Help! New junky gfx card trouble!

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon' started by baggy288, May 7, 2005.

1. baggy288

baggy288 Guest

Hiya all, I've been jogging with my ole' Geforce 4 mmx 440 for 2 years now and I've had it.. But due to a poor economical situation, I was only able to afford something silghtly better - ATI Radeon 9550 - which is 128 MB instead of 64MB and is supposed to be a bit stronger than my old one.. Thing is - when I tried patching up the gfx card on my comp - it leads to total computer crash in about 30 seconds after rebooting.. I spent most of today rebooting over and over again trying to figure out a way to solve the problem! This gfx card is supposed to be at least as good as my old one - because it's of a much more updated make, even though it's not an A-class gfx card, it's still something a lot newer and with more memory than my old g4.. So I doubt it it's something that has to do with the card, I think I'm doing something incredibly wrong out here - I put the card in the AGP slot and immediately installed the drivers from the attached drivers' cd I got with the card, after installing them I ran into horrible computer failures almost instantaneously .. I tried using a clean-up remover (something called driver cleanup pro ) to get rid of the older nvidia drivers.. Also tried the classic "control panel" method of getting rid of those drivers.. I got 512MB of RAM so I doubt it's me running out of memory, plus - it doesn't happen when I use the old g4, actually.. I tried reinstalling the drivers directly from the driver files and not through the cd-setup and I even tried finding the drivers from ati.com and xpertvision.com.tw but for some reason the drivers' download is a broken link!

Please guys! this card cost me (if not as expensive as it should have been) a pretty pence and I really want to make it work,

can anyone please oh please help me?

Bags.

2. Skotos187

Skotos187 Guest

make sure onboard is disabled