1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

HD 4770 softmod to FirePro V8700, success!

Discussion in 'Rivatuner Statistics Server (RTSS) Forum' started by Clint, May 28, 2009.

  1. king-dubs

    king-dubs Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,386
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    TITAN X (Pascal) + X34
    Have you guys tried just flashing the BIOS with a new graphics ID?
     
  2. ultrabitch

    ultrabitch Member

    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    N/A
    I tested the scenes you posted there in centos x86_64
    The gfx card is a 8800 ultra (q6600 @ 3.0ghz)

    bike.ma (smooth shade) : 18 - 20 fps
    bike.ma (wireframe) : 59 - 63 fps

    mayascene2.ma (smoth shade + hardware texturing): 6 - 9.9 fps
    mayascene2.ma (wireframe): 9.1 - 13.2 fps

    i will try vista x64 also and post here
     
  3. ultrabitch

    ultrabitch Member

    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    N/A
    For Vista 64 (resolution is 1680x1050)
    8800 ultra - q6600 @ 3ghz

    bike.ma (smooth shaded) : 11-14
    bike.ma (wireframe) : 40-44

    mayascene2.ma (smooth shaded + hardware texturing) : 6.3 - 9.5
    mayascene2.ma (wireframe) : 5.5 - 8.5
     
  4. Fragmichnicht

    Fragmichnicht Member

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    8800 GT
    Hello ultrabitch,

    Great to see you here in this "contest". ;) Do you use gellmars softquadro script for your test? If not, could you please do a test run again with such a softquadro script? I would appreciate that a lot, just because to see how maya benefit from such a update. :)
     

  5. Maryus3D

    Maryus3D Active Member

    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX 285
    Good idea :D mod the 8800 ultra to a Quadro FX 4600 maybe it will affect the real world benchmark :).
     
  6. NormanBates

    NormanBates Master Guru

    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI HD3870 / ATI HD4670
    I think that one will have a quite different effect, post6800 softquadro kills opengl...
     
  7. ultrabitch

    ultrabitch Member

    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    N/A
    ok, in xp x64, this time with modded driver (styler script - drv182.08) and nvstrap

    bike.ma
    smooth shaded: 49-50 fps
    wireframe: 79-81 fps

    mayascene2.ma
    smooth shaded: 8.3 -12.8 fps
    wireframe: 18.3 - 26.2 fps

    *I have to enable manually maya profile from nvidia control panel, if i don't anything that uses opengl crashes. Crearly these results show that this mod works for maya. Moreover specviewperf is obsolete / fake (specviewperf maya is ~100 with maya profile enabled). I think both vendors are using profiles for this benchmark (like they are using in almost every other major app / game).
     
  8. Maryus3D

    Maryus3D Active Member

    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX 285
    O my god i can't believe it :D the nvidia cards are still moddable for OpenGL. Congratulation ultrabitch you have some Quadro performances over there same performance as a Quadro FX 580. From now on I'll never trust specview. I hope I can mod my 9800GTX :D.
     
  9. ultrabitch

    ultrabitch Member

    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    N/A
    It seems to work for maya at least, but some programs have problems, the driver hangs the whole system. Here, the system hangs on one of the specviewperf tests (can't remember now which particular one was), and when I run a demo called 'planet risk'.
    Maya though, seems stable so far .. in xp32 maybe the situation is better? I don't have time to test it now, it's exams time here and i already have some scenes that need more than 3gb ram to run (so i need a 64 bit os).. sigh .. :)
     
  10. Fragmichnicht

    Fragmichnicht Member

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    8800 GT
    Hello ultrabitch,

    I am sorry, but it looks to me that the quadro softmod doesn't work for Maya. Look at my results with a 8800GT. It is nearly the same as yours with a 8800 Ultra and I don't use any softmod. I am just using the nvidia settings for Autodesk Maya and have no problems, hangs or what ever.
     

  11. ultrabitch

    ultrabitch Member

    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    N/A
    Fragmichnicht, I see what you mean, these results are pretty close. Can you also test wireframe performance and the bike.ma scene with smooth shading and wireframe as well?

    If I find some time (I have to study really hard now), i'll test unmodded xp64 and see how it goes. (btw, with the mod i get opengl overlays, stereo and the profiles correctly)

    Also can you explain how you set maya settings? Do you set them via control panel (if yes, what driver version are you using?)
     
    Last edited: Jun 27, 2009
  12. Maryus3D

    Maryus3D Active Member

    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX 285
    Fragmichnicht how can you get 50 fps without moding you card? I'v got 12-13 and the ultra 14 and a real FirePro V5700 only 17. Test with the all scenes textbecnh and the bike. My island mayascene2 is to heavy for all the cards :).
    :cheers:
     
    Last edited: Jun 27, 2009
  13. Fragmichnicht

    Fragmichnicht Member

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    8800 GT
    50 fps? Holy cow! Okay, I quote myself.

    I have set the Autodesk Maya settings via control panel. Therefore I have downloaded the original Nvidia Quadro Drivers a year ago and force my Win Xp 64 Bit to install those Drivers. After that I have saved the setting file and replaced this file later in a normal Geforce Driver Installation. That's all the magic and nothing new, you can read that in a lot of forum threads in many CG forums.
     
  14. Maryus3D

    Maryus3D Active Member

    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX 285
    About you are saying : ,,Maya does not benefit from a modded ATI card" it doesn't benefit from a real FirePro V5700 :( you can think that a modded HD4670 is less efficient. Maybe a Quadro FX 580 is the perfect cheap solution for maya or you can try mod you card again and test with the bike or textbench:) if you are kind. BTW theoretically a modded 8800 ultra should give more fps on the bike but not bad after all :).

    :cheers:
     
  15. NormanBates

    NormanBates Master Guru

    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI HD3870 / ATI HD4670
    I'm truly puzzled by those softquadro results :?
     

  16. noney

    noney New Member

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2600XT@firegl5600
    hmmm...well i have something to say...

    i dont know much open gl business but the first time i saw someone rave and show the power of opengl was in aftereffect tutorial ...the guy had all sorts of smokes effect and light effect in the scene but not much other geometry ..an he was like "look even after applying so much effect i am still able to easily navigate through the scene ...ahhh the power of open gl card.!!"..

    mostly i model or animate yet i havent seen much difference, infect , i once ran on wrongly modded driver for month without knowing or realizing ....

    so i think either we r looking at wrong things or we are expecting much .....
     
  17. stillwater79

    stillwater79 New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ati
    Help moding radeon 4870

    Hi all,

    I am new to moding cards and I need some help if anyone is kind enough.

    I have a ATI radeon 4870 card and want to mod it to firpro card. I see all forms talking about these patch scripts that need to be edited but I am confused about how and where to edit them. Can someone write a step by step on the complete mod process? (Or direct me to where one is)

    Like what drivers to download what to use to mod the scripts where to mod them and all that?

    I've been stressing over doing this forever and can't seem to figure out how to start.

    Thank so much if you can help me out!

    Best,

    Dan
     
  18. gellmar

    gellmar Member Guru

    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire HD3850 1024MB
    There was a guide written in ATI drivers section, but maybe it is lost... Anyway this guides will go to the trashcan when ATIFuse is ready:)

    gellmaR
     
  19. Styler

    Styler Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HD3850@FGL-7700
    hi everyone!
    I fixed patch-script for firegl driver 8.62_XP32
    Code:
    # ATI FireGL/FirePRO XP32 mod by gellmaR (gellmaR@yahoo.com)
    # for FireGL drivers version 8.62
    # Styler Release - 27/07/2009
    [Common]
    SrcFile = ati2mtag.sys
    BakFile = ati2mtag.old
    HlpFile = newbietechFireGLX2000.rth
    MakeCRC = 1
    Packed = 1
    ;common script for 669x+
    
    DstVar0 = force ATI FireGL V8650 capabilities
    DstVar1 = force ATI FireGL V8600 capabilities
    DstVar2 = force ATI FireGL V7700 capabilities
    DstVar3 = force ATI FireGL V7600 capabilities
    DstVar4 = force ATI FireGL V5600 capabilities
    DstVar5 = force ATI FireGL V3600 capabilities
    DstVar6 = force AMD FirePro 2260 capabilities
    DstVar7 = force AMD FirePro 2450 capabilities
    DstVar8 = force AMD FirePro V3700 capabilities
    DstVar9 = force AMD FirePro V3750 capabilities
    DstVar10 = force AMD FirePro V5700 capabilities
    DstVar11 = force AMD FirePro V7770 capabilities
    DstVar12 = force AMD FirePro V8700 capabilities
    DstVar13 = force AMD FirePro V8700 Duo capabilities
    DstVar14 = force AMD FirePro V8750 capabilities
    DstVar15 = force AMD FireStream 9170 capabilities
    DstVar16 = force AMD FireStream 9250 capabilities
    DstVar17 = force AMD FireStream 9270 capabilities
    
    Src0 = BB 00 40 00 00 85 9E EC 00 00 00 75 2E
    SCM0 = FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF 00
    Dst0 = BB 00 40 00 00 85 9E EC 00 00 00 EB 26
    DCM0 = 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
    
    Src1 = 83 FE 55 75 15 81 C7 78 01 00 00 57 FF 15 88 B0 1D 00 A8 10 74 04 33 C0 EB
    SCM1 = FF FF FF FF 00 FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF 00 00 00 00 FF FF FF FF FF FF FF
    Dst1 = 83 FE 55 75 00 81 C7 78 01 00 00 57 FF 15 88 B0 1D 00 A8 10 74 00 33 C0 EB
    DCM1 = 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 FF FF FF FF 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
    
    Src2 =   83 F8 40 75 0B 66 81 BD FC FE FF FF 02 10 74 0C 6A 00 E8 0C 04 CA FF 6A 37
    SCM2 =   FF FF FF FF 00 FF FF FF 00 00 FF FF FF FF FF 00 FF FF FF 00 00 00 00 FF 00
    Dst2_0 = 0F B7 85 FE FE FF FF 66 25 00 00 66 0D 0A 94 66 89 85 FE FE FF FF EB 07 90
    Dst2_1 = 0F B7 85 FE FE FF FF 66 25 00 00 66 0D 0B 94 66 89 85 FE FE FF FF EB 07 90
    Dst2_2 = 0F B7 85 FE FE FF FF 66 25 00 00 66 0D 11 95 66 89 85 FE FE FF FF EB 07 90
    Dst2_3 = 0F B7 85 FE FE FF FF 66 25 00 00 66 0D 0F 94 66 89 85 FE FE FF FF EB 07 90
    Dst2_4 = 0F B7 85 FE FE FF FF 66 25 00 00 66 0D 8C 95 66 89 85 FE FE FF FF EB 07 90
    Dst2_5 = 0F B7 85 FE FE FF FF 66 25 00 00 66 0D 8D 95 66 89 85 FE FE FF FF EB 07 90
    Dst2_6 = 0F B7 85 FE FE FF FF 66 25 00 00 66 0D CF 95 66 89 85 FE FE FF FF EB 07 90
    Dst2_7 = 0F B7 85 FE FE FF FF 66 25 00 00 66 0D CD 95 66 89 85 FE FE FF FF EB 07 90
    Dst2_8 = 0F B7 85 FE FE FF FF 66 25 00 00 66 0D CC 95 66 89 85 FE FE FF FF EB 07 90
    Dst2_9 = 0F B7 85 FE FE FF FF 66 25 00 00 66 0D 9F 94 66 89 85 FE FE FF FF EB 07 90
    Dst2_10 = 0F B7 85 FE FE FF FF 66 25 00 00 66 0D 9E 94 66 89 85 FE FE FF FF EB 07 90
    Dst2_11 = 0F B7 85 FE FE FF FF 66 25 00 00 66 0D 46 94 66 89 85 FE FE FF FF EB 07 90
    Dst2_12 = 0F B7 85 FE FE FF FF 66 25 00 00 66 0D 56 94 66 89 85 FE FE FF FF EB 07 90
    Dst2_13 = 0F B7 85 FE FE FF FF 66 25 00 00 66 0D 47 94 66 89 85 FE FE FF FF EB 07 90
    Dst2_14 = 0F B7 85 FE FE FF FF 66 25 00 00 66 0D 44 94 66 89 85 FE FE FF FF EB 07 90
    Dst2_15 = 0F B7 85 FE FE FF FF 66 25 00 00 66 0D 19 95 66 89 85 FE FE FF FF EB 07 90
    Dst2_16 = 0F B7 85 FE FE FF FF 66 25 00 00 66 0D 52 94 66 89 85 FE FE FF FF EB 07 90
    Dst2_17 = 0F B7 85 FE FE FF FF 66 25 00 00 66 0D 50 94 66 89 85 FE FE FF FF EB 07 90
    
    all tests passed on softmod HD3850
    SPECopc10
    [​IMG]

    p.s. I'm think what some features are still disabled.

    GPU-Z no comments
    [​IMG]

    FireGL CP info also show 9515 instead of 9511
    [​IMG]

    but.. CCC tells me valid ID info (no shot in this case, just believe me).

    As judged by my own test-scene, overall performance in Maya is still on radeons opengl driver level :(. May be auto-detection for OGLCapabilities not work?
     
    Last edited: Jul 27, 2009
  20. gellmar

    gellmar Member Guru

    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire HD3850 1024MB
    Styler,

    the mod affects only OpenGL settings, and real-world Maya uses D3D. I have not tested 8.62s for xp yet, but the results are a bit weird... You have the same HD3850 and more RAM, but the results are weaker...

    gellmaR
     

Share This Page