HD 7xxx drivers for flicker/BSOD fix

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon Drivers Section' started by vejn, Sep 10, 2012.

  1. Pill Monster

    Pill Monster Banned

    Messages:
    25,214
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    7950 Vapor-X 1100/1500
    I don't know dude, I just thought what I could show is that the program wasn't buggy which would mean it was a hardware problem after all.

    But just take it with a grain of salt....I could be wrong. *shrugs*.
     
  2. AntiBaby

    AntiBaby Member

    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 660 Twin Frozr
    Edit: Looks like this point was already made while I was in the midst of typing this post. Carry on.

    Maybe a few people interested in this thread missed it, but Falkentyne posted a link to an interesting analysis of the memtestCL Random Block errors on the AMD Developer Central site:

    It really does appear to be a bug in memtestCL itself. However, it seems that the 7xxx series is simply the first common hardware capable of manifesting this bug regularly in test results.

    The comments on that page also report that 6xxx and 5xxx series radeons are affected, but more sporadically and to a far lesser degree (fewer errors, fewer failed iterations) than the 7xxx series.
     
    Last edited: Sep 23, 2012
  3. ClockClocker

    ClockClocker Master Guru

    Messages:
    450
    Likes Received:
    12
    GPU:
    970 gtx
    Just as interessting fact:
    The few guys i met who don't have any errors are using a AMD CPU too. So the "bug" in MemtestCL may be somehow related o_O

    **EDIT**
    But i think we shouldn't focus to much on Memtest anyway, there IS an Issue with MemtestCL and i doubt that it has something to do with our issue.
     
    Last edited: Sep 23, 2012
  4. teleguy

    teleguy Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,363
    Likes Received:
    221
    GPU:
    GTX 1070/Vega 56
    Actually the 69xx uses the VLIW 4 architecture. GCN was introduced with the 7000 series.
     

  5. Pill Monster

    Pill Monster Banned

    Messages:
    25,214
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    7950 Vapor-X 1100/1500
    Yeah true.
     
  6. michaels

    michaels Active Member

    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HD 7970
    am getting black flickering in 2 games witcher 2 and skyrim, played bf3 and max payne 3 no flickering
     
  7. Pill Monster

    Pill Monster Banned

    Messages:
    25,214
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    7950 Vapor-X 1100/1500
    I just remembered OCCT has a built in GPU error checker if you want to try that instead?
     
  8. d.B.

    d.B. Member

    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX 670
    I'd like to add myself to the list of people experiencing problems with 7xxx cards.
    I have a Sapphire 7950 and experience rare "black triangle"/flickering artifacts in various games including Borderlands 2.

    Also, I've noticed that UE3 games are particularly problematic. In fact I can reliably reproduce artifacts in Unreal Tournament 3 in Deck 16. Not only that, but I had the card replaced and the problems in UT3 persisted.

    Finally, I've also noticed that the problems seem to vary in severity depending on driver version. For instance, in a previous version I noticed terrible "black triangle" artifacts in Sonic Generations, which I could reliably reproduce. However, ever since 12.7 that problem has disappeared completely in Sonic Generations.

    I've run OCCT before and the GPU test has never produced errors.

    Oh yes, I should mention I run all of my hardware at stock speeds.
     
    Last edited: Sep 24, 2012
  9. ClockClocker

    ClockClocker Master Guru

    Messages:
    450
    Likes Received:
    12
    GPU:
    970 gtx
    Last edited: Sep 25, 2012
  10. acereborn

    acereborn Active Member

    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 7970 OC
    12.9 beta also causes flickers in Witcher 2 and Skyrim :(
     

  11. plywood99

    plywood99 Master Guru

    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Vega 64 Liquid Cool
    Pill monster.. dude I've read every post you made in this thread, and yes you sound like a troll. Falkentyne is 100% correct in what he posted. Your boasting of 17,000 posts makes you sound childish.

    Chill out bro.
     
  12. michaels

    michaels Active Member

    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HD 7970
    flickering in Witcher 2 gone in 12.9 beta run 30min with with no problem. ganna test skyrim now
     
  13. AntiBaby

    AntiBaby Member

    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 660 Twin Frozr
    I've only had the time to test Catalyst 12.9 beta with Tribes: Ascend so far (my canary in the coal mine for flickering artifacts). While the rate of artifacting is just about the same as it was on 12.8, the artifacts themselves appear to be much more minor and less noticeable.

    I guess that could be called an improvement.

    Also, a couple days ago, I overvolted my card from 1.138 volts to 1.2 volts. Unfortunately, there isn't much to say about that since increasing voltage had no noticeable effect on the rate or severity of artifacts.

    I should have more time to test several other games tomorrow.
     
  14. Falkentyne

    Falkentyne Master Guru

    Messages:
    535
    Likes Received:
    68
    GPU:
    Sapphire HD 7970 Ghz Ed.
    It has nothing to do with core voltages.
    Just tried 12.9 beta and downclocked the card to 500/500. Still black flicker artifacts in COD Black Ops.

    I even treid temporarily running the memory at 1.65v...no change.
     
  15. acereborn

    acereborn Active Member

    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 7970 OC
    My 7970 died during bios update. (First time that has happened)
    Put in my old 6950 and no problems with artifacts in witcher 2, skyrim or other games that did flicker with the 7970.
    My 7970 will be sent back to the retailer. I hope the replacement or fixed card will work better.
     

  16. Haldi

    Haldi Master Guru

    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    32
    GPU:
    R9-290 CF
    it completly died? 2nd bios not working? Not even Fans working at startup?
    What tool did you use to flash the bios?


    btw: http://www.chip.de/downloads/GPUTool_37428958.html GPU Tool has this "Check for stabilty" function. IF its a OC Related problem you should get graphical erros there.

    Ehm yeah. Sad. AMD overwrites Voltage set by BIOS.
    [​IMG]
    the 652.81 are supposed to be 1.1125V misscalculation somehow.
    So my GPU goes to UVD clock when i watch a Flash video or Browser requests Hardware acceleration! 1080p Youtube clocks up to 925core 1375mhz RAM (XFX BE with 1000core/1425mem) .... -.- thats why i deactivated Hardware acceleration in Flash & Firefox. CPU can do that as fast but with less energy!


    btw, while we're at it! I'm running Eyefinity 3 Monitors, and my GPU clocks down to 500mhz/1425mhz idle! Any idea how i can get that lower? Works fine without any lag on 300/150mhz when i set MSI Afterburner to Reset and then overclock to 1001mhz -.-


    Jep it is, but i couldn't find any .exe around. You have a link?
     
    Last edited: Sep 27, 2012
  17. acereborn

    acereborn Active Member

    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 7970 OC
    I used Gigabyte VGA-BIOS, and I tried another tool as well that came with the bios download, but both failed to update the bios generating an error. I tried multiple times, trying to save the card.

    After reboot I didn't get any video signal. Not sure if the fans started.

    Don't think my card has a second bios.
     
  18. alexrose1uk

    alexrose1uk Active Member

    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    R9 290 PCS+ 4GB@1150/1500
    I was getting the flickers across a range of titles too on my 7950. I've RMA'd it as its not something I accept on a £250 GPU.
     
  19. AntiBaby

    AntiBaby Member

    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 660 Twin Frozr
    This is something I can absolutely agree with. I've been thinking that instead of getting a replacement 7850 through RMA (which according to others does not solve the artifact problem), it would be better to just get a refund and purchase a GTX 660 instead, which is a shoe-in replacement for a 7850.

    What's the point of great hardware if the drivers aren't all there to back it up? Apparently, this problem has been around for several months. I don't feel like potentially waiting another few months for a fix is worthwhile.
     
  20. alexrose1uk

    alexrose1uk Active Member

    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    R9 290 PCS+ 4GB@1150/1500
    Don't get me wrong, I loved the performance of the card, and it wasnt too noisy; it's also the first time I've had a major hardware issue with an AMD card.

    I don't know, it could be hardware, it could be software, but that some users dont seem to get it all just doesnt seem right and smells too much of some sort of hardware issue to me.

    Either way, you expect to get a card that at least works well if you buy a £250 single GPU card.
     
    Last edited: Sep 27, 2012

Share This Page