll try to check it out later. But again, a 2080ti has more power than a 2080, not just more vram!

    oops, my SOTR settings and benches images blocked, but yes, it was on ultra textures. will reupload them later.
     

  5. Dragam1337

    Dragam1337 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,511
    Likes Received:
    1,408
    GPU:
    Rtx 3090 Strix OC
    What res are you playing at? Again it only applies to live gameplay at 4k...

    And as i just wrote, the stuttering was gone on the 2080 with textures set to high... so it had nothing to do with gpu power.
     
  6. alanm

    alanm Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,142
    Likes Received:
    2,302
    GPU:
    Asus 2080 Dual OC
    This is what I've been saying all along! You cannot compare different cards with different vram amounts to reach any conclusion! Must be SAME cards with different vram. Thats why I'm hopefull when the 3070 8-16gb versions are out we will know for sure!
     
  7. alanm

    alanm Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,142
    Likes Received:
    2,302
    GPU:
    Asus 2080 Dual OC
    Here you go...
     

    Attached Files:

  8. Dragam1337

    Dragam1337 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,511
    Likes Received:
    1,408
    GPU:
    Rtx 3090 Strix OC
    Ok, so 4k - try loading a save in the hidden city and run around with high and ultra textures - high textures was alot smoother when i tested it on the 2080 due to vram usage going down to about 7gb with it.

    Again it made zero difference on the 2080 ti, as that was able to let the vram run to 9,1 gb (screenshot is everything maxed at 4k on the 2080 ti - without dlss ofc).

    [​IMG]
     
  9. Undying

    Undying Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    15,443
    Likes Received:
    4,453
    GPU:
    Aorus RX580 XTR 8GB
    topic aside thats some nice performance there. You are getting about the same performance at 4k or a bit faster that im getting at 1080p same settings.

    Did you try raytracing and does it effect the vram usage in this game?
     
  10. Dragam1337

    Dragam1337 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,511
    Likes Received:
    1,408
    GPU:
    Rtx 3090 Strix OC
    Raytracing does increase vram usage by about 500 mb i find :)
     
    Undying likes this.

  11. dampflokfreund

    dampflokfreund Member Guru

    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    13
    GPU:
    8600/8700M Series
    That is true, but not because of some sort of magic compression, but thanks to DX12 Ultimate's Sampler Feedback.
     
  12. alanm

    alanm Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,142
    Likes Received:
    2,302
    GPU:
    Asus 2080 Dual OC
    No I dont use RT in the game, so wouldnt know.
     
  13. Dragam1337

    Dragam1337 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,511
    Likes Received:
    1,408
    GPU:
    Rtx 3090 Strix OC
    Your results might also be affected by the fact that you are running btao ambient occlusion, which uses less vram than hbao, and lower settings for shadows (which also affects vram usage), no contact shadows, aswell as no AA :)
     
  14. alanm

    alanm Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,142
    Likes Received:
    2,302
    GPU:
    Asus 2080 Dual OC
    I'll try later on, but I started the game with ultra textures and ended with ultra textures. If I had any issues with stuttering, pretty sure I would have checked the settings.
     
  15. Dragam1337

    Dragam1337 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,511
    Likes Received:
    1,408
    GPU:
    Rtx 3090 Strix OC
    See my above message :)

    But let me clarify, it's not like it was game breaking stuttering i experienced on the 2080 with maxed out settings, but it deffo stuttered, which it didnt after i turned the textures down to high. Again, it mostly happened in the hidden city.

    Edit :

    I just tested with your settings, and as suspected, it used alot less vram, thus explains why you didnt experience any stuttering. But as i said from the start, the stuttering on 8gb gpus is with the settings maxed at 4k.

    Your settings

    [​IMG]


    Maxed with the exception of using TAA and no RTX

    [​IMG]


    Full maxed with Smaa4x and ultra RTX


    [​IMG]


    Ironically RTX shadows actually looks worse, and doesnt work with contact shadows on debris etc, but yeah... as i've said the entire time, RTX is a waste of resources xD
     
    Last edited: Sep 7, 2020

  16. Lily GFX

    Lily GFX Active Member

    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    85
    GPU:
    AORUS 3090 Master

    8k compressed textures have about same size as 4k uncompressed textures :)

    "Can it Run Crysis?" meme become real^^
    https://twitter.com/Crysis/status/1302652932064714756

    I have no doubt Nvidia know what their doing when it comes to hardware but developers will keep pushing hardware because they can.
    -If you have a 1440p monitor a 3080 with 10GB memory and 320bit memory bus it is going to be awesome and last very long until next update^^

    -If you have a 2160p monitor/TV it is another story and very depended on what game is running.
    This is why I want a 3080Ti with 12-16GB (pref 16GB) memory and 352bit memory bus or a 3090 with 12-16GB (pref 16GB) memory and 384bit memory bus @2160p based on experience from previous Nvidia GPU hardware.
    (I tested my 2080Ti both SLI and non SLI with both a Intel 9900k (5.1 OC)/4133Mem and a AMD 3900X (non OC)/3733Mem(1867 Fabric Clock), I now preffer the AMD 3900X because it runs great and smooth in most games).
    If game is very well optimized and the game running smooth with max settings that is great, but I rather it run smooth in all games so do not mind turning down some settings like slightly lower shadow res/quality.
    I very often also turn down SSAO/Ambient Occlusion because I do not like how it is added in most games except modded games like Skyrim LE/SE where I can tune it myself so it looks like a shadow and not a pit of darkness.

    -If you have a 4320p monitor/TV like those new LG I wish you good luck even with a 3090^^
     
    Dragam1337 likes this.
  17. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,302
    Likes Received:
    3,703
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    the only way to test is to use applications that report the vram usage broken down per working set and committed, per application.
     
  18. Dragam1337

    Dragam1337 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,511
    Likes Received:
    1,408
    GPU:
    Rtx 3090 Strix OC
    Issue is that the amount of memory has to match the memory controller configuration... so if you go with a 384 bit bus, that would enable you to use 12 mem chips if going one sided (as on the 3080) or 24 if going dual sided (as on the 3090). So that means 12 or 24 gb vram. For it to be 16 gb it would have to be either 256 or 512 bit. 256 bit would be less than ideal... 512 bit on the other hand would be very ideal for high res gaming... but it has been maaaany years since the last time nvidia made a 512 bit gpu... in fact the gtx 285 was the last one in 2008.

    I personally hoped for a 3080 ti with a 384 bit bus and 12 gb vram... but that doesnt look like it's going to happen any time soon.
     
    Lily GFX likes this.
  19. Lily GFX

    Lily GFX Active Member

    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    85
    GPU:
    AORUS 3090 Master
    I see thank you^^ Going to wait at least until AMD releases their GPUs, hopefully they are good enough to make Nvidia want to add
    either a 3080Ti version like you mentioned with one sided memory configuration with 12GB and 384bit memory bus
    or a 3080(Ti) with dual sided memory configuration with 20GB and 320bit memory bus.
    If not either will be added, the 3090 from the Nvidia Shop cost almost 2000USD where I live and there will be some time until I can afford one. -.-
     
  20. Anarion

    Anarion Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,604
    Likes Received:
    378
    GPU:
    GeForce RTX 3060 Ti
    It would make more sense to buy RTX 3080 now and then upgrade to RTX 4080 than buy RTX 3090 which costs double the RTX 3080 but will not offer anywhere near double the performance.
     
    Maddness likes this.

Share This Page