1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help on Updating BIOS...

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Wry, Jun 29, 2007.

1. Wry

Wry Member

GPU:
    Saphire 1900xt 256
    My motherboard model is p4m890T-M2, I want to update the bios but the problem is I've never done it before. I'm guessing that If I screw it up im done with that mobo for good?

How exactly can I update it(Is it even possible with no floppy drive?) and is it difficult? Thanks in advanced

2. Solinari

Solinari Ancient Guru

GPU:
    MSI N560GTX-Ti Twin Frozr
    It should be possible without a floppy drive. Some can be flashed from Windows. What make it your motherboard, i'm guessing here but is it an ESC board?

If so then you should be able to flash the BIOS from Windows using AFUWIN Flash Utility, there is also a DOS version but you'll need to make a bootable CD for that and i am unsure how you would go about it.

You can find a new BIOS on the ECS website. Of course if it isn't an ECS motherboard then you will have to go to the motherboard manufacturers website. You may still be able to use the AFUWIN Utility as long as it's an AMI BIOS which it probably will be with that chipset.

3. Wry

Wry Member

GPU:
    Saphire 1900xt 256
    Last edited: Jun 29, 2007
  4. Solinari

Solinari Ancient Guru

GPU:
    I don't know about other flash utilities, i had a look on AMI's website to see if there was a flash utility for Vista, but it seems there is only one there. Never the less have a look your self and see if you can find it, i find AMI's website difficult to use. If you can only find one, try that anyway.