1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How do i setup twin clients on my q6600

Discussion in 'Folding@Home - Join Team Guru3D !' started by greaterthenjake, May 18, 2008.

  1. greaterthenjake

    greaterthenjake Member Guru

    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA 8800gts 320mb Sli648/1674/1836
    Hey all im gettin pretty good PPD according to fahmon on running a single instance of of FAH. How do i setup a second client and use affinity changer to get more PPD. ANy help is appreciated.

    Project : 2653
    Core : SMP Gromacs
    Frames : 100
    Credit : 1760


    -- The Rig --

    Min. Time / Frame : 8mn 51s - 2863.73 ppd
    Avg. Time / Frame : 8mn 55s - 2842.32 ppd
    Cur. Time / Frame : 9mn 59s - 2538.63 ppd
    R3F. Time / Frame : 9mn 26s - 2686.64 ppd
    Eff. Time / Frame : 9mn 05s - 2790.17 ppd

    thats what im currently able to do, on a non dedicated folding rig. =) so im sure i can do much better if what i hear about running two clients is true.

    Thanks guys
     
  2. aircool

    aircool Don Aircooleone Staff Member

    Messages:
    13,750
    Likes Received:
    17
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX 560 Ti 448 Core
    Check out the 'Definitive Folding at Home Thread' ;)

    Pretty much that if your in vista, except where it says to make a folder for fah make a folder structure like this:

    C:/FAH/SMP1 and C:/FAH/SMP2.

    What you could do is make the first folder, download the 5.91 installer and install it into 'C:/FAH/SMP1' and then make a copy of the 'C:/FAH/SMP1' folder and make it like 'C:/FAH/SMP2'.

    Then run the install.bat (batch file) and install like normal from the first smp folder (do note you dont run the install file for the second folder).

    Then run the first client and set it up and do the same for the second one, but on the second one make sure you run through to advanced and set its machine ID to 2 (Machine ID 2) also make sure you close each client before changing settings.

    Then grab affinity changer, install it like normal and make two shortcut to the fah client .exe's and run them both (double click on both, try to keep it with in the same couple of seconds really).
     
  3. Netgamer

    Netgamer Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,096
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    6600LE 300/300
    1st, get SMP on the cpu

    2nd, get 3850/70 and get the new GPU client

    thats how i ran 2
     
  4. aircool

    aircool Don Aircooleone Staff Member

    Messages:
    13,750
    Likes Received:
    17
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX 560 Ti 448 Core
    I believe he is refering to dual SMP clients, not GPU and SMP ;)

    As there are no nvidia gpu's/drivers eligible for folding 'yet'.
     

  5. sardine

    sardine Active Member

    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Nvidia 680m GTX 4gb
    tried and failed on this......

    I got dual SMP clients up ok but it kills my network..

    without FAH I get 20mb
    with I get 8mb varying.

    when the work units are finished I will revert to one client and then test why my network suffers.

    I get a lot of established ports opened when I run FAH (SMPD.EXE) seems to be the culprit swamping my network with too many open connections ??
     
  6. aircool

    aircool Don Aircooleone Staff Member

    Messages:
    13,750
    Likes Received:
    17
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX 560 Ti 448 Core
    Which version of the client are you using?

    Because im seeing no negative things like loss of through put (both via LAN/WAN on the 5.91 SMP Client), unless your refering to your isp in which it could be that.
     
  7. sardine

    sardine Active Member

    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Nvidia 680m GTX 4gb
    C:\Windows\system32>netstat -b

    Active Connections

    Proto Local Address Foreign Address State
    [KService.exe]
    TCP 127.0.0.1:49166 Sardine-PC:49165 ESTABLISHED
    [KService.exe]
    TCP 127.0.0.1:49167 Sardine-PC:49168 ESTABLISHED
    [KService.exe]
    TCP 127.0.0.1:49168 Sardine-PC:49167 ESTABLISHED
    [KService.exe]
    TCP 127.0.0.1:49372 Sardine-PC:nntp ESTABLISHED
    [nbpro.exe]
    TCP 127.0.0.1:49375 Sardine-PC:nntp ESTABLISHED
    [nbpro.exe]
    TCP 127.0.0.1:49377 Sardine-PC:nntp ESTABLISHED
    [nbpro.exe]
    TCP 127.0.0.1:49380 Sardine-PC:nntp ESTABLISHED
    [nbpro.exe]
    TCP 127.0.0.1:49382 Sardine-PC:nntp ESTABLISHED
    [nbpro.exe]
    TCP 127.0.0.1:49383 Sardine-PC:nntp ESTABLISHED
    [nbpro.exe]
    TCP 127.0.0.1:49384 Sardine-PC:nntp ESTABLISHED
    [nbpro.exe]
    TCP 127.0.0.1:49387 Sardine-PC:nntp ESTABLISHED
    [nbpro.exe]
    TCP 127.0.0.1:49388 Sardine-PC:nntp ESTABLISHED
    [nbpro.exe]
    TCP 127.0.0.1:49390 Sardine-PC:nntp ESTABLISHED
    [nbpro.exe]
    TCP 127.0.0.1:49391 Sardine-PC:nntp ESTABLISHED
    [nbpro.exe]
    TCP 127.0.0.1:49437 Sardine-PC:49438 ESTABLISHED
    [mpiexec.exe]
    TCP 127.0.0.1:49438 Sardine-PC:49437 ESTABLISHED
    [mpiexec.exe]
    TCP 127.0.0.1:49442 Sardine-PC:49443 ESTABLISHED
    [smpd.exe]
    TCP 127.0.0.1:49443 Sardine-PC:49442 ESTABLISHED
    [smpd.exe]
    TCP 127.0.0.1:49444 Sardine-PC:49445 ESTABLISHED
    [smpd.exe]
    TCP 127.0.0.1:49445 Sardine-PC:49444 ESTABLISHED
    [smpd.exe]
    TCP 127.0.0.1:49446 Sardine-PC:49447 ESTABLISHED
    [smpd.exe]
    TCP 127.0.0.1:49447 Sardine-PC:49446 ESTABLISHED
    [smpd.exe]
    TCP 127.0.0.1:49449 Sardine-PC:49450 ESTABLISHED
    [smpd.exe]
    TCP 127.0.0.1:49450 Sardine-PC:49449 ESTABLISHED
    [smpd.exe]
    TCP 127.0.0.1:49451 Sardine-PC:49452 ESTABLISHED
    [smpd.exe]
    TCP 127.0.0.1:49452 Sardine-PC:49451 ESTABLISHED
    [smpd.exe]
    TCP 127.0.0.1:49453 Sardine-PC:49454 ESTABLISHED
    [smpd.exe]
    TCP 127.0.0.1:49454 Sardine-PC:49453 ESTABLISHED
    [smpd.exe]
    TCP 127.0.0.1:49456 Sardine-PC:49457 ESTABLISHED
    [smpd.exe]
    TCP 127.0.0.1:49457 Sardine-PC:49456 ESTABLISHED
    [smpd.exe]
    TCP 127.0.0.1:49458 Sardine-PC:49459 ESTABLISHED
    [smpd.exe]
    TCP 127.0.0.1:49459 Sardine-PC:49458 ESTABLISHED
    [smpd.exe]
    TCP 127.0.0.1:49460 Sardine-PC:49461 ESTABLISHED
    [smpd.exe]
    TCP 127.0.0.1:49461 Sardine-PC:49460 ESTABLISHED
    [smpd.exe]
    TCP 127.0.0.1:49465 Sardine-PC:49466 ESTABLISHED
    [smpd.exe]
    TCP 127.0.0.1:49466 Sardine-PC:49465 ESTABLISHED
    [smpd.exe]
    TCP 127.0.0.1:49467 Sardine-PC:49468 ESTABLISHED
    [smpd.exe]
    TCP 127.0.0.1:49468 Sardine-PC:49467 ESTABLISHED
    [smpd.exe]
    TCP 127.0.0.1:49501 Sardine-PC:49502 ESTABLISHED
    [mpiexec.exe]
    TCP 127.0.0.1:49502 Sardine-PC:49501 ESTABLISHED
    [mpiexec.exe]
    TCP 127.0.0.1:49506 Sardine-PC:49507 ESTABLISHED
    [smpd.exe]
    TCP 127.0.0.1:49507 Sardine-PC:49506 ESTABLISHED
    [smpd.exe]
    TCP 127.0.0.1:49508 Sardine-PC:49509 ESTABLISHED
    [smpd.exe]
    TCP 127.0.0.1:49509 Sardine-PC:49508 ESTABLISHED
    [smpd.exe]
    TCP 127.0.0.1:49510 Sardine-PC:49511 ESTABLISHED
    [smpd.exe]
    TCP 127.0.0.1:49511 Sardine-PC:49510 ESTABLISHED
    [smpd.exe]
    TCP 127.0.0.1:49513 Sardine-PC:49514 ESTABLISHED
    [smpd.exe]
    TCP 127.0.0.1:49514 Sardine-PC:49513 ESTABLISHED
    [smpd.exe]
    TCP 127.0.0.1:49515 Sardine-PC:49516 ESTABLISHED
    [smpd.exe]
    TCP 127.0.0.1:49516 Sardine-PC:49515 ESTABLISHED
    [smpd.exe]
    TCP 127.0.0.1:49517 Sardine-PC:49518 ESTABLISHED
    [smpd.exe]
    TCP 127.0.0.1:49518 Sardine-PC:49517 ESTABLISHED
    [smpd.exe]
    TCP 127.0.0.1:49520 Sardine-PC:49521 ESTABLISHED
    [smpd.exe]
    TCP 127.0.0.1:49521 Sardine-PC:49520 ESTABLISHED
    [smpd.exe]
    TCP 127.0.0.1:49522 Sardine-PC:49523 ESTABLISHED
    [smpd.exe]
    TCP 127.0.0.1:49523 Sardine-PC:49522 ESTABLISHED
    [smpd.exe]
    TCP 127.0.0.1:49524 Sardine-PC:49525 ESTABLISHED
    [smpd.exe]
    TCP 127.0.0.1:49525 Sardine-PC:49524 ESTABLISHED
    [smpd.exe]
    TCP 127.0.0.1:49529 Sardine-PC:49530 ESTABLISHED
    [smpd.exe]
    TCP 127.0.0.1:49530 Sardine-PC:49529 ESTABLISHED
    [smpd.exe]
    TCP 127.0.0.1:49531 Sardine-PC:49532 ESTABLISHED
    [smpd.exe]
    TCP 127.0.0.1:49532 Sardine-PC:49531 ESTABLISHED
    [smpd.exe]
    TCP 192.168.1.101:49440 Sardine-PC:49441 ESTABLISHED
    [smpd.exe]
    TCP 192.168.1.101:49441 Sardine-PC:49440 ESTABLISHED
    [mpiexec.exe]
    TCP 192.168.1.101:49448 Sardine-PC:49472 ESTABLISHED
    [smpd.exe]
    TCP 192.168.1.101:49455 Sardine-PC:49473 ESTABLISHED
    [smpd.exe]
    TCP 192.168.1.101:49462 Sardine-PC:49474 ESTABLISHED
    [smpd.exe]
    TCP 192.168.1.101:49469 Sardine-PC:49475 ESTABLISHED
    [smpd.exe]
    TCP 192.168.1.101:49472 Sardine-PC:49448 ESTABLISHED
    [FahCore_a1.exe]
    TCP 192.168.1.101:49473 Sardine-PC:49455 ESTABLISHED
    [FahCore_a1.exe]
    TCP 192.168.1.101:49474 Sardine-PC:49462 ESTABLISHED
    [FahCore_a1.exe]
    TCP 192.168.1.101:49475 Sardine-PC:49469 ESTABLISHED
    [FahCore_a1.exe]
    TCP 192.168.1.101:49504 Sardine-PC:49505 ESTABLISHED
    [smpd.exe]
    TCP 192.168.1.101:49505 Sardine-PC:49504 ESTABLISHED
    [mpiexec.exe]
    TCP 192.168.1.101:49512 Sardine-PC:49538 ESTABLISHED
    [smpd.exe]
    TCP 192.168.1.101:49519 Sardine-PC:49536 ESTABLISHED
    [smpd.exe]
    TCP 192.168.1.101:49526 Sardine-PC:49537 ESTABLISHED
    [smpd.exe]
    TCP 192.168.1.101:49533 Sardine-PC:49539 ESTABLISHED
    [smpd.exe]
    TCP 192.168.1.101:49536 Sardine-PC:49519 ESTABLISHED
    [FahCore_a1.exe]
    TCP 192.168.1.101:49537 Sardine-PC:49526 ESTABLISHED
    [FahCore_a1.exe]
    TCP 192.168.1.101:49538 Sardine-PC:49512 ESTABLISHED
    [FahCore_a1.exe]
    TCP 192.168.1.101:49539 Sardine-PC:49533 ESTABLISHED
    [FahCore_a1.exe]

    C:\Windows\system32>

    Why does SMPD open all these established connections?
    I have tested a download via NNTP 20 connections and get a constant 2.3mb/sec.
    one client and then it fluctuates slightlty from 1.8-2.3mb/sec
    Two clients and then all goes wrong with 600k - 1.2mb/sec
    the second I close the clients the speed improves and all those established connection dissapear and downloading speed returns to normal??
    could this be my router unable to cope with the open connections ??
    Linksys WRT54GS
     
  8. aircool

    aircool Don Aircooleone Staff Member

    Messages:
    13,750
    Likes Received:
    17
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX 560 Ti 448 Core
    Hm it 'could' be down to the way the older client uses the MPI software as it currently relies on the LAN setup in windows.

    Except im not sure why its affecting you so I'd say try the later cleint, but thats a bit lengthier for installing it.

    Do you still get the slow downs after the client gets underway?
     
  9. sardine

    sardine Active Member

    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Nvidia 680m GTX 4gb
    yes, thats whats strange as soon as I shutdown the clients speed improves.

    I've just upgraded my router firmware not many fixes since last edition...

    I'll do more testing before I giveup on 5.91SMP, I just want to know why SMPD requires all those established connections!!
     
  10. aircool

    aircool Don Aircooleone Staff Member

    Messages:
    13,750
    Likes Received:
    17
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX 560 Ti 448 Core
    Again its because the smp client is still a massive beta in reality - it uses the MPI service(something to do with the network perhaps) to communicate between different cores.
     

  11. sardine

    sardine Active Member

    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Nvidia 680m GTX 4gb
    my 2nd pc (slow amd dual core) also has SMP running.

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6000]
    Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Windows\system32>netstat -b

    Active Connections

    Proto Local Address Foreign Address State
    TCP 127.0.0.1:49737 Oem_User-PC:49738 ESTABLISHED
    [mpiexec.exe]
    TCP 127.0.0.1:49738 Oem_User-PC:49737 ESTABLISHED
    [mpiexec.exe]
    TCP 127.0.0.1:49743 Oem_User-PC:49744 ESTABLISHED
    [smpd.exe]
    TCP 127.0.0.1:49744 Oem_User-PC:49743 ESTABLISHED
    [smpd.exe]
    TCP 127.0.0.1:49745 Oem_User-PC:49746 ESTABLISHED
    [smpd.exe]
    TCP 127.0.0.1:49746 Oem_User-PC:49745 ESTABLISHED
    [smpd.exe]
    TCP 127.0.0.1:49747 Oem_User-PC:49748 ESTABLISHED
    [smpd.exe]
    TCP 127.0.0.1:49748 Oem_User-PC:49747 ESTABLISHED
    [smpd.exe]
    TCP 127.0.0.1:49750 Oem_User-PC:49751 ESTABLISHED
    [smpd.exe]
    TCP 127.0.0.1:49751 Oem_User-PC:49750 ESTABLISHED
    [smpd.exe]
    TCP 127.0.0.1:49752 Oem_User-PC:49753 ESTABLISHED
    [smpd.exe]
    TCP 127.0.0.1:49753 Oem_User-PC:49752 ESTABLISHED
    [smpd.exe]
    TCP 127.0.0.1:49754 Oem_User-PC:49755 ESTABLISHED
    [smpd.exe]
    TCP 127.0.0.1:49755 Oem_User-PC:49754 ESTABLISHED
    [smpd.exe]
    TCP 127.0.0.1:49757 Oem_User-PC:49758 ESTABLISHED
    [smpd.exe]
    TCP 127.0.0.1:49758 Oem_User-PC:49757 ESTABLISHED
    [smpd.exe]
    TCP 127.0.0.1:49759 Oem_User-PC:49760 ESTABLISHED
    [smpd.exe]
    TCP 127.0.0.1:49760 Oem_User-PC:49759 ESTABLISHED
    [smpd.exe]
    TCP 127.0.0.1:49761 Oem_User-PC:49762 ESTABLISHED
    [smpd.exe]
    TCP 127.0.0.1:49762 Oem_User-PC:49761 ESTABLISHED
    [smpd.exe]
    TCP 127.0.0.1:49766 Oem_User-PC:49767 ESTABLISHED
    [smpd.exe]
    TCP 127.0.0.1:49767 Oem_User-PC:49766 ESTABLISHED
    [smpd.exe]
    TCP 127.0.0.1:49768 Oem_User-PC:49769 ESTABLISHED
    [smpd.exe]
    TCP 127.0.0.1:49769 Oem_User-PC:49768 ESTABLISHED
    [smpd.exe]
    TCP 192.168.1.106:49741 Oem_User-PC:49742 ESTABLISHED
    [smpd.exe]
    TCP 192.168.1.106:49742 Oem_User-PC:49741 ESTABLISHED
    [mpiexec.exe]
    TCP 192.168.1.106:49749 Oem_User-PC:49773 ESTABLISHED
    [smpd.exe]
    TCP 192.168.1.106:49756 Oem_User-PC:49776 ESTABLISHED
    [smpd.exe]
    TCP 192.168.1.106:49763 Oem_User-PC:49775 ESTABLISHED
    [smpd.exe]
    TCP 192.168.1.106:49770 Oem_User-PC:49774 ESTABLISHED
    [smpd.exe]
    TCP 192.168.1.106:49773 Oem_User-PC:49749 ESTABLISHED
    [FahCore_a1.exe]
    TCP 192.168.1.106:49774 Oem_User-PC:49770 ESTABLISHED
    [FahCore_a1.exe]
    TCP 192.168.1.106:49775 Oem_User-PC:49763 ESTABLISHED
    [FahCore_a1.exe]
    TCP 192.168.1.106:49776 Oem_User-PC:49756 ESTABLISHED
    [FahCore_a1.exe]

    C:\Windows\system32>
     
  12. sardine

    sardine Active Member

    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Nvidia 680m GTX 4gb
    right... done some testing.

    FAH was on 64% I had left it for some hours..
    downloading a dvd via NNTP 20 connections at 11mbps
    the VERY second i press CTRL+C and shutdown the FAH my speed instantly up to 18.6mbps (max for my connection)

    So my PPD will drop as I will quit FAH while I use the pc rather than let it run in the background..

    It's just causing me to many headaches to bother trying to fix it..

    I think it has something to do with MAX open connections in Vista ?? as FAH opens about 30 per client..

    here is a small piece of my Newsbin log and all clears up and runs as normal the second I close FAH.

    05/22/2008 15:29:17 SERVER=Giganews, MSG=SendCommand - failed response: 430 no such article
    05/22/2008 15:29:13 PROTOCOL=Download Engine, SERVER=Giganews, MSG=DL_DI - Failed to retrieve Article from Server Giganews
    05/22/2008 15:29:13 SERVER=Giganews, MSG=SendCommand - failed response: 430 no such article
    05/22/2008 15:29:12 PROTOCOL=Download Engine, SERVER=Giganews, MSG=DL_DI - Failed to retrieve Article from Server Giganews
    05/22/2008 15:29:12 SERVER=Giganews, MSG=SendCommand - failed response: 430 no such article
    05/22/2008 15:29:11 SERVER=Giganews, MSG=SendCommand - failed response: 430 no such article
    05/22/2008 15:29:11 SERVER=Giganews, MSG=SendCommand - failed response: 430 no such article
     
    Last edited: May 22, 2008
  13. aircool

    aircool Don Aircooleone Staff Member

    Messages:
    13,750
    Likes Received:
    17
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX 560 Ti 448 Core
    Have you tried increasing the max open connections?
     
  14. AnthraxPants

    AnthraxPants Banned

    Messages:
    1,534
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    XFX 4890HD 1GB
    Check Event Viewer to see if you are hitting max open connections.

    There is an autopatcher for TCP at MegaUploads for Vista 32/64 here

    http://www.megaupload.com/?d=G9DZ2O72

    Just enter the letters in the box to commence download. May want to scan it as I haven't tested it.

    Set max TCP connections to something like 64, if you have connection issues maybe lower it a bit. 50 should be plenty for most situations.
     
    Last edited: May 23, 2008
  15. sardine

    sardine Active Member

    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Nvidia 680m GTX 4gb
    I tried that...

    it just stopped TCPIP on my pc lol.

    I reverted back to the original tcpip.sys and all is back working again.

    thanks anyway..
     

  16. aircool

    aircool Don Aircooleone Staff Member

    Messages:
    13,750
    Likes Received:
    17
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX 560 Ti 448 Core
    Yeah that just broke my install of vista.

    Back to xp for a bit.


    EDIT: fixed it.
     
    Last edited: May 24, 2008
  17. sardine

    sardine Active Member

    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Nvidia 680m GTX 4gb
    I've done some reading...

    Micro$oft has injected an update into several of thier normal updates labeld as security patches to disable the ablility to use unsigned drivers, hence the above tcpip fix will no longer work on x64.

    there was plans to include this stealth patching in SP1 for both x64 and x86 versions also.
    Hence why "bcdedit.exe -set loadoptions DDISABLE_INTEGRITY_CHECKS" no longer works.
     

Share This Page