Horizon pc in 2020?

Discussion in 'Games, Gaming & Game-demos' started by Stone Gargoyle, Dec 4, 2019.

  1. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,937
    Likes Received:
    2,652
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
  2. hditano

    hditano Active Member

    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    2070 Super OC
    So far i didn't have any major problems.
    I run ISS on the background and that's it.
    Installed on a HDD WD Black Caviar (SSD out of space :( )

    [​IMG]

    Everything on Ultra.. Motion Blur OFF
     
    AsiJu likes this.
  3. Amaze

    Amaze Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,965
    Likes Received:
    1,109
    GPU:
    1070ti 2126/4350
    Man this game really loves eating up VRAM. Yet somehow it still manages to not load some textures in time during camera cuts.
    Also the shader compiling filled up my RAM to 98%. Had to restart the game to clear it out.
     
  4. Undying

    Undying Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,819
    Likes Received:
    3,058
    GPU:
    Aorus RX580 XTR 8GB
    32gb ram and 8gb vram is becoming a norm. Also, install the game ssd not hdd if you dont want texture popin.
     

  5. Amaze

    Amaze Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,965
    Likes Received:
    1,109
    GPU:
    1070ti 2126/4350
    Hdd? Is this 2012? :D

    But seriously this must be an issue with the engine. There's no way it's actually using that VRAM efficiently. It's using 7,5GB for me. If it wasn't enough why is it not being filled? I think it's a similar issue to Rise of the Tomb Raider. It just reserves plenty for the hell of it.

    32GB RAM is far off from the norm btw.
     
  6. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,818
    Likes Received:
    6,755
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super
    All cores either SMT or not. When SMT is turned on there are two logical cores per one physical core - and both logical cores are equal. It is not like one logical core is a primary one and another logical core is a (secondary) SMT one.

    So do you mean that game (OS actually) loads only one logical core on every physical one?
     
  7. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,937
    Likes Received:
    2,652
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    applications can prefer the first thread of a SMT core quite easily, its better this way because you're not delaying execution of thread C0T0 to finish a task in thread C0T1

    https://en.wikichip.org/wiki/amd/microarchitectures/zen#Simultaneous_MultiThreading_.28SMT.29
     
  8. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,818
    Likes Received:
    6,755
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super
  9. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,937
    Likes Received:
    2,652
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    They each have duplicated and shared stages so yes, but generally the preference is to favour C#T0's, since C0T0 is already usually awake and being used by the process for anything it is asking of drivers in the system.
     
  10. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,818
    Likes Received:
    6,755
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super
    Last edited: Aug 8, 2020

  11. AsiJu

    AsiJu Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,632
    Likes Received:
    1,703
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2070 Armor
    79 fps avg. at 1440p w/ Ultra is pretty good I think with 2070 Super.

    Gives me hope I can get 80 ... 90 at 1080p with my 2070 and I'll drop to High if needed.

    Btw seems you're running 442.59 driver.
    I wonder if pre GRD drivers actually run the game better...
     
  12. anxious_f0x

    anxious_f0x Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,678
    Likes Received:
    381
    GPU:
    RTX 2080Ti SLi
    It does certainly like a lot of threads.

    task mngr.jpg
     
    XenthorX likes this.
  13. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,937
    Likes Received:
    2,652
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    except reality dictates otherwise.
     
  14. Undying

    Undying Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,819
    Likes Received:
    3,058
    GPU:
    Aorus RX580 XTR 8GB
    Someone mentioned its scalable up to 16 threads. We'll see more and more of this next gen.
     
  15. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,818
    Likes Received:
    6,755
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super
    What exactly reality dictates?

    What is the purpose of several logical cores if only one of them is used?
    Majority of apps do not toy with CPU affinity.
    OS can have policies (power plan settings for example) to idle as many cores as possible - to save power. But even then all the cores are identical form OS point of view, so it makes no difference which one logical cores are used and which one are idle.

    PS Also do you assume that gamers play with OS power saving settings in place?
     
    Last edited: Aug 8, 2020

  16. AsiJu

    AsiJu Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,632
    Likes Received:
    1,703
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2070 Armor
    As we bloody well should!
     
    Undying likes this.
  17. Amaze

    Amaze Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,965
    Likes Received:
    1,109
    GPU:
    1070ti 2126/4350
     
    AsiJu and anxious_f0x like this.
  18. Anarion

    Anarion Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,652
    Likes Received:
    390
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1070
    I'd say it runs worse than what it should based on visuals. Maxed out with 16x AF forced from driver. To be honest, it doesn't look that bad since I do have adaptive sync monitor. Random stutters are annoying though.
    1151640_20200808174758_1.jpg
    Hah, used Finnish texts just to witness this rarity in action. Then I read "... korjata murtuneita koneita" in one loading screen and switched back to English. :p

    1080p, same settings. Also I always use "high quality" texture filtering from NVIDIA CP.
    1151640_20200808182327_1.jpg
     
    Last edited: Aug 8, 2020
    AsiJu likes this.
  19. Amaze

    Amaze Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,965
    Likes Received:
    1,109
    GPU:
    1070ti 2126/4350
  20. Amaze

    Amaze Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,965
    Likes Received:
    1,109
    GPU:
    1070ti 2126/4350
    I just filed a refund request. Could not get the game to run via remote play. This is the first game I can recall that has refused to run and it's also the first refund I've requested.
     

Share This Page