Heat vs. performance

Discussion in 'Die-hard Overclocking & Case Modifications' started by lagrafx, Aug 21, 2003.

1. lagrafx

lagrafx Member

GPU:
    GeForce FX 5200
    I'm new to overclocking.

If my core cpu temp gets up to 65 or 70C...

1. have i damaged my chip?

2. should i expect an actual SLOWDOWN in performance as temp goes up?

i have an Athlon XP 2600+, trying to run it at 13.5x 166mhz bus, 1.85v.

i have the stock fan, any suggestions would be appreciated.

does a 10 degree drop in temp really help performance?

2. WildStyle

WildStyle Ancient Guru

GPU:
    MSI GTX 970
    65 or 70c wont damage the chip but its running too hot for everyday use, buy a new hs and f to replace the stock ones. as for your other questions, i dont know the answer as i dont overclock anything apart from gfx card, YET!

3. THunDA

THunDA Ancient Guru

GPU:
    Powercolor x1900xtx 675/783
    is 65 or 70 load temps? ( doin something stressfull or bench marking) either way its too hot..but if those are when your computer is at Idle then when its got a Load on it :O its gona be way too hot..

1: I dont think you damaged it(is your computer booting? :) ) but you should look into a new Heatsink and fan if your OC'n things for sure.

2: I would think yes cuz when it gets hotter, its getting closer to instability ..but I dont know if it would be a slow down..

becarefull also running 1.85v on vcore isnt a good thing with a STOCK heatsink..

THunDA

4. lagrafx

lagrafx Member

GPU:
    GeForce FX 5200
    ok, i'm gonna try what i've found out is the usual first course...drop multiplier to 11 or so and up the fsb to 200mhz and up the multiplier from there.

now if i do this....do i need to up the vcore from the default 1.65 or do i need to bump up the v. to the memory only?

i'm running one PC3200 512mb 400mhz chip

5. THunDA

THunDA Ancient Guru

GPU: