How to add custom resolution in VSR (no need 3rd utils)

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon Drivers Section' started by acterhd, Mar 27, 2015.

  1. acterhd

    acterhd Guest

    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    AMD Radeon R9 285
    I found solution, how add custom resolution for VSR. But this method have limitation: maximum resolution 3840x2160 and frequency 60Hz (R9 285). For add custom resolution, need open regedit, and find DALNonStandardModesBCD1 key. Open and just write in new line:
    Code:
    28 80 16 20 00 00 00 60
    Restart your driver. And we adds 2880x1620 resolution, 60Hz.
    Very simple!

    You can instead of 28 80 and 16 20 write other width and height values.
    If you want add more resolution and frequence than limited, require hacking your driver.

    This is old trick, but works today with VSR.
    Original: http://www.wsgf.org/forums/viewtopic.php?t=21972&f=63

    Update! If you user 2560x1440 monitor, just use this trick for add 4K, like 2880x1620. I undertand one: for working your resolution need width and height no more than original multiplied by 2x. AMD adds 2x resolutions, but not adding 1.5x by default.
    Code:
    38 40 21 60 00 00 00 60
     
    Last edited: Mar 28, 2015
  2. FunkyMike

    FunkyMike Guest

    Messages:
    539
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI 6850m /Intel HD3000
    You could maybe just create more custom resolutions?

    DALNonStandardModesBCD2
    DALNonStandardModesBCD3

    etc

    Edit: Nice find if it works. I do not have VSR to verify as AMD gimped the drivers for my device.
     
  3. sammarbella

    sammarbella Guest

    Messages:
    3,929
    Likes Received:
    178
    GPU:
    290X Lightning CFX (H2O)
    Nice find!

    I'll check it tomorrow when i come back home.

    :)
     
  4. Plug2k

    Plug2k Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,559
    Likes Received:
    33
    GPU:
    3090
    will try those out later on and see if they work :) if they do your a god lol

    though could you do a list up like this

    1920x1080p @60 = 32 89 79 43 12 45 13
    2560x1600p @60 = ?? ?? ?? ?? ?? ?? ??

    like that but with all types of aspec ratio`s for 16.9 / 21.9 / ect ect
    as i have no idea how to translate those hex codes into resolutions.
     
    MerolaC likes this.

  5. acterhd

    acterhd Guest

    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    AMD Radeon R9 285
    Do no translate to HEX. Just type. If your video card limited by 2560x1440, will no work. But in forum written methods, how avoid this limitation.
    Code:
    25 60 16 00 00 00 00 60
     
    Last edited: Mar 27, 2015
  6. Probotector

    Probotector Member

    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    Crossfire 290 @ 1100/1400
    But that code is for R9 290 (4K enabled)?

    Thx
     
  7. fr33jack

    fr33jack Guest

    Messages:
    1,153
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    1050Ti @1.9/ 9.0GHz
    Share the link please?
     
  8. Agonist

    Agonist Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,283
    Likes Received:
    1,312
    GPU:
    XFX 7900xtx Black
    I have 4k working and VSR on. But quite a few games still dont see resolutions beyond 1080p. A couple I can force to see it.
    But Tomb Raider 2013, Just Cause 2, Crysis, Crysis Warhead will not see above 1920x1080p.
     
  9. acterhd

    acterhd Guest

    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    AMD Radeon R9 285
    Probotector, this code adds resolution 2560x1600. You can this use resolution, if you have support more than 2560x1440 anyway (native or hacked).
    fr33jack, sorry, no links about VSR custom resolution. Only experience. In original case can be found by "custom resolution AMD". But material are outdated, and no mean VSR. I can say one: this old trick works today.
     
    Last edited: Mar 27, 2015
  10. xx4L0Mxx

    xx4L0Mxx Member

    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2 x MSI 970GTX 4G
    .....and which driver are you doing this on?
     

  11. acterhd

    acterhd Guest

    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    AMD Radeon R9 285
    xx4L0Mxx, It's works in 14 and 15 versions.
    This trick with custom resolution is old, but works with VSR today.
     
    Last edited: Mar 27, 2015
  12. xx4L0Mxx

    xx4L0Mxx Member

    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2 x MSI 970GTX 4G
    Ok, thanks, but It didn't work for me I'm afraid.

    I added :

    28 80 16 20 00 00 00 60


    No new resolutions on reboot. The above entry is still edited in the registry though.
     
  13. acterhd

    acterhd Guest

    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    AMD Radeon R9 285
    xx4L0Mxx, probably you found wrong folder. Try 0000 or 0001 in registry. Also your GPU may be limited, use patch for add 4K support. May be you need enable VSR in graphics control panel.
     
    Last edited: Mar 27, 2015
  14. xx4L0Mxx

    xx4L0Mxx Member

    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2 x MSI 970GTX 4G
    Hi acterHD.

    I put the edit into :

    DALNonStandardModesBCD1

    My r9 290's are currently limited to 3200x1800 and vsr is definitely enabled.

    Thanks for the tip, but I think I'm going to stop messing around with custom vsr resolutions now until someone can enable 4k on crossfire 290's.

    It shows how lazy AMD 's driver team is though when people on this forum are finding so many tweaks and tips.

    I paid £500 for graphics cards that get unbelievably slow crossfire support and poor scaling options. Lesson learned I think.

    Thanks again acterhd!
     
    Last edited: Mar 27, 2015
  15. acterhd

    acterhd Guest

    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    AMD Radeon R9 285
    If you limited in 3200x1800, then should it work.
    Some resolutions, that no in native:
    25 60 16 00 00 00 00 60 (16:10, 2560x1600, 60Hz)
    28 80 16 20 00 00 00 60 (16:9, 2880x1620, 60Hz)

    xx4L0Mxx, try trick with CRU and 4k registry patch. Probably you use 2560x1440 monitor.
     
    Last edited: Mar 27, 2015

  16. passenger

    passenger Master Guru

    Messages:
    486
    Likes Received:
    95
    GPU:
    Sapphire RX580 8GB
    No, just ugly 4:3 res 2048x1536 again :(
     
  17. miiksu

    miiksu Guest

    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    XFX R9 Nano
    Could someone tell values for 2720x1700@60 hz ? Somehow CRU disable VSR.
     
  18. acterhd

    acterhd Guest

    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    AMD Radeon R9 285
    Code:
    27 20 17 00 00 00 00 60 
    For 2720x1700, 60Hz.

    I see, monitors 1920x1200 can use 3840x2400, but this resolution not working for me with 16:9 1920x1080. Tried CRU and set 1920x1200, but my monitor shows "Out of range".
    Do not use CRU without need. I also see 2560x1440 have native 4K support (or maybe need just add Full HD in CRU).

    Fin?
     
    Last edited: Mar 27, 2015
  19. miiksu

    miiksu Guest

    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    XFX R9 Nano
    Thanks :) Yep :)
     
    Last edited: Mar 27, 2015
  20. Plug2k

    Plug2k Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,559
    Likes Received:
    33
    GPU:
    3090
    Looking for this resolution in values if anyone knows it :

    3440x1440 @60hz and 59hz 21.9 aspect ratio :)
    works with cru
    and any higher ones that you know of that has the 21.9 aspect ratio
    currently running R9295x2 so i should be able to get higher 21.9 aspect ratio resolutions if you know them acterhd let me know cheers.
     

Share This Page