HD5850 Owners Thread

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon' started by DSK, Oct 8, 2009.

  1. foxgenco

    foxgenco Member

    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    Nvidia 1080 ti
    here gigabyte HD5850 1GB DDR5 $359.35US very expensive, or what...
    or wait 5 weeks for get this? haha...
     
  2. Nano2k

    Nano2k Active Member

    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    RTX2080TI
    Which drivers are you guys using to get Afterburner to work properly? I am using latest 9.10 and only the fanspeed works, not even the clocks so let alone the voltage^^
     
  3. Pill Monster

    Pill Monster Banned

    Messages:
    25,214
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    7950 Vapor-X 1100/1500
    Didn't you just buy a 4870 like 3 weeks ago?
     
  4. sTOrM41

    sTOrM41 Master Guru

    Messages:
    504
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    GTX 970 @ 1500 MHz
    so i got my card yesterday^^


    PowerColor HD5850 1GB incl Dirt2

    [​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]
    [​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]


    Benchmarks

    Q6600@3,34Ghz
    Windows 7

    HD4870 512MB @800/1000
    Crysis Very High DX10 1920*1080 , 4*AA
    [​IMG]
    AVG 23,80fps

    HD5850 1024MB @820/1200
    [​IMG]
    AVG 39,04fps

    so we have an fps increase by around 64%.
     
    Last edited: Oct 10, 2009

  5. Vipeax

    Vipeax New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Club3D 5850 (1024MB)
    I think you can set the clocks to 775 with it on the core, try it (before using anything like the AMD GPU Clock Tool).
     
  6. The Fallen

    The Fallen Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,183
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    R9 290 4GB
    Great results, I'm also upgrading from a 4870 512MB to a 5850 1GB :)
     
  7. georaldc

    georaldc Master Guru

    Messages:
    668
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI 6970
    Why do you have a much higher average and max fps than the thread starter? Unless 64bit adds that much to the overall performance coz I don't see a lick of difference when running between 32 and 64 lol
     
  8. Im2bad

    Im2bad Master Guru

    Messages:
    791
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    3080 Gaming X Trio
    Those are some damn impressive scores, and not to mention sTOrM41's scores, which were quite nice considering the processor, when they say even an i7 bottlenecks the high-end 5000 series.

    I'm starting to get this certain itch, it tells me to buy a HD5850 as soon as possible.
     
  9. sTOrM41

    sTOrM41 Master Guru

    Messages:
    504
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    GTX 970 @ 1500 MHz
  10. Jack Hair

    Jack Hair Active Member

    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HIS 7970 @ 1200/1562
    My Club3D HD5850 arrived this morning. I've been playing some games on stock to check performance and ran into trouble with Arma, GTA4 and AA3 run fantastic. The screen is all messed up with Arma and when i try to get to the settings it crashes without message. This also happens after deleting/editing the .cfg file. I'm guessing it's a driver problem? anyone else tested the card with Arma yet?
    I'll go try some OCing next.

    Edit:
    What tools do you guys use for ocing? MSI AB doesn't let me go past 775 core 1125 ram... (got alot to learn I guess since this is my 1st card that doesn't come from nVidia)
     
    Last edited: Oct 10, 2009

  11. 8IronBob

    8IronBob Master Guru

    Messages:
    464
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 980 4GB SC
    After much deliberation between going with this model or the bigger brother, I decided to pull the trigger on the Sapphire 5850 from Newegg, which surprisingly was in stock, and I never thought it would. Consider myself lucky, I guess. Should be expecting it either Monday or Tuesday, if overnighting it today would make any difference. I'm not so sure what Sapphire's policy is on overclocking, but I'm certain that if I can get it to reach the same performance levels as the 5870 which most reviews claim it can do, I'll be honored to try anything.

    I also reflected my profile to match this for now, until the card does arrive. Even tho I currently have a 9800GTX+, I am pending the HD5850 for now. Also, I noticed that the X-Fi soundcards won't work under Win 7 according to the upgrade advisor, but I hear that the HD5xxx series already has integrated audio into the card, just so long as you use HDMI, so that may be a good tradeoff, hopefully.
     
    Last edited: Oct 10, 2009
  12. DSK

    DSK Banned

    Messages:
    17,917
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    HD5770/BenQ G2220HD
    Yeah i bought two HD 4890s both doa :bang:

    Ahh i think i know why it says i have a custom config so maybe i still have a mod installed i dunno will need to do a fresh install off crysis when i get some time.
     
    Last edited: Oct 10, 2009
  13. Jack Hair

    Jack Hair Active Member

    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HIS 7970 @ 1200/1562
    I found another tool already: AMD GPU clock tool which gets me higher clocks. For a 1st quick OC session it's not bad.

    [​IMG]
     
  14. glenboy

    glenboy Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,184
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2 x 5850's for now
    5850 overvolt with afterburner fix

    hooray kyzler it seems we have a fix for peoples 5850's which won't overvolt using afterburner here (see lower down on the thread link)
    http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=306562

    nice to see guru3d getting the info first here instead of on other forums

    not tried it on mine yet as at work:bang: but i'm sure it'll work
     
  15. mitzi76

    mitzi76 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,722
    Likes Received:
    19
    GPU:
    MSI 970 (Gaming)
    hey i dont think the 5800's are supported in furmark. i was running stable with 975 core with furmark then ran a game and got driver not responding.

    perhaps this is user error on my part...

    btw kyzler all good with the 5850? or u changing it for 5770's in xfire soon? :wanker:
     

  16. glenboy

    glenboy Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,184
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2 x 5850's for now
    yes i have seen that somewhere else on the 5800's where furmark is stable at a certain frequencybut locks up in 3d marks fo furmark on these cards isn't the way to know its stable only reunning something intense like crysis or similar will show it
     
  17. TheHunter

    TheHunter Banned

    Messages:
    13,405
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    MSi N570GTX TFIII [OC|PE]
    not sure where you saw that but mine works flawlessly in win7 :D, im using daniel k 2.0 pack
     
  18. GARRET

    GARRET Member Guru

    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 5850
    Happy to join your club, just got my Gigabyte 5850 today...well Risen is like a whole new game ( upgraded from 8800gt ) Everything is so smooth and nice now :D (1920x1080 on a 40" Sony W5500)

    And I played it on the system you see @ Windows xp sp3 ( cpu @ 2.4ghz only )

    Still it was sooo much better. Didn't have time to overclock and test a bit, but the difference was BIG!!

    I'll probably upgrade cpu-mobo-ram by X-mas, but still I'm so happy with my purchase :)
     
    Last edited: Oct 11, 2009
  19. foxgenco

    foxgenco Member

    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    Nvidia 1080 ti
    Minimal diference for me.. expected more...
     
  20. GC_PaNzerFIN

    GC_PaNzerFIN Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,045
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 580 + AC Xtreme
    with 4600+ X2, what else did you expect?
     

Share This Page