How to add custom resolution in VSR (no need 3rd utils)

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon Drivers Section' started by acterhd, Mar 27, 2015.

  1. JonasBeckman

    JonasBeckman Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    15,765
    Likes Received:
    1,747
    GPU:
    Sapphire 5700XT P.
    VSR uses something akin to a virtual monitor and then scales via that, earlier you could add a custom resolution via regedit and just adding to the DAL override reg key but that seems to have stopped working in one of the Adrenaline drivers for 18.x for whatever reason.

    Although I heard adding a custom resolution from within Catalyst Next works but I have not tested that myself yet. For VSR itself I merely toggle it on and then check that GPU scaling is off but it's possible newer GPU's will be able to scale properly even with this enabled instead of limiting to some arbitrary limit because it's one res instead of another. :)
    (Something with how they scale via the GPU hardware at least according to AMD, of course if you use a even older driver this somehow just works anyway for the GPU's that aren't support so the validity of that has been a bit doubted.)

    EDIT: There are caps though, GCN 1.2 such as Fury supports up to 3840x2160 but no higher, Polaris and Vega scales to 5120x2880 (or the 16:10 variants of these.)

    For earlier GCN GPU models (GEN, 1.x it varies what people call this.) the limit is somewhere around 2560x1800 but can be overriden to a bit higher but not much.
     
    z8373767 likes this.
  2. z8373767

    z8373767 Member Guru

    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    51
    GPU:
    Fury Nitro 1070/600
  3. MikeChev

    MikeChev New Member

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    XFX RX 580
    all of that works now. Starting with driver 18.7.1 i have it working with GPU scaling disabled. I can add many more resolutions via the registry and it works again.
     
  4. ablev

    ablev Member Guru

    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    7
    GPU:
    XFX RX 580 SE
    My settings in HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE / DALNonStandardModesBCD1.


    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    I use these settings since many years with different AMD-cards (290, 390, and now 580).
    Works without a problem.
    Sorry for my bad english.
    ablev
     
    Last edited: Jul 21, 2018

  5. z8373767

    z8373767 Member Guru

    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    51
    GPU:
    Fury Nitro 1070/600
    Im back with new question.

    Also it's a diffrence between VSR 1440p and CRU 1440p?

    Because i finally push my screen to 1440p and 89Hz via CRU.
    I had some problems with scanlines but i deal with it using some tweaks.

    EDIT: Extra resolution added via VTB-EXT seems to be ignore Freesync.
     
    Last edited: Sep 20, 2018
  6. miiksu

    miiksu Member Guru

    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    XFX R9 Nano
    I got out of sync... Tried to add custom resolution with CRU and VSR is enabled.

    This what I tried.

    [​IMG]
     
  7. Agonist

    Agonist Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,751
    Likes Received:
    177
    GPU:
    2x RX 480 Nitro 4GB
    I dont mess with trying to get VSR working on 21:9. I just use CRU for my resolutions.
    I have 3840x1600 @ 70hz working.
    For giggles Ill try your res and see what happens.

    Just tried it works, no issues even at 70hz.

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Oct 25, 2018
  8. Can Çeralp

    Can Çeralp Member

    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    6
    GPU:
    Rx 480 8Gb
    Hey,
    I have 18.9.3 WHQL driver for my RX 480.it scales to literally every 8-divided resolution as long as it's 16:9.

    However, I want to use my big screen TV (1080p native) as a ultrawide with 21:9 resolutions, but so far I only got 1920x824 (not 810 as for being 8-divided number). I want to add resolutions like 2560x1080, 2688x1152 (for 2xSSAA) with no success so far.
    CRU doesn't work, nor does Registry tweak.

    Any ideas?
     
  9. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,843
    Likes Received:
    2,079
    GPU:
    Vega 64 XTX LiQuiD
    or, my method CRU + Reg Tweak:

    "DALNonStandardModesBCD4"=hex:12,00,10,24,00,00,00,00,12,80,07,68,00,00,00,85,\
    12,80,09,60,00,00,00,85,16,00,12,80,00,00,00,85,19,20,10,80,00,00,00,85,19,\
    20,12,00,00,00,85,17,92,13,44,00,00,00,84,18,00,14,40,00,00,00,77,18,56,13,\
    92,00,00,00,79,19,20,10,80,00,00,00,70,25,60,14,40,00,00,00,70,20,48,11,52,\
    00,00,00,70,40,96,23,04,00,00,00,70,38,40,21,60,00,00,00,70
     
  10. Can Çeralp

    Can Çeralp Member

    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    6
    GPU:
    Rx 480 8Gb
    Assuming this answer for me, I don't have DALNonStandardModesBCD4, only 1 and 2. 2 contains 1360x768 with 85Hz, which is not possible since the panel is only for 60Hz.

    Also, one more thing; CRU never sets anything higher than native refresh rate, whether VSR turned on or not. Only DALNonStandardModesBCD1 allows me to set a custom resolution, being only 16:9.
     

  11. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,843
    Likes Received:
    2,079
    GPU:
    Vega 64 XTX LiQuiD
    ^^ You can have in registry:

    "DALNonStandardModesBCD1"
    "DALNonStandardModesBCD2"
    "DALNonStandardModesBCD3"
    "DALNonStandardModesBCD4"

    I have 4 of them :D
     
    Can Çeralp likes this.
  12. Can Çeralp

    Can Çeralp Member

    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    6
    GPU:
    Rx 480 8Gb
    So, you suggest that I create the entries in registry, and then set the same resolutions at CRU, too?
     
    OnnA likes this.
  13. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,843
    Likes Received:
    2,079
    GPU:
    Vega 64 XTX LiQuiD
    Yup, i can have VSR Up to 8k :D
    5k, 4k, 2160p .... IMO You can have whatever You wish thanks to CRU + reg Tweak.
     
    JonasBeckman and Can Çeralp like this.
  14. JonasBeckman

    JonasBeckman Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    15,765
    Likes Received:
    1,747
    GPU:
    Sapphire 5700XT P.
    Hmm interesting, thought AMD capped out at 5120x2880 for Polaris and Vega, nice to hear that you can set a higher limit via custom resolution overrides. Mostly for older games though since 3840x2160 is already hitting the limit for what Vega can reliably handle at 30 some frames per second in the newer games. (Bit better in some, far worse in others, guess D3D12 and Vulkan can help get more out of the hardware too if implemented well.)
     
  15. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,843
    Likes Received:
    2,079
    GPU:
    Vega 64 XTX LiQuiD
    I run tests for FH4 DX12 in 4k (true 4k 4096:2304) game runs 60FPS on High.
    Not tested 8k, cuz it's too much for 1 GPU.
    But IMO it's possible, theoretically You can have 8k monitor yes?
     

  16. JonasBeckman

    JonasBeckman Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    15,765
    Likes Received:
    1,747
    GPU:
    Sapphire 5700XT P.
    You can have up to 16384x16384 I believe before D3D starts throwing a fit though that might be more for textures and D3D11, I never tested quite that high though but I did have some fun with Mirror's Edge (D3D9) and GeDoSaTo at 10240x5760 at a pretty simple 2560x1440 x 4 setting. Single digit performance but the display driver somehow managed not to crash. :D

    For downsampling 2.25x or 2x width and 2x height (2560x1440 -> 5120x2880 for my own display and it's native res.) seems to give best results though depending on your native resolution even that can be quite demanding so 1.5x (3840x2160) is usually better for performance while still handling much of the aliasing and issues that can be cleared up with having more pixels available.
    Though I find the Vega card to perform at best around 2560x1440 for modern games but 4k isn't outside of the possibilities either and low-level API's allowing for the hardware to really come into it's own can also help.

    Forza from what I'm hearing is also well optimized and runs really nice on both NVIDIA and AMD hardware though the previous game needed a few patches but it was resolved too so it should be a good test case for performance from what I know and it also runs well enough that downsampling is viable even though 4k whether 3840 or the full 4096 resolution is quite a step up in total pixel count compared to 2560 and the less common 3200 display resolutions below it. :)


    And then there's 21:9 but I don't know how well AMD supports that with VSR if at all though 5760x2160 and 7680x2880 (A simple 1.5x and 2x respectively from 3840x1440) must be quite spectacular when supported properly.
    (Well 2560x1080 if I remember it right and 3840x1440 aren't bad either of course.)
     
  17. JonasBeckman

    JonasBeckman Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    15,765
    Likes Received:
    1,747
    GPU:
    Sapphire 5700XT P.
    For earlier displays driving 8k (EDIT: And 5k or 5120x2880 which is often the 16:9 resolution used for that.) I think it used 2x 3840x2160 to achieve 7680x4320 but current HDMI and Display Port adapter standards might be enough now to allow at least 30hz without extra cables and splitting it up though color bits and extras such as 120hz or HDR is also going to require more. Will be interesting to see the first hardware out using HDMI 2.1 which I hope we'll see next year. Should also help 3840x2160 at 120 to 144hz without using chroma sub sampling and reducing those settings. :)

    EDIT: Hmm but I don't actually know if VSR drives 120hz and above resolutions at all but I believe it had some limits.

    I do know I have to disable GPU scaling or AMD's own limits stops it at 3840x2160 instead of 5120x2880 but the monitor has scaling modes too so GPU scaling isn't that important.

    Throw in G and Free Sync for NVIDIA and AMD respectively and I wonder if DSR and VSR might see further updates and improvements though I guess the December drivers have other priorities. Need to see what the poll for that is currently since that can give some hints as to what AMD prioritized for this years update.
     
  18. Can Çeralp

    Can Çeralp Member

    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    6
    GPU:
    Rx 480 8Gb
    Didn't work.
    I tried every setting with GPU scaling on and off.

    I set the same resolutions in both Regedit and CRU, and no success at ultra wide resolutions.
    Only 1920x810 or 1920x824 works, since they are smaller than my native resolution of 1920x1080.
     
  19. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,843
    Likes Received:
    2,079
    GPU:
    Vega 64 XTX LiQuiD
    Can Çeralp likes this.
  20. Can Çeralp

    Can Çeralp Member

    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    6
    GPU:
    Rx 480 8Gb

Share This Page