Help with 3D modeling build. New to building a PC

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by johnrolfson, Nov 11, 2014.

1. johnrolfson

johnrolfson Guest

GPU:
    nvidia Geforce
    Hey guys, I'm trying to build a PC for the first time and Im brand new to all this so theres a few things i had some questions about if anyone out there can help me out. My intention for the computer will be to run Rhinoceros 3D in unison with Grasshopper, as well as rendering software (not sure which one yet, probably Flamingo or Brazil to start, vray or mental ray in time). All these are available in a bundle on the Rhino website so I assume they are all done by the same company. I have done some research and here is the build i came up with. My question lies in the Video Card. It seems i opened a can of worms looking into this one and all i have managed to do from reading threads and posts is confuse myself. Some people say Quadro is the way to go and some say i can get by on a Geforce GTX. Will either one of these work for what i am trying to do? Is there a noticeable difference between the two? my fear is that i spend all this money on a new powerful PC and it does not perform the way i would like because Im a noob at building computers. Any advice or suggestions would be greatly appreciated, Im still learning. Thanks!!

**CPU** | [Intel Core i7-4790K 4.0GHz Quad-Core Processor]
    **CPU Cooler** | [Corsair H100i 77.0 CFM Liquid CPU Cooler]
    **Motherboard** | [Asus MAXIMUS VII HERO ATX LGA1150 Motherboard]
    **Memory** | [Avexir Core series 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR3-1600 Memory]
    **Storage** | [Crucial MX100 256GB 2.5" Solid State Drive]
    **Storage** | [Seagate Barracuda 3TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive]
    **Video Card** | [EVGA GeForce GTX 970 4GB Superclocked ACX 2.0 Video
    **Case** | [Phanteks Enthoo Luxe ATX Full Tower Case]
    **Power Supply** | [Corsair CX 600W 80+ Bronze Certified Semi-Modular ATX Power Supply]