HBAO+ Compatibility Flags Thread

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by MrBonk, Mar 3, 2014.

  1. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,363
    Likes Received:
    259
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 3080 Ti
    Thanks. I've added to my queue of stuff to get around to
     
  2. demon_firefox

    demon_firefox Member

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 780 (1180, 3300)
    Last edited: Jun 28, 2015
  3. skacikpl

    skacikpl Master Guru

    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    248
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2070 8G
    I've poked some more around Dead or Alive 5.
    It turns out it uses logarythmic depth buffer, which is great for saving on Z-Data but sucks balls for details.
    http://i.imgur.com/FV8PWwq.jpg

    Good luck getting any precision depth on characters for AO to work on...
     
  4. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,363
    Likes Received:
    259
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 3080 Ti
    yikes lol.
     

  5. skacikpl

    skacikpl Master Guru

    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    248
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2070 8G
    Another thing is that with SSAA it becomes inaccessible for injectable shaders.
     
  6. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,363
    Likes Received:
    259
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 3080 Ti
    The Final Fantasy XIV DX11 client adds HBAO+!~!!!
    (Excuse the tessellation in the standard shots. I left it on not knowing right away what it did. It's kinda meh. Fuzzy artifacts/aliasing galore. The textures really were fine before and didn't need tessellation. Needed better textures)
    http://screenshotcomparison.com/comparison/124063
    http://screenshotcomparison.com/comparison/124065
    http://screenshotcomparison.com/comparison/124066
    http://screenshotcomparison.com/comparison/124067
    http://screenshotcomparison.com/comparison/124068
    http://screenshotcomparison.com/comparison/124069
    http://screenshotcomparison.com/comparison/124071

    There is a "Standard" and a "High Quality" setting. It really amounts more to "Subtle" and "Very strong"
    Too bad they didn't bother with fixing the ****ty AA.

    4xSGSSAA makes a huge difference in this game. > https://copy.com/wYWPwuimvWI68ZRN

    HuD scaling with high resolution isn't perfect so downsampling can be tricky.


    I had suggested a long time ago they add a custom SSAA solution to the game, letting you target your UI resolution and rendering resolution separately so you can keep the HUD scaled perfectly..
     
    Last edited: Apr 27, 2015
  7. signex

    signex Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,823
    Likes Received:
    176
    GPU:
    Asus TUF RTX 3080
    I can clearly see AO being applied while the in-game's is set to off.
     
  8. skacikpl

    skacikpl Master Guru

    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    248
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2070 8G
    So the DX11 client is out already? What about 64 bit support?
    I may consider renewing my subscription for this.
     
  9. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,363
    Likes Received:
    259
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 3080 Ti
    Ah well it's just the DX11 Heavensward benchmark for the time being. The DX11 client launches in June or July

    But the new AO options are labeled "HBAO+"

    I wish I could find someone who I could send this suggestion to http://forum.square-enix.com/ffxiv/...with-the-advent-of-DX11?p=2926787#post2926787

    To fix the UI rendering resolution so we can have decent AA AND HBAO+ you know?


    Also: I still think the DX11 client is 32-bit
     
  10. GuruKnight

    GuruKnight Master Guru

    Messages:
    869
    Likes Received:
    17
    GPU:
    2 x 980 Ti AMP! Ex
    That is because the ingame AO setting is currently broken in GTA 5.
    It makes no difference if it is on or off.
     

  11. kolatores

    kolatores Member

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    660 GTX
    it work in game but i find something else when u use nvidia pcss the ao is much less and weak then u use other soft shadows options

    maybe nvidia would make a hbao profile in drivers for gta 5

    u cant have all nice soft shadows or more ao

    i made comparison but cant post it
     
  12. GuruKnight

    GuruKnight Master Guru

    Messages:
    869
    Likes Received:
    17
    GPU:
    2 x 980 Ti AMP! Ex
    AO is completely broken in GTA 5, unless you use the "workaround" discovered by Andrew Burnes in his Grand Theft Auto V PC Graphics & Performance Guide.
    And even then only the "High" AO setting has any impact on IQ, and a very small one at that :(

    This game is really turning out to be another buggy mess of an AAA release.
    Hopefully this and other annoying bugs will be fixed soon by Rockstar in an official patch.
    Until then I'm personally putting it "on the shelf".
     
  13. CK the Greek

    CK the Greek Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,304
    Likes Received:
    31
    GPU:
    GB 2060S,Gsync,3DV2
    Fair enough but we -gamers- can't be happy with anything..:whip: right? :)
    Imagine if the game wasn't optimized(as many recent AAA titles released) how much it would be flamed for that. Now we discuss anything that we are not happy with. For me the AO bug is a small detail,the worst (and most unpleasant) bug is the shadow-detail square around character and the one square-type-similar one that is about 2-3 meters from player after playing for some hours which is solved if you restart the game. (I think it has something to do with day-night cycle,
    if you are wasted and start from a hospital time of day is changed then it mostly happens,haven't test it looking for it to be honest)
     
    Last edited: Apr 29, 2015
  14. KoKlusz

    KoKlusz Active Member

    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 970
  15. kolatores

    kolatores Member

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    660 GTX
    thats not bug at all, that is an optimisation u all wanted, u got high quality shadows only in square around u, it looks strange and sometimes bad with nvidia pcss glowing square LOL, in gta 4 square was much larger and perfrmance much worst

    also ao is small bug its just that engine dont update when u change that setting
     

  16. Jodeth

    Jodeth Member

    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 970 SSC 4GB
    Max Payne 2: The Fall of Max Payne

    Flag: 0x0000001F

    Photo 1: On | Off
    Photo 2: On | Off

    Issues: When walking thru a doorway, walking up/down a stairwell or leaving an elevator; pretty much entering a new section, the effect will flicker once. Flickering can occur in cut-scenes.
    The effect can show up where it shouldn't (e.g. behind a rug on stairs, thru fog, smoke and fire). It also shows up in Max's trippy dream sequences; contributing to the trippy-ness ;)

    I've found other flags that worked, but the effect was not much effective, and also flickered in the same areas as '1F'.

    I'm usually not one to settle with flickering AO, but it's worth it.

    Edit: With the use of a widescreen fix for the game, the flickering seems to all be gone. Unfortunately, there are occurrences of heavy and lite fps drops. Luckily, they don't happen often. The first part of the game is the worst I've encountered so far. Everywhere else I've tested wasn't so bad. I think it's worth using anyway. I'll finish the game and give a final conclusion.

    Edit 2: Finished it. The fps drops are very rare in between Part 1 (intro) and the Vlad battle (ending). Part 1 has just a couple choppy areas before the elevator and like one after that wasn't nearly as bad. Rest of the game is pretty much free of choppiness until the Vlad battle, which chugs around 40 fps, starting out, and as the battle progresses (glass and floor busted up), the fps will shoot back to normal. So it's fine to use HBAO and the WS fix together. I did encounter some flickering during deaths, but nowhere else. 0x0000001F is still recommended :thumbup:
     
    Last edited: May 7, 2015
  17. GuruKnight

    GuruKnight Master Guru

    Messages:
    869
    Likes Received:
    17
    GPU:
    2 x 980 Ti AMP! Ex
    Please don't get me wrong, GTA 5 is a great PC game :)
    Great graphics, wonderful optimization and also perfect SLI scaling without any issues.

    But it does have its annoying bugs.
     
  18. Codemonkey

    Codemonkey Member

    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Nvidia 525M 1024Mb
    Hello everyone!
    I need your help with Skyforge SSAO[or HBAO flags].
    Trying to enable ingame AO or Nvidia Inpector variations. Null effect.
    SF with ingame SSAO
    [​IMG]
    My Skyforge with Shadows and SSAO on ultra:
    [​IMG]
     
  19. lowenz

    lowenz Master Guru

    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 750Ti
    Can you test with the WS fix?

    http://thirteenag.github.io/widescreen_fixes_pack#mp2
     
  20. Gitaroo

    Gitaroo Member

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Geforce 670/2 gigs
    anyone have any luck with doa5?
     

Share This Page