HBM Déjà vu

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon' started by Screwdriver, Aug 29, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Screwdriver

    Screwdriver Banned

    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9 Fury Tri-X
    What fascinated me about Fiji and the Fury cards was HBM. I am sure it was mentioned here, but I had a Déjà vu moment last night. Sony's PS2's use of HBM . I remembering it being a radical idea and for the majority of the PS2's life, it was a complete pain in the arse to work with.

    I give props to AMD for giving it a go, as I think this is the future, not only with GPU's, but CPU's.

    A 14nm 12 core CPU with 32GB of HBM and hyperthreading would give me morning wood.
     
  2. Loophole35

    Loophole35 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,793
    Likes Received:
    1,148
    GPU:
    EVGA 1080ti SC
    ?????? HMB development started in 2008. PS2 was released in 2000. It used imbedded DDR for video buffer not HBM.

    And it was the Cell processor in the PS3 that was a pain to code for not the emotion chip in the PS2.
     
  3. JohnLai

    JohnLai Member Guru

    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    7
    GPU:
    ASUS GTX 970 3.5+0.5GB
    -.-?
    I thought PS2 used 32MB RDRAM in dual channel mode?
     
  4. yasamoka

    yasamoka Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,856
    Likes Received:
    246
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080Ti SC
    Where did PS2 ever use HBM?

    You have a fatally mistaken understanding of what HBM is.
     

  5. Anarion

    Anarion Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,605
    Likes Received:
    380
    GPU:
    GeForce RTX 3060 Ti
    Honestly, memory tech talk doesn't really belong here. General hardware section would be better.
     
  6. Loophole35

    Loophole35 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,793
    Likes Received:
    1,148
    GPU:
    EVGA 1080ti SC
    This 100%
     
  7. Extraordinary

    Extraordinary Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    19,562
    Likes Received:
    1,627
    GPU:
    ROG Strix 1080 OC
    PS2 did have HBM

    :p
    [​IMG]
     
  8. Screwdriver

    Screwdriver Banned

    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9 Fury Tri-X
    But this eDRAM was where all the graphic work was done. It would swap with the RAMBUS system memory, but the idea is similar. They put this eDRAM on die with a 2560-bit bus.

    How is my comparison a fail?
     
  9. Noisiv

    Noisiv Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,026
    Likes Received:
    1,322
    GPU:
    2070 Super
    haha thats very good :wanker:


    what would you call someone making 5 errors in one page, in his own thread?

    you are posting at worryingly high frequency and it shows
     
  10. Screwdriver

    Screwdriver Banned

    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9 Fury Tri-X
    Just having a discussion....Would of posted this in the other thread I started but it was closed.

    But, hey, thanks for implying I am an idiot.....
     

  11. Noisiv

    Noisiv Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,026
    Likes Received:
    1,322
    GPU:
    2070 Super
    No, I'm not.
    Take a little rest, is what I'm implying
     
  12. Screwdriver

    Screwdriver Banned

    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9 Fury Tri-X
    Are you a mod?

    I am just having a discussion. So, please add to it and explain how my comparison is wrong. 2560-bit path to on die memory in the PS2's GPU.
     
  13. Screwdriver

    Screwdriver Banned

    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9 Fury Tri-X
    From what I remember, developers were having a hard time swapping textures in and out of the 4mb on die memory on the Graphic Synthesize on the PS2.
     
    Last edited: Aug 29, 2015
  14. Loophole35

    Loophole35 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,793
    Likes Received:
    1,148
    GPU:
    EVGA 1080ti SC
    At first but quickly got past that. The Cell processor got cursed by Dev's for the life of the console.

    And the bus on the PS2 is 1024bit read, 1024bit write and 512bit read/write. It's not really a 2560bit bus. The bandwidth is only 9.6GB/s and 38.4GB/s hardly high bandwidth memory.
     
  15. Screwdriver

    Screwdriver Banned

    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9 Fury Tri-X
    HBM is a wrong term as Hynix and AMD are on it. But at the time that would of been a valid description.

    All I am saying is Sony saw the benefit of having working memory on a very fast bus on die. This to me is close to what AMD/Hynix is doing.
     

  16. Noisiv

    Noisiv Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,026
    Likes Received:
    1,322
    GPU:
    2070 Super
    1. You're not having Deja Vu
    2. Because PS2 did not use HBM
    3. PS2 used on die cache in the form of edram. On die cache has been with us at least since 80486. It was not a radical idea in PS2 time.
    4. AMD's latest memory implementation is not on-die
    5. edram/ PS2 talk does not belong to Radeon forum
     
  17. Anarion

    Anarion Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,605
    Likes Received:
    380
    GPU:
    GeForce RTX 3060 Ti
    HBM is stacked DRAM and it's a completely different animal than eDRAM that has been around since stone age.
     
  18. Screwdriver

    Screwdriver Banned

    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9 Fury Tri-X
    See edits above....
     
  19. Screwdriver

    Screwdriver Banned

    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9 Fury Tri-X
    I am talking about the basic principle of getting the video memory as close to the GPU along with a very wide data path.
     
  20. Loophole35

    Loophole35 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,793
    Likes Received:
    1,148
    GPU:
    EVGA 1080ti SC
    ^Technically this does belong in general hardware.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page