HBAO+ Compatibility Flags Thread

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by MrBonk, Mar 3, 2014.

  1. Kleio

    Kleio Member

    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Evga gtx 780
    hbao+ works on all api, and you dont need nvidia to do it their method is just convenient as it works with almost all games
     
  2. GuruKnight

    GuruKnight Master Guru

    Messages:
    869
    Likes Received:
    16
    GPU:
    2 x 980 Ti AMP! Ex
    The current driver lacks the proper compatibility bits to force AA and AO in modern deferred OpenGL engines.
    Simply as that ;)
     
  3. gold333

    gold333 Member

    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX670CUII oc'd
    Hey all,

    Anyone know of a way or flag to force HBAO in Ghostbusters The Video Game.

    The character models of the actors and all the proton packs and traps are superbly done, and the lighting system is dragging it down.

    That release would benefit from a way to force AO and also other tweaks if possible.

    Anyone know? (nvidia CPL won't allow forcing AO on that title)
     
    Last edited: Apr 14, 2015
  4. lowenz

    lowenz Master Guru

    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 750Ti

  5. gold333

    gold333 Member

    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX670CUII oc'd

    So I found this post, ....

    But running the 2b he is saying (or loading up his profile from the other forum) doesn't really work.

    It's like AO is enabled on objects when you get to within 12 inches of them in game,... Any further and the game looks as flat as ever.

    Any ideas?
     
    Last edited: Apr 14, 2015
  6. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,262
    Likes Received:
    205
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
  7. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,262
    Likes Received:
    205
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    There is no other option unfortunately. This is the kind of limitations we have been given by Nvidia because they just don't give a ****. They can't market it and make money from it other than the odd mention on their site about how you can enable HBAO+ in the driver in hundreds of games (Not true by default. 9/10 flags don't work with assigned games anyway)

    So they don't bother.
     
  8. widil

    widil New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 980
    Hi,

    I've been trying to find a better flag for Star Wars The Old Republic (SWToR) but can't seem to find any that works. (gear of war, bioshock, operation dragon rising, mass effect, assassin's creed, devil may cry and so on ...)
    Anyone had luck with this game ?
     
  9. Kleio

    Kleio Member

    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Evga gtx 780
    i have messed around with it but havent gotten any other flags that work the default one has bad bleeding through transparent textures.Even when i was trying to find a sgssaa flag that didnt remove transparent effects the performance wasnt worth it,over all the hbao+ isnt bad on there its a little to strong and has bleeding issues
     
  10. gold333

    gold333 Member

    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX670CUII oc'd
    Wow, I didn't expect it would be this bad. I mean there could be a table full of equipment and like a single tv remote will be shadowed within 12 inches of the player, the rest of the table flat. Take a step back and everything is flat again.

    That's not an implementation.

    I know the game supports SSAO in the ini file, etc... I'm sure a SweetFX guy could add some shading to this title, its supposed to be the third movie and all.
     

  11. Kleio

    Kleio Member

    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Evga gtx 780
    has anyone played around with grand theft auto 5
     
  12. GuruKnight

    GuruKnight Master Guru

    Messages:
    869
    Likes Received:
    16
    GPU:
    2 x 980 Ti AMP! Ex
    You can't conclude anything in general based on a single game without "official" AO support.
    I simply tried all of the custom AO profiles, and only "2B" showed any effect.
    "2D" flickers like crazy in case you are interested.

    This is more of a game engine limitation in my opinion.
    Certainly you could plaster some ugly ENB AO variant onto the game, but this is hardly an improvement (e.g. GTA 4).
     
  13. gold333

    gold333 Member

    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX670CUII oc'd
    Thanks for your work in any case. I just think it's a shame. The built in SSAO (ini file) is pretty nice, but the fps hit is too high.

    Here are three screenshot comparisons.

    Default GB (no HBAO or SSAO):

    [​IMG]


    GB with HBAO forced through Nvidia Inspector (0x0000002b, High quality):

    [​IMG]

    As you say the difference is next to nothing.


    GB with the above and SSAO forced through the .ini file (fps drops to 30-40 from 60+).

    [​IMG]

    A lot better.


    So yeah, this post is hoping someone can work some magic somewhere (maybe SweetFX or ENB) and make this title look like an actual movie. But yeah, without crushed blacks and blown out whites as happens too often with those filters.

    This title runs best tear free with D3d overrider vsync and 60 fps. For me 8xMSAA and only 8xSS instead of 4xMSAA and 4XSGSS as the fps dips below 60 sometimes using SGAA.
     
    Last edited: Apr 15, 2015
  14. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,262
    Likes Received:
    205
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    You can certainly try with ReShade or something for a stronger effect. It will be SSAO though and you may encounter other issues like bleeding as with HBAO+ and the performance hit is likely to be larger.. But you don't know unless you try.

    You can also go through the motions of testing all the other flags for a better Ghostbusters if they all weren't tested prior
     
    Last edited: Apr 15, 2015
  15. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    17,208
    Likes Received:
    1,941
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti OC
    There is a new DX11 flag for MortalKombat X, I thought the game already uses ingame one.. I dont own the game yet, so cant tell.

    0x00170000 (Mortal Kombat X)



    Speaking of HBAO flags, L4D2 still has some issues with default one flickers on/off or just disappears..,

    I've just tested fakefacotry mod HL2 but its no go, too strong and there is some angle filtering going on in far distance (hard line), kinda like AF octagonal cone filtering glitch/hack by few drivers and certain games where you could see a fine hard line going from AF to bilinear..
     
    Last edited: Apr 15, 2015

  16. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,262
    Likes Received:
    205
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    L4D2 had that problem with the old SSAO too. Frustrating.

    also: I think the latest CM has HBAO+ built in doesn't it? Fakefactory mentioned it several times on his site iirc
     
  17. GuruKnight

    GuruKnight Master Guru

    Messages:
    869
    Likes Received:
    16
    GPU:
    2 x 980 Ti AMP! Ex
    HBAO+ looks better in those shots, SSAO is just ugly and low-res looking IMO.
    And I find it strange, that you would prioritize AO over high quality SGSSAA :3eyes:

    If anything makes a game "look like a movie", it is SGSSAA ;)
     
  18. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    17,208
    Likes Received:
    1,941
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti OC
    not really, it was 99% more stable then this hbao bs. Same in TF2.


    EDIT: what's CM? I don't play Fakefactory so I have no idea what you mean :nerd:
     
    Last edited: Apr 15, 2015
  19. ze1t

    ze1t Member

    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 1070 OC 8GB
    The ingame AO is SSAO.
     
  20. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,262
    Likes Received:
    205
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    No it wasn't really. In l4D2 with the old SSAO I had tons of problems with it constantly flickering on and off.
     

Share This Page