HOW TO: Enable UNOFFICIAL overclocking mode in MSI AfterBurner

Discussion in 'MSI AfterBurner Application Development Forum' started by Hilbert Hagedoorn, Feb 15, 2011.

  1. Pill Monster

    Pill Monster Banned

    Messages:
    25,214
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    7950 Vapor-X 1100/1500
    Open AB/settings and tick Force Constant Voltage.
     
  2. ahmadasou

    ahmadasou New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI Hawk 7870 2Gb
    thanks Pill monster

    did that as you can see i mentioned that i tried 1 and 2 methods through official and unofficial methods, however it worked on giving u extra gpu and ram to be increased but no matter i do (i can change the voltages, but it won't effect actually on the PCB)

    i searched more and the guy with the 1400 on air mentioned that he flashed the bios, in order to do, i also DLed the bios file, its "7870hawkovp.sb" but have no idea how to flash or update the BIOS, how to do that and idea?

    live update GPU Bios is up-to-date

    thank you for your reply, and i hope someone could help me on this
     
  3. Pill Monster

    Pill Monster Banned

    Messages:
    25,214
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    7950 Vapor-X 1100/1500
    ^I never mentioned Unofficial Overclocking, and it has has nothing to do with voltage control anyway.

    As I said tick Force Constant Voltage under the settings menu.

    If you did that and it still doesn't work you can flash BIOS with ATIFlash.
     
    Last edited: Feb 8, 2013
  4. ahmadasou

    ahmadasou New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI Hawk 7870 2Gb
    Great Pill monster thanks, i remember first when got the card and with live update it updated the card Bios, and seems it's locked now,

    please give me any directions or steps to flash the MSI HAWK 7870 Bios,
    steps, list of programs needed, it's my first time to flash manually :(
    as mentioned before i downloaded a file that seems to be the unlocked bios, but if you have the bios file and clear directions it would be great

    again thanks man
     

  5. Pill Monster

    Pill Monster Banned

    Messages:
    25,214
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    7950 Vapor-X 1100/1500
    TechPowerUp have an article on how to flash a GPU with ATIFlash. I'll see if I can find it.
     
  6. ahmadasou

    ahmadasou New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI Hawk 7870 2Gb
    thanks i googled some and found the article, i'll let u know if it works, and ill hate u if i bricked it ;)

    thanks mate
     
  7. Dravonic

    Dravonic Member

    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    VisionTek 7970 3GB
    I'm getting display corruption while idling in Windows 7 when I unlock Afterburner. Would anyone happen to know anything about that?

    I have a reference VisionTek 7970. Display corruption happens with any kind of overclock, even 10MHz, which is rather strange considering the only reason why I want to unlock Afterburner is I can max out the locked clocks.

    Using Afterburner v2.3.1.

    EDIT: Nevermind. I got the 3.0.0 Beta 5 and that seems to work.
     
    Last edited: Feb 28, 2013
  8. Valkyrie_

    Valkyrie_ New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Geforce GTX560
    For those of you still having problems enabling voltage control and saving it etc.:
    I have the new Afterburner 2.3.1 and have found that you can go into Profiles folder and edit the file:

    VEN_10DE&DEV_1201&SUBSYS_089810DE&REV_A1&BUS_1&DEV_0&FN_0

    The profiles look like this:

    And[Profile5]
    Format=2
    CoreVoltage=1008
    CoreClk=917500
    MemClk=2080000
    ShaderClk=
    FanMode=0
    FanSpeed=100

    Just edit the voltage and it will "stick". Now this may be file leftover from a previous version (being that I have 2 with very similar file names) but the other file does not have voltage listed under the profile. In case anyone needs it I will post the text from the whole file here (name the file as above if ya don't have it).:


    [Startup]
    Format=2
    CoreClk=850000
    MemClk=2004000
    ShaderClk=
    FanMode=1
    FanSpeed=31
    CoreVoltage=1000
    [Profile1]
    Format=2
    CoreVoltage=1000
    CoreClk=850000
    MemClk=2004000
    ShaderClk=
    FanMode=1
    FanSpeed=84
    [Profile2]
    Format=2
    CoreVoltage=1000
    CoreClk=850000
    MemClk=2004000
    ShaderClk=
    FanMode=0
    FanSpeed=100
    [Profile3]
    Format=2
    CoreVoltage=1012
    CoreClk=914000
    MemClk=2080000
    ShaderClk=
    FanMode=0
    FanSpeed=100
    [Profile4]
    Format=2
    CoreVoltage=1012
    CoreClk=914000
    MemClk=2080000
    ShaderClk=
    FanMode=0
    FanSpeed=100
    [Profile5]
    Format=2
    CoreVoltage=1008
    CoreClk=917500
    MemClk=2080000
    ShaderClk=
    FanMode=0
    FanSpeed=100

    The only evident difference from the other file is the name and the lines about voltage. Hope that helps.
     
  9. Teisco

    Teisco Master Guru

    Messages:
    658
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    Gigabyte Auros 1080Ti
    It is unfortunate that this program does not work. I cannot lower or raise clocks with slider and if I type the numbers in and hit enter it always reverts to 1000. Type in stock clocks at 1126, hit enter, number changes to 1000. Wow.
     
  10. Octopuss

    Octopuss Master Guru

    Messages:
    860
    Likes Received:
    71
    GPU:
    -
    Nice necro.
    And nice fail.

    PEBKAC case right there.
     

  11. Astrix_au

    Astrix_au Active Member

    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI RX VEGA 64 Wave
    Reading this thread is crazy, why don't you add AMD into the title, some people skip obvios things like it's AMD reference cards only.

    Also have it in large font on the first page, it will stop the unnecessary questions.

    Some people don't read instructions...
     

Share This Page