1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

HBAO+ Compatibility Flags Thread

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by MrBonk, Mar 3, 2014.

  1. KoKlusz

    KoKlusz Active Member

    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 970
    I guess, but complete lack of performance hit from forcing either AO or AA (granted, with later I've tried only two flags from the other thread) makes my think that maybe there are more profiles with "luncher.exe" listed, so driver gets confused and doesn't know which one to use? I'm gonna try using global profile, maybe that will work.
     
  2. GuruKnight

    GuruKnight Master Guru

    Messages:
    860
    Likes Received:
    12
    GPU:
    2 x 980 Ti AMP! Ex
    Sounds reasonable IMO.
    You will probably need to create a special profile with the location of "launcher.exe" included.
     
  3. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,919
    Likes Received:
    57
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    You can also try renaming launcher.exe and see if the game will launch straight from the directory with steam running in the background.

    You can also remove "launcher.exe" from the RE5 profile, try to re-add it and see if it gives you an error message stating that it belongs to another profile.

    If it does, you can find that profile and remove the .exe from that profile and re-add it.


    It's strange , because I still have an official profile for RE5 under Biohazard 5 that has a lot of specific flags for it (as you scroll down ,etc)
    [​IMG]
    RE5 too
    [​IMG]
     
  4. KoKlusz

    KoKlusz Active Member

    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 970
    Resident Evil Gold Edition (Steamworks)

    0x0000001A

    Sadly, 03 flag doesn't work anymore, and the best replacement I've found is flag 1A.

    14 gives nice looking effect, and doesn't have skybox issue like other flags (probably because it's not working on distant objects), unfortunately it has some bleeding issues, particularly noticeable in combination of dark environments with bright smoke/dust.

    1A looks similar to 14 but without bleeding, also work on distant objects. It does have issues with skybox in opening chapter, but it fairly faint.

    31 doesn't bleed, but it looks kinda like standard SSAO, creating black halos around objects.

    I've done testing changing HDR setting between low and high, but this didn't seemed to had any effect how the flags behaved.

    Also, none of the flags work during cut-scenes.

    Exterior:

    No AO
    0x0000001A (HDR high)
    0x00000014 (HDR low)
    0x00000014 (HDR high)
    0x00000031 (HDR low)
    0x00000031 (HDR high)

    Interior:

    No AO
    0x0000001A
    0x00000014
    0x00000031

    Bleeding:

    No AO
    0x0000001A
    0x00000014
    0x00000031

    And comparison with 03 flag for GFWL version:

    No AO
    0x00000003 (GFWL)
    0x0000001A (Steamworks)
    0x00000014 (Steamworks)
    0x00000031 (Steamworks)
     
    Last edited: May 15, 2015

  5. pedigrew

    pedigrew Master Guru

    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX770 SC ACX 2GB
    Superb KoKlusz, thanks for this. Bleeding issues were also present in the old version and is very tolerable... :)
    Best Regards!
     
  6. skacikpl

    skacikpl Member Guru

    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    12
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 1070 8G
    Anyone tried messing with Dead or Alive 5?
    It's DX9 so if nobody tried so far, then i'll try some flags on my own.

    //
    Well, i tried over 50 different flags and not a single one worked.
    I guess that either without profile support from NVIDIA it has some trouble accessing depth buffer, or the games post process chain is preventing it from being accessed.

    Or i just plainly had the bad luck of trying all the flags that don't work.
     
    Last edited: Apr 9, 2015
  7. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,919
    Likes Received:
    57
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
  8. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,919
    Likes Received:
    57
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Alright should be up to date. Let me know if anything is missing
     
  9. KoKlusz

    KoKlusz Active Member

    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 970
    They would have to port game to DX11 to use ShadowWorks, and I'm pretty sure that won't happen unless some Super Turbo HD remaster. Maybe DMC4SE, since it's current gen only (IIRC), but I wouldn't hold my breath on that either.
     
    Last edited: Apr 10, 2015
  10. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,919
    Likes Received:
    57
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    It says it requires DX11, but then how can it work in DX9 in the driver? :eek:

    Also DX11 is branched from DXGI so there is the original DX10 build! ... or not. I can only dream! XD
     

  11. KoKlusz

    KoKlusz Active Member

    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 970
    My guess is that driver injection is DirectX agnostic (maybe even API agnostic), as long as you find flag corresponding game depth buffer, since everything else it needs to work is already in the driver itself.

    On the other hand, independent version has requirements for specific features which only DX11 has.

    BTW was there ever a OpenGL game with HBAO+?
     
    Last edited: Apr 11, 2015
  12. kx11

    kx11 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,968
    Likes Received:
    155
    GPU:
    2080ti watercooled
    i'm trying the Singularity values on windows 8.1


    would it work 100%
     
  13. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,919
    Likes Received:
    57
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Or their version could just have it for an arbitrary reason. But no you are probably right.

    I also don't think i've seen an OGL game with it yet. It'd be nice if we could inject it into that too.
     
  14. Kleio

    Kleio Member

    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Evga gtx 780
    theres no reason why it cant , it just needs ported thats probably why no one has seen a open gl game with it. As long as the api supports how hbao/hbao+ are gathering the data to see if a object is near another object creating a contouring line then it should be possible to work.Your going on and on about the hbao+ libraries being released to the public i would have thought you would have looked at them,btw hbao+ isn't hardware dependent it works on all graphics cards.
     
    Last edited: Apr 12, 2015
  15. GuruKnight

    GuruKnight Master Guru

    Messages:
    860
    Likes Received:
    12
    GPU:
    2 x 980 Ti AMP! Ex
    Driver forced HBAO+ is never going to work in OpenGL, since the driver simply lacks the proper compatibility bits.
    And the odds of NVIDIA implementing it for OGL is slim to nil.
     

  16. Gitaroo

    Gitaroo Member

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Geforce 670/2 gigs
    wolfenstien worked I thought. It was doom 3 engine
     
  17. skacikpl

    skacikpl Member Guru

    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    12
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 1070 8G
    If you mean the old RTCW then it was just about only DX game on IDTech.
    Not sure bout newer Wolfensteins if you meant those as they're OGL.
     
  18. GuruKnight

    GuruKnight Master Guru

    Messages:
    860
    Likes Received:
    12
    GPU:
    2 x 980 Ti AMP! Ex
  19. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,919
    Likes Received:
    57
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    You are right there are no flags for it. But it's not out of the realm of possibility. Just a matter of Nvidia doing it.
     
  20. GuruKnight

    GuruKnight Master Guru

    Messages:
    860
    Likes Received:
    12
    GPU:
    2 x 980 Ti AMP! Ex
    Hehe, I suppose :)
    But if NVIDIA is not going to give us DX11 AA bits, then they are surely not going to rewrite the driver to add OGL HBAO+ support either :3eyes:
     
    Last edited: Apr 13, 2015

Share This Page