How to decrease NVidia Experience`s load

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by mbk1969, Apr 10, 2014.

  1. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,606
    Likes Received:
    37
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 970
    Copy following code to text editor and save it in file with extension 'ps1':
    Code:
    # array with process names
    $processNames = @('nvxdsync', 'nvtray', 'nvnetworkservice', 'nvbackend', 'nvstreamsvc')
    foreach($name in $processNames) {
    foreach($process in [System.Diagnostics.Process]::GetProcessesByName($name)) {
    try {
    $process.PriorityClass = 'BelowNormal' # all possible values: 'Normal', 'Idle', 'High', 'RealTime', 'BelowNormal', 'AboveNormal'
    } catch {}
    }
    }
    And execute it with PowerShell:
    Code:
    PowerShell.exe -NoLogo -WindowStyle Hidden -ExecutionPolicy Unrestricted -File "full_path_to_file"
    You can make shortcut with that command line and place it in Autostart folder. Or create registry value in 'Run' key. Or schedule it through Windows Scheduler (with trigger 'after user logon').
    You can experiment with priority class 'Idle'.

    Note: I don`t know whether 'nvstreamsvc' is used for ShadowPlay. If it is you can exclude the name from array.

    Note 2: PowerShell.exe usually lives here - "%windir%\System32\WindowsPowerShell\v1.0"

    Edit: Add '-WindowStyle Hidden' to command line to hide PowerShell window.

    Edit2: Looks like NvBackend.exe is started after user logon. So in Task scheduler I added delay for 1 minute in the trigger.
     
    Last edited: Apr 10, 2014
  2. IcE

    IcE Don Snow Staff Member

    Messages:
    10,659
    Likes Received:
    12
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 970 G1
    Or you can just uninstall it, it's practically worthless
     
  3. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,606
    Likes Received:
    37
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 970
    Well, I suspect that most users use it only for ShadowPlay feature.
     
  4. NeoandGeo

    NeoandGeo Master Guru

    Messages:
    736
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Geforce GTX 970 @1420
    I've never noticed GFE using any CPU load over ~1% when it wasn't scanning for new games or searching for an update. If it's giving you issues might want to reinstall it.
     

  5. Prophet

    Prophet Master Guru

    Messages:
    781
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Msi 680 Gtx Twin Frozr
    As usual pure candy from mkb whether you use it for gfe or something else.
     
  6. EdKiefer

    EdKiefer Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,257
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    MSI 970 Gaming 4G
    I only have one of those nvxdsync running on my system . Maybe there newer processes as I am still on 331.82 but I don't install GFE or HD audio , I only install base driver and physX .

    The tray one AFAIK you can turn off in menu .
     
  7. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,606
    Likes Received:
    37
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 970
    Not me. I just saw a comment in new beta`s thread where guru states that GFE has huge impact. Later did materialize the idea of script.
     
  8. Memorian

    Memorian Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,549
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    GTX 1070 FTW@2.1/9.1Ghz
    Why bother at all ? It's only using 4.7MB of RAM here.
     
  9. VultureX

    VultureX Banned

    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX970 SLI
    I wish there was an option to just completely disable it on startup.

    I don't actually use it, I just sometimes want to use the recently added desktop streaming option and here I am with 5 worthless processes spawned every time on boot.
     
  10. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,606
    Likes Received:
    37
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 970
    Do you want me to modify script to kill those processes?
     

  11. Australis

    Australis Master Guru

    Messages:
    661
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    MSI RX480 Gaming X 8G
    BINGO!

    I saw some stubborn SOB saying FRAPS was better than ShadowPlay though.:wanker:
     
  12. Fumz

    Fumz Member Guru

    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    Evga 1080Ti sc black icx
    The two biggest bugs are with nvidia streamer service and nvidia network service. Neither are needed to use Shadowplay.

    After installing Experience, enable then set up all your shadowplay keybinds and save/temp folders, then stop and disable the streamer and network service.

    Been doing this the last few versions because of all the problems these two services cause with no ill effects.
     

Share This Page