HDMI 2.1 Unlimited.

Discussion in 'Computer Monitor Forum' started by Knakajima, Feb 14, 2024.

1. Knakajima

Knakajima New Member

GPU:
    RTX4080 Laptop GPU
    I've just joined after finding out that my HDMI 42-inch monitor is crippled. I am still determining what the company gains from it, but it says something about how it reduces motion artifacts. I want to learn (newbie here) which monitor currently on the market that isn't $3,000 (none of HDR10 support only stuff) that has yet to be clipped and fully utilizes my RTX4080's HDMI 2.1 port. I am also keen on experiencing real HDR; so far, the only HDR that look good was when I saw a YouTube video on Google Chrome, chromium, or Edge. If I download and playback it on MPV, it looks white-washed or worse than an SDR download watched on the same monitor in SDR mode.
    My main question is if you could point out some model that isn't crippled. I heard that the LG C2 48-inch is good and That's the one to buy. However, I noticed a C3 48-inch has WebOS that wants to connect to the internet. The unit appears to have preinstalled all sorts of nasty things and looks like Amazon Firetv. I feel turned off. I want a big beautiful monitor that does HDR, not an entertainment center, as I do not watch TV or shows. I have no streaming service account.
    I am new, so any information about a unit would greatly help. And I thank you in advance.
    (I am sorry for a newbie asking a nonsense question. I have to know!).

2. tunejunky

tunejunky Ancient Guru

GPU:
    7900xtx/7900xt
    LG's C2 is solid. there is nothing even remotely close in price anywhere close in quality. the same panel can be found on Gigabyte Aorus' F048u, potentially for even less - plus it has a KVM switch, minus it has no hdtv tuner.
    the C3 is actually a smidge better but as you don't stream and you don't like WebOS (3.0) that's a pass.