Help Please..DPC ISSUES since new GFX card

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by BetA, Jul 31, 2010.

  1. BetA

    BetA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,368
    Likes Received:
    306
    GPU:
    G1-GTX980@1400Mhz
    hy there..

    i have a huge Problem, cant listen to music, cant play games well..or watch videos...

    since i have my new GFX Card i have very high DPC spikes,,
    i never had this before.,..

    i tried disabling everything step by step in the Hardware manager..
    from creative X-fi, to usb. to nvidia HD Audio..(what i dont use.)

    im very confused right now. and do not know what else i can do...here are some pics:

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    and i found out that i cant deinstall Nvidia HD Audio, no matter what i try, its always instaling back when reboot , windows is doing it by itself..i allready delletet everything relatet to this.i tried reinstalling the GFX drivers 3 times now..with driver sweeper, etc etc...

    could it be that it has to do with the downclocking of the GFX? 2d-3d mode..? i allready tried but no success...

    and i dont find another driver to test that is supossed to be for the GTX460...

    im on the newest Nvidia whql drivers..
    and my setup is in my signature..

    PLEASE HELP...

    greetz Beta:wanker:


    funny thing is, while watching video with MPC HC, the spikes are gone..lol...so im pretty very shure its downclocking or something with NVIDIA...while watching video the gpu shader etc stays at @ the same speed..as soonest the videoo player is off it starts again...
     
    Last edited: Jul 31, 2010
  2. BetA

    BetA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,368
    Likes Received:
    306
    GPU:
    G1-GTX980@1400Mhz
    ok i made a trace....or what its called, but im a noob in this..lol..
    you can see nvidia is causing something there and the UNKNOWN thingy what i believe is Nvidia too..
    heres a big Pic..hope thats not a problem..please dont delete it..its just so big so i can put everything in one screen ..löl..
    and also i put the trace TXT result at the end of the Post..if someone is here that knows how to read this..PLEASE HELP MEEEEEE::::

    [​IMG]

    i would be very thankfull if someone knows whats going on here..
    and if it is nvidia i will write them and tell them that they need to fix this ...
    greetz Beta
     
  3. ShadowMyth

    ShadowMyth Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,490
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GByte GTX 980 G1 Windforc
    WOW! Man that's bad, the worse I've seen..... Have you tried uninstalling the driver, boot into safe mode, used driver sweeper, booted back into safe mode, & reinstalled the driver? The last time I had issues like that, it was due to a loose Sata cable. The Sata ports tend to get covered by the GPU & in my case somehow the cables worked themselves loose.
     
    Last edited: Jul 31, 2010
  4. BetA

    BetA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,368
    Likes Received:
    306
    GPU:
    G1-GTX980@1400Mhz
    jup, i did that about 5 times now...lol...
    im pretty shure about that that it is 2d, 3d mode switching...
    im pretty lost here right now and could cry:( i really need Help..argh..
     

  5. ShadowMyth

    ShadowMyth Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,490
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GByte GTX 980 G1 Windforc
    Well that's what it sounds like but I've never seen a module named unknown. That strikes me as very odd. You need to rule out simple things like loose cables, hard drive issues, reinstall old GPU or use an integrated GPU to see if the problem goes away once the new GPU is removed. Also make sure Windows Power Options is set to High performance.
     
    Last edited: Jul 31, 2010
  6. BetA

    BetA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,368
    Likes Received:
    306
    GPU:
    G1-GTX980@1400Mhz
    no loose cables here..
    Windows performance mode is at High..always was..
    and with the Old GPU it was working great, no spikes or whatever..
    the old card was an 9800gtx and had no 2d-3d clocks..only full power..so no downclock or something like this...
    since i have the new GTX460 installed its like that. no matter what i try.

    the first thing that made my think that there is something wrong where the bad spikes in the final fantasy benchmark, after that i made the dpc spike test, and tried to rule out everything time after time..
    network controller....deaktivatet...still spikes.
    Creative sound.... " ... still spikes..
    i ran down the whole list..no luck..
    i cant deaktivate the Nvidia card cause i wouldnt see anything then lol..but im very shure its Nvidia causing this..
    9800gtx in there and the spikes are gone...

    man, i was full of joy when i had the new GTX460 in my hands, but now im just angry...
     
  7. ShadowMyth

    ShadowMyth Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,490
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GByte GTX 980 G1 Windforc
    I know exactly how you feel. Do you have Daemon Tools installed? That may account for the "unknown". What brand & model of GTX 460 did you get? Would a format & fresh install of Windows ruin your day?
     
  8. BetA

    BetA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,368
    Likes Received:
    306
    GPU:
    G1-GTX980@1400Mhz
    jup, i have deamon tools installed. but i think its deaktivatet..
    its an gigabyte GTX 460 OC 1gb...
    and, hmm, i have so much on my PC..im not shure if i can make it new right now..or want..
    that would be an big pain in the ass...
    but still isnt the nvlddmkm.sys very high ?
    i mean its obvios that this is it whats causing this is it?

    and to be trhu, i bett if i reinstall a clean windows its still there i guess..but im unshure..

    what about steam? when i do a new install is steam and all games gone?
    i only have about 6 gb left for backups..lol..

    *cry*

    the only good thing is that windows has it own harddrive..hehe..so i dont need to format every drive...

    edit just looked...deamon tools is deaktivatet completly..so i have no clue what unknown is
     
  9. BetA

    BetA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,368
    Likes Received:
    306
    GPU:
    G1-GTX980@1400Mhz
    ha ..
    unknown is d3doverider i have it as standalone..but this is not cuasing the spikes i allready chekked..
    also blackglassenhanced is unknown..but this one is not causing the spikes too..
    i just run hijackthis..thats where i saw it..
    but the results where ok, no bad things in there:(

    but the strangest thing is, when i look video with mpc hc. the spikes are totaly gone..lol..
     
    Last edited: Jul 31, 2010
  10. ShadowMyth

    ShadowMyth Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,490
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GByte GTX 980 G1 Windforc
    Yes nvlddmkm.sys is really high but if you ever watched the show House , lol, you try to diagnose the best outcome first because if & when it gets narrowed down you may not like the answer. I'd most definitely try an older driver to see if it helps & try to update the chipset drivers as well. Turn off Aero & see if it drops the latency, something is accessing the driver.
     
    Last edited: Jul 31, 2010

  11. BetA

    BetA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,368
    Likes Received:
    306
    GPU:
    G1-GTX980@1400Mhz
    i wanted to try an older driver.but wich one is for gtx460...?
    every driver i read, it says gtx480, gtx470, gtx465 but no gtx 460..i gueass the new one is the only one..lol..

    i did a few more traces..everytime the nvidia thingy is very very high..and the only one..the rest is acceptable...

    chipset drivers are up to date...Intel does good updates..hehe..

    so what am i supposed to do now?
    how can i be shure that it is Nvidias fault..?
    how can i prove this that i can scream at them..lol..

    do you know an different driver for the gtx460?

    greetz Beta
     
  12. ShadowMyth

    ShadowMyth Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,490
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GByte GTX 980 G1 Windforc
    Well you can't prove anything until you rule everything else out. As far as drivers just go back through each set of drivers posted here on Guru3D & test them, see if it makes a difference. I really can't help more than that since I don't get my GTX 470 until next week. When in doubt format & reinstall Windows or call up Gigabyte & request an RMA. I personally methodically go through & test all possible solutions before doing either.
     
  13. BetA

    BetA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,368
    Likes Received:
    306
    GPU:
    G1-GTX980@1400Mhz
    hmm, ok...

    heres the thing i just found out..

    i opened afterburner to monitor clock speeds etc..and the dpc tool...
    then i openend up MPC HC and run a movie..stopped it, and runn it again..
    clearly u can see on the pic what i mean..while the gpu was on half 3d mode (450 gpu or so. the spikes where gone..as soonest i pushed STOP in the player, the gpu went down to 2d mode and the spikes where back..
    Red lines Color is no spike 3d half mode, Video was on play..
    Blue lines color is when player is stopped and the gpu in 2d mode..
    [​IMG]

    its pretty stunning isnt it?
    i belive the while the drivers are in 2d mode and monitoring wherever 3d mode or whatever is needed it is doing these spikes..

    im gonna try different driver now, and do the same experiment again..

    greetz BEta
     
  14. ShadowMyth

    ShadowMyth Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,490
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GByte GTX 980 G1 Windforc
  15. BetA

    BetA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,368
    Likes Received:
    306
    GPU:
    G1-GTX980@1400Mhz
    how do i totaly disable Nvidia power savings on the GPU?
    cause when i set in the Control panel its not really off..

    anyway. gonna try to find a driver now..
    and if this all doesnt help i reinstall windows, clean..
     

  16. Vood007

    Vood007 Master Guru

    Messages:
    783
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Too
    Tried resetting your BIOS / Clear CMos? And turn off all overclocking while hunting such bugs...
     
  17. BetA

    BetA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,368
    Likes Received:
    306
    GPU:
    G1-GTX980@1400Mhz
    ha, installed new windows..

    and guess what?

    still this ****ing Problem !!!!!

    its the power savings from nvidia thats causing this 100000% shure...pics and numbers cant lie!!

    here are few pics with and without the nvidia drivers...!!!!
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Nvidia Drivers not installed!!:
    [​IMG]

    Nvidia Drivers Installed!!:
    [​IMG]

    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Test 2:

    in 3d Power mode while kombuster running:

    nvlddmkm.sys
    554760 0.31 551979 0.31 498322 0.28 475250 *0.26* - latency

    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Idle, nothing running, still high power mode enabled in NCP:

    nvlddmkm.sys
    971376 0.88 867772 0.79 904130 0.82 905694 *0.82*-Latency

    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    You can CLEARLY see whats happening there..
    Nvidia has an serious issue there with Fermi Cards Only i guess...

    This needs to be Fixed..i made my whole system new for NOTHING...*veryAngryIam*

    This is Worth for FrontPage News i guess...

    Greetz Beta


    edit...i tried every driver i could find for the gtx 460 series....i chekked every driver if its up to date..ruled everything out that is there..
    even played with my bios..
    i even wanted to try Nibitor, but what a shame, no new version out that supports gtx460..
    This Problem also causes some crashes on games(dirt2) when i wanted to go to the game menue from an race..cause the card clocked down to light 3d mode.
    i worked around these crashes with afterburner, making own Profiles..but still, this is not an Resolution..Serious, and they call this WHQL Drivers...

    Over and Out ;)

    [​IMG] ;)
     
    Last edited: Jul 31, 2010
  18. ShadowMyth

    ShadowMyth Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,490
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GByte GTX 980 G1 Windforc
    Start a new thread with a poll asking Fermi users if they are having this issue. If they don't RMA the card.
     
  19. BetA

    BetA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,368
    Likes Received:
    306
    GPU:
    G1-GTX980@1400Mhz
    ok, ill doing it right now !!!!

    greetz Beta
     
  20. IcE

    IcE Don Snow Staff Member

    Messages:
    10,692
    Likes Received:
    73
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX 1070 Mini
    What the hell is DPC latency?
     

Share This Page