HBAO+ Compatibility Flags Thread

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by MrBonk, Mar 3, 2014.

  1. GuruKnight

    GuruKnight Master Guru

    Messages:
    861
    Likes Received:
    12
    GPU:
    2 x 980 Ti AMP! Ex
    I think the problem is, that his GTX 260 is a DX10 card and hence doesn't support Deus Ex DX11 mode? :)
    But in theory this should also be possible in DX11 by starting with "0x00130000" or "0x00160000", and following the guidelines given by Guzz here:
    http://forums.guru3d.com/showpost.php?p=5175028&postcount=1844
     
    Last edited: Nov 6, 2015
  2. ivanosky

    ivanosky Active Member

    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    NVIDIA GTX 960M
    - Darksiders -
    Flag:
    0x0000002A (Same as Darksiders 2)
     
    Last edited: Nov 6, 2015
  3. ivanosky

    ivanosky Active Member

    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    NVIDIA GTX 960M
    - Fallout 3 -
    Flag:
    0x00000003 (Official Flag)
    General Information:
    The official flag looks better than the one in the guide.
    Pictures
    Can't upload pictures now, will update this post when I can.
     
  4. ivanosky

    ivanosky Active Member

    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    NVIDIA GTX 960M
    - The Elder Scrolls V Skyrim -
    Flag:
    0x00000003 (Official Fallout 3 Flag)
     

  5. ElectronSpider

    ElectronSpider Master Guru

    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 660 OC 2GB
    ElderScrolls V Skyrim: Hex Edited 29 flag

    After extensive testing after my flag (0x0000032B) would not work in Win 10 (only in Win 7), here is a hex-modified official flag (0x00000029) that works in Win 10.

    Elderscrolls V: Skyrim

    0x00000029 Non-modfied Hex Value: 26 B2 80 19 00 00 B0 19 A5 60 4E 05 00 00 00 00

    Modified Hex-value:

    26 B2 80 19 00 00 B0 19 45 60 A9 08 00 00 00 00

    Screenshot Comparisons

    No AO:
    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Using non-hex modified:
    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Using hex-modified Hex-value (26 B2 80 19 00 00 B0 19 45 60 A9 08 00 00 00 00) above:
    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

    The main differences between the official 0x00000029 HBAO+ flag and the three modifications is the following:
    45: The depth/distance away from the character that the HBAO+ will apply HBAO+ is 4 instead of the default A (10), which prevented fog bleeding. This change is most noticeable with snow drifts were compared to A5, the change 45 adds a lighter outline.
    A9: Increased the Blur factor from 4 to A (10) and reduced the fog sampling from E (15) to 9.
    08: Increased HBAO+ strength from 5 to 8.
    These changes were made based on personal taste as really dark outlines do not look very realistic. Feel free to modify to your liking.
     
    Last edited: Nov 7, 2015
  6. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,020
    Likes Received:
    96
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    I'd have to say I disagree as the official flag has known problems.
    You might be doing something wrong.

    For example, you can't copy paste these values in a hex editor. You have to enter each set of values manually to override the values present in the .DLL.
    The AO debug bits don't do anything either. And they are unchanged in my post.

    If you are using other than 16:9 that might cause a problem too.

    I haven't had a ton of time to do large play sessions at high resolutions to see if there are any problems. The only problems I encountered were things that happened with the vanilla flag.

    I have encountered something like you describe but it was with a non working completely different flag. And it didn't apply AO, just an almost empty depth buffer.
     
    Last edited: Nov 7, 2015
  7. GuruKnight

    GuruKnight Master Guru

    Messages:
    861
    Likes Received:
    12
    GPU:
    2 x 980 Ti AMP! Ex
    "0x00000003" flickers on and off in grassy areas depending on viewing angle.
    Essentially making it useless.
    This is particularly evident with forced SGSSAA (0x000010C1).
     
  8. ivanosky

    ivanosky Active Member

    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    NVIDIA GTX 960M
    Haven't noticed any weird issues with the original flag yet. Althouth I dont force Supersampling through NVIDIA Inspector because it messes with ENB, so maybe it is an issue with forced AA.
     
  9. tapioks

    tapioks Active Member

    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    GTX 780M 4GB
    Needless to say, we're going to be looking for an HBAO flag for Fallout 4. Apparently the game natively uses some fairly basic SSAO which leaves a lot to be desired. Here's to hoping! ... and testing, and testing .... :)
     
  10. KoKlusz

    KoKlusz Active Member

    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 970
    Resident Evil 6

    0x00000013 (modified)

    Using MrBonk tweaks for ToZ I've managed to make HBAO+ kinda usable. It still has issues when AO is visible on gray-ish areas, but it's much less severe than previously. Doesn't work in cut-scenes tho.

    Modified Flag - AE 38 00 00 00 00 96 18 9F 10 0E 03 00 00 00 00

    No AO
    0x00000013 vanilla
    0x00000013 modified
    0x00000013 modified - strength at 1

    No AO
    0x00000013 vanilla
    0x00000013 modified
    0x00000013 modified - strength at 1

    No AO
    0x00000013 vanilla
    0x00000013 modified
    0x00000013 modified - strength at 1

    No AO
    0x00000013 vanilla
    0x00000013 modified
    0x00000013 modified - strength at 1

    No AO
    0x00000013 vanilla
    0x00000013 modified
    0x00000013 modified - strength at 1

    As for RE4, despite trying hundreds combinations of insertion logic bits flickering just won't go away, always happens in the same spots and with the same angles, which most probably means that game depth buffer is the issue here.
     

  11. pedigrew

    pedigrew Master Guru

    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX770 SC ACX 2GB
    I gave up already with RE4, and yes, i think you're right about depht buffer, only way is using other AO techniques and generic depth buffer with GeDoSaTo to remove flickering.
     
    Last edited: Nov 10, 2015
  12. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,020
    Likes Received:
    96
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Just because you don't notice the issues =/= it isn't there.
    I think it's more likely the issue exists and you simply dont' notice it or perhaps it is related to the Aspect Ratio.

    As GuruKnight tested using 16:10
    The SSAO is terrible.
    I thought Bethesda mentioned on their website they were going to be offering HBAO+ in addition to PCSS,TXAA and God Rays?
     
    Last edited: Nov 10, 2015
  13. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,020
    Likes Received:
    96
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Interesting, i'm curious.

    Would you mind testing AO in RE6 again with those same Parameter Bits but with the flag 0x00000034?
    http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/NoAO3.png
    http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/34AO3.png
    http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/NoAO2.png
    http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/34AO2.png

    I'm interested to see how this flag would look with modification.
    Since newer flags have been added too (35-39) I wonder if those would work at default.

    As for RE4, that's a shame.

    Though try,
    Insertion Logic
    Code:
    AE 48 13 10
    Pattern Match Mask
    Code:
    00 00 1A 14
    or
    Code:
    00 00 1A 16
     
    Last edited: Nov 10, 2015
  14. syklonis

    syklonis Active Member

    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 1080 ti
    Fallout 4

    Found a flag for Fallout 4. It's 0x00140000 (lords of the fallen) flag. Works pretty well for me so far. I'll have to test further as it's late, but others can try it out. On windows 7 fyi
     
  15. KoKlusz

    KoKlusz Active Member

    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 970
    I did that, didn't do anything, turns out it's caused by specific combinations of insertion and masking bits, when fixed it acts like other flags, with same issued as them.

    They don't.

    Unfortunately it's not working at all.

    IIRC it caused some pretty major graphical glitches.
     

  16. Dreadmoth

    Dreadmoth Member

    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI 1070Ti Titanium
    Tried that flag out (only tested one area so far- inside Vault 111):
    It only seems to work at very specific camera angles, otherwise it has no effect. Tested all AO quality settings, same issue.

    When it does work, coverage seems pretty good, doesn't bleed through fog (at least in the vault) too badly. Can be used with the in-game SSAO enabled if you want a very thick/dark effect.

    EDIT: sorry for the aliasing (testing if TAA was breaking HBAO+, it wasn't) and FRAPS counter:

    No AO: http://i.imgur.com/FrGNfpP.jpg (using LotF flag, but broken angle)
    0x00140000 (Lords of the Fallen): http://i.imgur.com/r3KVFHG.jpg (working angle)

    Maybe the flag can be modified to get it working more reliably at different angles?

    GTX770, 358.91 drivers, 1920x1080, Windows 7 64-bit.
    All settings on Ultra except motion blur, FoV 100, no other .ini tweaks.
     
    Last edited: Nov 24, 2015
  17. kolatores

    kolatores Member

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    660 GTX
    hi i tested company of heroes flag and its very nice but there is a HUGE problem after like 10 to 20 min of game Hbao start to flicker and then go off its super anmoying

    its one of the best use of ao in game but it just dont work HELP!

    i try diffrent drivers and even going back to ssao, diffrent resoltion nothing work
     
  18. Dreadmoth

    Dreadmoth Member

    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI 1070Ti Titanium
    - Dungeon Siege 2 -
    Flag: 0x0000002F (Hawken)
    |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| ||||||||||||||||||||
    General Information: Works reasonably well, however interaction with distance fog / draw distance cut-off isn't ideal. Hawken flag has wider coverage and slightly nicer interaction with distance fog compared to the Dead Space flag.

    Screenshots:

    No AO: http://i.imgur.com/BowSL8r.jpg

    0x0000002F (Hawken): http://i.imgur.com/AkWOXIj.jpg

    0x0000000F (Dead Space): http://i.imgur.com/bXf4dsB.jpg

    (screenshots taken with 8xMSAA and 8xTrSSAA forced, no AA bits. Ambient Occlusion setting: High quality.)
     
    Last edited: Nov 24, 2015
  19. GuruKnight

    GuruKnight Master Guru

    Messages:
    861
    Likes Received:
    12
    GPU:
    2 x 980 Ti AMP! Ex
    The original Company of Heroes doesn't have ingame SSAO :3eyes:
    And you didn't specify, if we are talking about DX9 or DX10 mode here?
     
  20. kolatores

    kolatores Member

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    660 GTX
    NO SSAO IN NVIDIA DRIVER i play in dx10


    Fallout 4 this flag works lord of fallen if flickers inside little bit on angle and bleeds in water but only slightly ITS A GOOD FLAG AND NICE GAME!

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Nov 11, 2015

Share This Page