Highest Q6600 overclock? stable

Discussion in 'Die-hard Overclocking & Case Modifications' started by Omagana, Jul 30, 2009.

  1. Omagana

    Omagana Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,532
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    RTX 2070 Super
    Hey guys,

    NOT asking how to overclock.

    I want to know what kind of speeds the Q6600 can reach and stay stable, atm mines running 3.5GHz.

    If you have a 3.6+ clock on your Q6600, please share your specs :)

    P.S I'm well aware that all chips are different.
     
    Last edited: Jul 30, 2009
  2. kangpc

    kangpc Active Member

    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX275
    I'm curious to this as well. I'm not at 3.6 though... i'm stable at 3.3 with a decent air setup.
     
  3. sidewinder7

    sidewinder7 Active Member

    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire 4850 512 mb
    I was at 3.6(1.46V) stable all winter. Right now I'm at 3.33 with 1.35V.
     
  4. Qix2140

    Qix2140 Master Guru

    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    RX 480 8b
    Im running 3.6 on air at 1.41 volts 400x9.0 memory at 1066 100% stable max temps 70oc.

    My board is p5q pro.

    my VID is 1.3125

    The Q6600 is an amazing processor. The limits will come from your cooling,board or ram. i have seen people getting it to 4ghz. If you could find one with a vid of 1.2 - 1.25 i have no doubt you could get it to 3.8 - 4ghz
     

  5. DSK

    DSK Banned

    Messages:
    17,917
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    HD5770/BenQ G2220HD
    Damn Q6700 don't count lol
     
  6. Omagana

    Omagana Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,532
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    RTX 2070 Super
    See I've switched to water cooling, currently have my cpu hooked up to a 360 rad. So OBVIOUSLY I can take it higher than 3.5GHz now.

    Just wondering how high, roughly.
     
  7. paradox

    paradox Master Guru

    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Club3d GTX 470 on HDTV
    can I get some help on overclocking Q6600 coz for some reason I cant seem to get past 2.9 MHz . if I try 3 MHz windows wont load.

    Stock settings are:

    FSB - 1066 MHz
    Multiplier - x9
    FSB Memory ratio - 3:2

    The mobo support's 1333 MHz FSB rating but as sayd windows wont load when it is selected.

    So far I managed to oc it to:

    FSB - 1280 MHz
    Multiplier - x9
    FSB Memory ratio - 5:4 (Auto/1:1/5:4/3:2/Sync Mode)

    this setting works stable for me.

    I also disabled SpeedStep & Enhanced C1E. As for voltage I didnt play with it mutch becouse I dont understand this part a lot. But under the FSB setting's in bios I have 3 lines witch refer to voltage's :

    1.8 VDual Over Voltage Controll
    1.35 V Over Voltage Controll
    VCore Over Voltage Controll

    if there is something I could try plz help. TY :)
     
    Last edited: Jul 30, 2009
  8. DSK

    DSK Banned

    Messages:
    17,917
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    HD5770/BenQ G2220HD
    ASUS P5N73-AM = Nvidia 610i = No overclocking for you.
     
  9. paradox

    paradox Master Guru

    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Club3d GTX 470 on HDTV
    you mean no higher clock settings that I have managed to set it to ))) coz basicly I managed to overclock if even just a lil bit.
     
  10. kangpc

    kangpc Active Member

    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX275
    is it stable under regular windows programs or did you run IBT or any stress tests?
     

  11. OCmachine

    OCmachine Member

    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX Ultra OC @ 660/2300MHz
    3.7 Ghz here. Limited by my RAM, cant get it stable past 411mhz.
    12 hr Prime95 stable (I stopped after that)
    Specs on the left
     
  12. paradox

    paradox Master Guru

    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Club3d GTX 470 on HDTV
    works very stable at 2.9 mhz with windows programs and playing games like crysis: warhead & nfs undercover.

    can anyone tell me about the voltages.I mean how to set them, acording to what and that sort of stuff.
     
  13. Omagana

    Omagana Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,532
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    RTX 2070 Super
    Lol hijack my thread why don't you...

    Very nice OCmachine

    Any advances on 3.7GHz stable?
     
  14. SickBoy254698

    SickBoy254698 Master Guru

    Messages:
    662
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ASUS GTX 780 OC
    Extreme Systems has a database listing there forum members stable clocks. Unfortunately there forums are currently down so I will post the link when there site is back up. If I recall correctly the list is fairly extensive with some OC's stable at over 4.0Ghz. Like I said though, I'll post the link for your viewing pleasure when the site is back online.
     
  15. Forbiden

    Forbiden Master Guru

    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    8800GTS @ 810/1900/2200
    Been at 3.87 (430x9) for 2 years now and just haven't taken the time to see if I can go further, even though I probably can (made 3.87 fairly easily).
     

  16. Omagana

    Omagana Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,532
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    RTX 2070 Super
    Thanks sickboy,

    and thats impressive on air forbiden
     
  17. GoldenDrako

    GoldenDrako Member Guru

    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA 460 sli 768mb 840mhz
    hey all..well all my stats are to the left...have been running my q6600 at 3.6 since i have had it and is very stable @ 1.38v for cpu!! and my gtx 216 is in the same loop!:banana:
     
  18. GoldenDrako

    GoldenDrako Member Guru

    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA 460 sli 768mb 840mhz
    mmm...what is the max temp for the q6600...i may go higher as well?
     
  19. GoldenDrako

    GoldenDrako Member Guru

    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA 460 sli 768mb 840mhz
    max temps..as I have a 780i...must i also increase the fsb to reach it?...
    is that the only way?
     
  20. kangpc

    kangpc Active Member

    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX275
    Hey i'm at 3.3 at 1.35v atm, but my temps have started to go kinda wacky... big difference between cores 0,1 & 2,3.

    [​IMG]

    Think I need to re attach my cpu fan or what? Anyone else have this big of a disparity?
     

Share This Page