How to Mod your own Drivers if you need to

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by Wolverine69r, Feb 17, 2006.

  1. Cybermancer

    Cybermancer Don Quixote

    Messages:
    13,795
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    BFG GTX260OC (192 SP)
    Welcome to Guru3D, vi0l4tor. :)

    It's the same procedure I posted above:

    Download both the driver and the modded inf for your OS version (Vista, 64-Bit) from here: http://www.laptopvideo2go.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=18052

    Now do the following:
    1. Uninstall your current driver.
    2. Restart and boot into safe mode (F8).
    3. Run Driver Sweeper and maybe even CCleaner.
    4. Restart and boot to the regular desktop.
    5. Decompress the downloaded driver and copy the modded inf into that folder.
    6. Run the setup.exe you can find in that folder.
    7. Restart.

    p.s.: In case you're getting an error message when you try to install the driver, decompress it with a tool like 7-Zip, delete the PhsyX installer from the folder and just start the setup.exe in the decompressed driver folder...
     
  2. vi0l4tor

    vi0l4tor New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    5850 CF
    i can install now but, when i open rivetuner, detected as 174.31...why is this? :(
     
  3. Cybermancer

    Cybermancer Don Quixote

    Messages:
    13,795
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    BFG GTX260OC (192 SP)
    Maybe a problem with RivaTuner, maybe a wrong file version in the inf, maybe the wrong files got downloaded, or some old driver remnants are still somewhere in the system...

    As long as your games run fine and stable, I wouldn't worry about it. ;)
     
  4. vi0l4tor

    vi0l4tor New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    5850 CF
    thank you cibermancer :)
     

  5. Pentagram666

    Pentagram666 New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ASUS Geforce 8800GTS
    My sistem are clean, first drive I install are the 185.68... thanks works fine :D

    Why u try to install this old version? go to http://www.laptopvideo2go.com/forum/index.php?showforum=139 and install the newest version for ur OS.
    []'s
     
  6. Git

    Git New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ?
    I may have found this part of the forum just in time. I am using Win XP64 and may use Win7 64 in the future. I was about to purchase i7 system with 3 x ATI 4870 cards and use the known methods and drivers to make the cards appear as FireGL. I need FireGL or Quaddro so my CAD uses different OpenGL graphics (RealView in Solidworks).

    I know you used to be able to convert NVidia cards to appear as Quaddro, but I thought this has not been possible for a long time, even with Rivatuner. Now I am not sure if I am correct or not.

    I would much rather use NVidia than ATI. If I use NVidia vards in SLI, is there a way to get the Quaddro speed ups and make the cards appear to be Quaddfro to the OS and programs?.

    Thank you in advance. I have tried to search the subject here, but there is just too much to sort through and understand. Any help appreciated.

    Git
     
    Last edited: Nov 12, 2009
  7. Cybermancer

    Cybermancer Don Quixote

    Messages:
    13,795
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    BFG GTX260OC (192 SP)
    Not anymore. Last time this worked was with the 6-series, iirc.
     
  8. Squall Leonhart

    Squall Leonhart Banned

    Messages:
    1,331
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Geforce GTX 275 896
    you could get lucky with a bios flash as long as you properly match the hardware..... then again you might not.
     
  9. Git

    Git New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ?
    OK, thanks guys. Back to ATI then :(

    Git
     
  10. Booim

    Booim Member

    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    8800GT 512MB (QFX 3700)
    Hi guys,

    I'm running the 8800GT @ QFX3700 with a patched quadro driver to unleash the real quadro power and it works...

    Get an over 400% performance in Maya, instant preview of an over 3k image filtered with Tinder T_Rays in Nuke & using the real quadro performance driver in 3DSMax instead of its standard OpenGL or Direct3D driver.
     

  11. Maryus3D

    Maryus3D Active Member

    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX 285
    Same here maybe somebody can make a patch please :D.
     
  12. cowie

    cowie Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,273
    Likes Received:
    345
    GPU:
    GTX
    guys i need some help...i want to run am3 and 3d01 on the gtx 480 with 169.21 (xp)you think there is a chance i can get it to work? cus i'm clueless on the inf. thing with drivers

    NVIDIA GeForce GTX 480
    $0000000001 Vendor ID : 10de (NVIDIA)
    $0000000002 Device ID : 06c0
     
    Last edited: Apr 11, 2010
  13. Cybermancer

    Cybermancer Don Quixote

    Messages:
    13,795
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    BFG GTX260OC (192 SP)
    Try this, cowie:
     
  14. cowie

    cowie Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,273
    Likes Received:
    345
    GPU:
    GTX
    hey cyber
    ummmm how do i open my inf. file?
     
  15. alanm

    alanm Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,559
    Likes Received:
    2,686
    GPU:
    Asus 2080 Dual OC
    With notepad.
     

  16. cowie

    cowie Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,273
    Likes Received:
    345
    GPU:
    GTX
    ahhhh hmmmmm how can i say this....i cant find the inf where is it? how do i get to it.. let me at it.... hence why i said spoonfeeding
     
  17. alanm

    alanm Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,559
    Likes Received:
    2,686
    GPU:
    Asus 2080 Dual OC
    Usually its a file named NV_DISP.inf (although at times it may change). You should be able to click on it and automatically it will open up in notepad.

    p.s. dont mistake it for NV_DISP.cat.
     
  18. alanm

    alanm Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,559
    Likes Received:
    2,686
    GPU:
    Asus 2080 Dual OC
    Oh, you will find it when you unpack the driver installer (ie, with winrar or in the install process when it prompts you for a location).
     
  19. cowie

    cowie Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,273
    Likes Received:
    345
    GPU:
    GTX
    ga ga baby all fed ... thank you
     
  20. hwangtinglee

    hwangtinglee New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Nvidia
    how do I mod the new 197.45 driver so it can be use on the 8600m GT with my laptop that's running on Vista 32 bits?
     

Share This Page