1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to completely reset a GPU?

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce' started by nvidiaman, Apr 20, 2018.

  1. nvidiaman

    nvidiaman Member

    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Nvidia GTX 960 M 4 GB
    Hi all,

    I have been experiencing some issues with my laptop's Nvidia GTX 960 M 4 GB clocks frequencies!

    I have uninstalled the drivers with DDU,reinstalled the OS,uninstalled the GPU via Device Manager,but I still got issues with its clocks frequencies!

    Please tell me how to tottaly reset the Nvidia GPU to the default!

    Please!
    Thanks to all in advance!
    Best regards!
     
  2. RealNC

    RealNC Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,007
    Likes Received:
    414
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 980 Ti FTW
    The GPU does not retain settings so a reboot resets it.

    You have other issues it seems that are completely unrelated to "resetting the GPU."
     
  3. nvidiaman

    nvidiaman Member

    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Nvidia GTX 960 M 4 GB
    Dear RealNC,
    thank you for replying!
    How do I set the GPU clocks frequencies as they should be?They started to change randomly!
    First they stuck to 405 with 405 MHz!
    Then they stuck to 1176 with 2505 MHz at idle!
    And started to change randomly while gaming!

    I did a plenty of things to set them normal,and now at the moment ,MSI Afterburner shows me a increasing of the GPU temp when I run HWMonitor!
    The GPU detects it like a 3d application!
    I have tried to fix that with setting the Intel integrated GPU as default, but it doesn't fix the problem!
    Any help please?
     
  4. nvidiaman

    nvidiaman Member

    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Nvidia GTX 960 M 4 GB
    And also started to stuck at 405 with 405 MHz again!
     

  5. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,159
    Likes Received:
    1,104
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1070
    Laptop is a tricky platform for gaming. In case the cooling system in your laptop is implemented as one heat pipe taking heat from both CPU and GPU you will have fluctuating frequencies because one pipe is not enough for gaming load.
    Also if your laptop has both integrated (iGPU) and dedicated (dGPU) GPUs the tricky part is iGPU is still needed because monitor(s) is connected namely to iGPU and dGPU should transfer each rendered frame from its frame buffer to iGPU`s frame buffer.
     
  6. nvidiaman

    nvidiaman Member

    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Nvidia GTX 960 M 4 GB
    Thank you for replying!
    But you know this happened all o a sudden!I've never had this issue before!This happened a few days ago!
    While I was gaming I noticed FPS drops,and looked in the Afterburner's OSD and it showed a frequent randomly changing of the Nvidia's clocks!
    Then the clocks stuck at 405 with 405 MHz,at idle!
    After this the clocks went up to 1176 with 2505 MHz at idle!
    I uninstalled the drivers via DDU,installed new, but the same problem persisted!
    Then I reinstalled the OS for 3 times,and after the 3rd installation the clocks were stable!
    But now when I open HWMonitor, the GPU's temp increases,if I close it it decreases, and this is everything at idle!
    The GPU detects HWMonitor as a 3d app!
    How do I fix this?
     
  7. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    15,172
    Likes Received:
    652
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti OC
    In Global nvidia profile set either default optimal or adaptive power plan.

    Per game profile select prefer maximum performance. Don't do that globally.


    That's it.



    Some applications like hwmonitor can set 3d so it detects proper gpu frequency, don't worry about that.. Its the same with gpu-z, speaking of gpu-z use only this for monitoring and or MSI afterburner.
     
  8. nvidiaman

    nvidiaman Member

    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Nvidia GTX 960 M 4 GB
    Dear -Tj-, thank you very much!
    I would like to ask you for only one favour please!
    Could you please install HWMonitor,open it, and check in the MSI Afterburner's Monitoring Window,if the GPU's temperature would increase ,and then decrease to zero,and this to repeat for a few seconds,then please close it,and check if the GPU temperature would decrease to zero after you have closed it!
    Could you do this for me?
    Thank you in advance!
     
  9. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,159
    Likes Received:
    1,104
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1070
    The only reliable way to reset all things to default is to reinstall Windows. Especially after the damage done by using apps like CCleaner, DDU. I am not saying that you 100% will get such damage but it is possible (we saw such users here).
     
  10. nvidiaman

    nvidiaman Member

    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Nvidia GTX 960 M 4 GB
    But I reinstalled it for 3 times!
     

  11. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,159
    Likes Received:
    1,104
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1070
    How old is laptop?
     
  12. nvidiaman

    nvidiaman Member

    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Nvidia GTX 960 M 4 GB
    It is one year old.
     
  13. Agent-A01

    Agent-A01 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,137
    Likes Received:
    695
    GPU:
    1080Ti H20
    I think you should take a chill pill.

    It's normal to have clock fluctuations at idle.
     
  14. slimmy427

    slimmy427 Active Member

    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    13
    GPU:
    MSI 1070 Gaming
    Sounds like one of your sensors are being misread. Try uninstalling MSI and reset Nvidia to default. Might even want to check your start up programs. Then reinstall driver and test without installing anything other then HWmonitor. Something is interfering and you should try and find it. Also...I've seen google glitch out clocks and they will not recover after closing the browser. Make sure all drivers are also update since you reinstalled windows.
     
  15. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    15,172
    Likes Received:
    652
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti OC
    What do you mean temperature decrease to 0?

    Back to initial temp before you start monitoring/opened hwmonitor app?

    I had installed that app before but never saw anything unusual, other then like Agent01 said, those fluctuations are normal, unless you get low clock states during gaming (not by loading the game).
     

  16. nvidiaman

    nvidiaman Member

    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Nvidia GTX 960 M 4 GB
    Yes ,the temp goes back to the initial temp like before HWMonitor has been opened!
    Yesterday I noticed that this happens if I run GPU—Z too!
    I also noticed that in the Sensors tab of GPU -Z, the sensors don't show.any info till I press the Refresh button on the Sensors tab!
    And also sometimes when GPU-Z shows info,then Afterburner shows 0 degrees Celsius,in other case the both show increasing and decreasing of the GPU temp!

    I think that this issue is maybe caused by a malfunctioning of the sensors!
     
  17. nvidiaman

    nvidiaman Member

    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Nvidia GTX 960 M 4 GB
    I would like to wipe the SSD and HDD!
    Maybe this issue is caused by a malware!
    Could you please check if Samsung Magician,the wiping tool for the SSD supports my SSD model:
    My SSD model is SAMSUNG MZVLW128HEGR-000L2
    Please help me!
     
  18. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    15,172
    Likes Received:
    652
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti OC
    Like I said that quick fluctuation is normal when you open such app, or by browser too..

    Don't worry about it, I would worry if it never came back down to low P-state 135mhz after a whil Or if it costantly bounces to full 3d clocks all the time (and stays there for longer time), this is usually driver conflict.

    I had such glich some time ago with 280.xx driver and fermi 570gtx.


    Also if you keep multiple monitoring sw open by startup or in background it can conflict too.. use just one.
     
  19. nvidiaman

    nvidiaman Member

    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Nvidia GTX 960 M 4 GB
    Could you please tell me how can I test the Nvidia,if it is a hardware issue?

    I tested it with the Lenovo Diagnostic Tool,and it passed all of the tests!
     
  20. Caesar

    Caesar Member Guru

    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    11
    GPU:
    GTX 1070Ti Titanium
    at times you need to run before you can walk.......

    Clean install your OS. :)
    And install all drivers from scratch from your laptop model online [service tag].
    Your laptop is OEM version with preinstalled and outdated XYZ....

    Please do not give me a + like !!!
    Instead i will give you a LIKE if you do the above.
    {and if you want to be sure :confused: about malaware - download and run ADWARE which i think is not the issue}
    Regards.
     
    Last edited: Apr 21, 2018

Share This Page