Help Overclocking Ryzen 1600AF

Discussion in 'Processors and motherboards AMD' started by Aforizm91, Mar 13, 2021.

1. Aforizm91

Aforizm91 New Member

GPU:
    GTX 760
    Hello Everyone, i need help from the experts with my chip, because i feel i'm doing something wrong.

First and foremost, i always used Intel and my last CPU was a i7 870 which i used for quite sometime on 3.9Ghz using a NZXT Havik 140, so this is my first time owning a AMD platform.

Currently, i'm using a ASUS B550-A Motherboard, 2x8GB 3200Mhz CL16 XPG memory sticks, EVGA CLC 280 Water Cooler and a XPG 750W Core Reactor PSU.

I tried through Ryzen Master, BIOS (following some tutorials on Youtube) and increased my cpu multiplier to 40, and tried to set a stable Voltage to my CPU, which i failed miserably to obtain a stable 4GHz even with 1.4V, meanwhile i can get a pretty stable 3.9Ghz on 1.33V. Isn't that jump on Voltage a bit too much?

I've seen lots of people achieving a stable overclock of 4GHz or more on a Ryzen 1600AF with, let's say, 1,375V or less, but mine can't get stable over 4Ghz, am i missing something? Do i have to mess around some other VRM configs? Change Load line calibration or something?
    Or perhaps i just got a very unlucky and got a chip that doesn't really like OC too much?

2. jbscotchman

jbscotchman Ancient Guru

GPU:
    MSI 1660 Ti Ventus
    That voltage does seem kinda high for 3.9ghz, but of course every chip is different. Mine is stable at 4.0ghz with 1.265V, but if I raise the mulitplier any higher it will crash when running benchmarks even if I raise the voltage to 1.4V. I personally haven't tried messing with Ram timings or anything more detailed other than what you've done in the bios, and you really shouldn't have to with this chip. That could just be it's limit.

3. Mannerheim

Mannerheim Ancient Guru

GPU:
    Powercolor RX6600XT
    you wont see any difference between 3.8 and 4.0. exept heat :)

Aforizm91 and Passus like this.
  4. Passus