How to run custom resolutions with ATI cards

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon' started by L0st117, Sep 1, 2010.

  1. LinkDrive

    LinkDrive Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,675
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Toaster
    It sounds like the only real solution at this point is to call up Alienware. You're getting a slew of issues that, quite frankly, just shouldn't be happening. If it's a large enough issue, Alienware may be aware of what could be causing it.
     
  2. L0st117

    L0st117 Active Member

    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x ATI Mob. RadeonHD 4870
    yeah that's like the only thing left to do. but now i have to ****ing reformat my computer >.< :bang:

    thanks for your help and everyone else's help, btw.
     
  3. L0st117

    L0st117 Active Member

    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x ATI Mob. RadeonHD 4870
    So i FRESH reinstalled windows, and reinstalled the drivers like 5 times, and just in general, I still do not have options for ANY 16:10 resolutions EXCEPT for 1920x1200 (which is what my monitor is). The only choices I have are 16:9 choices and retarded 4:3 (who the **** still uses 4:3? what are we 1996?)

    Calling Alienware today, unless anyone has a PRO idea.

    Like maybe how to mod the desktop drivers to work with mobile cards?
     
  4. da_unique

    da_unique Member Guru

    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX770 + GTX670 (SLI)
    Welcome to the world of ati *cough* amd drivers :)
     

  5. LinkDrive

    LinkDrive Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,675
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Toaster
    The cause of the issue could be any number of reasons. Gather more information on the subject before putting your foot in your mouth. It helps to make you look more credible and less like a troll.
     
  6. Agonist

    Agonist Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,768
    Likes Received:
    185
    GPU:
    RX Vega 56 8GB
    Agreed. If ati's drivers are trash then why its i can use my hd 3850 or hd 4870 perfectly with my 23 inch hdmi hdtv and have gpu scaling working, where as my 9800gtx+ worse like complete horse poop over hdmi. Cant select gpu scaling in nvidia drivers since 175.80. Go troll somewhere else. It is very strange the op is not getting more 16:10 res. He should be getting 1680x1050 at min from 1920x1200. With my monitor Im getting everything from 640x800 to 1920x1080. 4:3, 16:9 and 16:10.
     
  7. Mineria

    Mineria Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,852
    Likes Received:
    21
    GPU:
    Asus Strix GTX 1080
  8. L0st117

    L0st117 Active Member

    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x ATI Mob. RadeonHD 4870
    I originally started it there because at first I thought it was a Driver problem. But then after I tried everything to do with drivers, using desktop drivers, old drivers, reinstalling windows, etc. I realized that the problem wasn't with drivers, so I abandoned that topic and re-made it in a more appropriate place. Sorry I didn't mean to spam or make a bunch of topics, I just thought it might be a non-driver related program.
     
  9. Mineria

    Mineria Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,852
    Likes Received:
    21
    GPU:
    Asus Strix GTX 1080
    EDIT: Sorry you got the old model, checked upon a tool.

    This should enable all the desktop settings etc.
    HD Mobility Modder
    Read their forums, I'm not sure if it works with the most recent catalyst releases, you will find guides and tips there.
     
    Last edited: Sep 11, 2010
  10. L0st117

    L0st117 Active Member

    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x ATI Mob. RadeonHD 4870
    oh, yeah i actually tried that and it failed miserably.
     

  11. Mineria

    Mineria Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,852
    Likes Received:
    21
    GPU:
    Asus Strix GTX 1080
    Upon which driver did you try it?
    I think you would need to use a desktop version of catalyst from 2009, something before 10.1 which would be a 9.x version

    Seen that 10.2 should be doable.
     
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2010
  12. L0st117

    L0st117 Active Member

    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x ATI Mob. RadeonHD 4870
    oh ok, i'll try again. but wouldn't old drivers be less efficient?
     
  13. L0st117

    L0st117 Active Member

    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x ATI Mob. RadeonHD 4870
    Yeah I called up Alienware, apparently my 4870s just can't do that resolution...

    but the 5870s can...
     
  14. Mineria

    Mineria Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,852
    Likes Received:
    21
    GPU:
    Asus Strix GTX 1080
    eh what?
    Did you talk with technician or just regular customer support?


     
    Last edited: Sep 14, 2010

Share This Page