HBAO+ Compatibility Flags Thread

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by MrBonk, Mar 3, 2014.

  1. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,183
    Likes Received:
    165
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    -Sonic Adventure DX Director's Cut (Steam Version)-
    0x0000002F
    ON
    OFF


    ONLY WORKS IN 4:3 RESOLUTIONS!
    (Game isn't locked to 640x480 anymore. But is always 4:3 even in 16:9 resolutions. AA&AO only work in 4:3 resolutions. So just use a 4:3 resolution and let the driver pillarbox it)

    This is the only flag that produces an acceptable result in this version of the game.

    It's not perfect, as there are some slight bleeding issues with only certain 2D UI elements, but they are so uncommonly on screen and so briefly that it's not a big issue.


    There are some other minor issues as well, such as a little bit of crawling only on certain elements that seem fairly uncommon and a strange white line on some objects, which are somewhat common, but 9/10 times you won't notice them while playing.
     
  2. GuruKnight

    GuruKnight Master Guru

    Messages:
    867
    Likes Received:
    15
    GPU:
    2 x 980 Ti AMP! Ex
    Of course, I tried EVERYTHING :)
    When testing AO flags, I always start without downsampling, forced AA etc.
    And I only reduce or turn off settings if necessary.

    Btw I added a "snazzy" new logo to my NVIDIA master thread:
    http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=392715

    I have also now officially removed both the Dead Space 2 and Dark Souls 2 HBAO+ bits from my spreadsheet.
    Good riddance IMO ;)
     
  3. airshiraz

    airshiraz Active Member

    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    gtx 970
    hbao+ is not so good
    its a really bad technique and not realistic at all (its too dark )
    just look at these pics from far cry 4
    with hbao it seems the room is burnt
    http://cubeupload.com/im/scjyKo.png
    http://cubeupload.com/im/8toZ8p.png
    and no distance shadows !!!!just campare it to ssbc in far cry 4
    i dont like ssbc too(so exagerated) but compare hbao+ to no ao for distance shadows and it has no effect at all
     
    Last edited: Dec 1, 2014
  4. lowenz

    lowenz Master Guru

    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 750Ti
    Last edited: Nov 30, 2014

  5. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,183
    Likes Received:
    165
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    And of course how HEAVILY the developers choose to shade in occluded areas of light when implementing the shader in the game.
     
  6. kolatores

    kolatores Member

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    660 GTX

    this dont work effect of this profile 19 in minimal placebo in ac 1 brotherhood and reveletion nothing work or there will be heavy bleeding as there is snow smoke fog and other shaders used

    the only way to get ao in game 1 is to downgrade driver and use ssao and i think is worth it

    i didnt test game 2 but i think a lot of profile will work with minimal bleeding as this diffrent version of engine
     
  7. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,183
    Likes Received:
    165
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    It's not a placebo at all. I can see the AO perfectly.
     
  8. ZabaZuu

    ZabaZuu Active Member

    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    RTX 2080
    You chose the singular series where HBAO+ looks like ****, and it looks like **** by design, not from the technique. My favorite comparison on here is probably the FFXIV comparison, so check that out before you judge it.
     
  9. airshiraz

    airshiraz Active Member

    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    gtx 970
    yeah i have to admit its great in some games but it still has the problems i mentioned
     
  10. kolatores

    kolatores Member

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    660 GTX
    good for u LOL
     

  11. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,183
    Likes Received:
    165
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
  12. odellus

    odellus Member

    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    RTX 2080
    any flags for the new dx11 renderer in red faction guerrilla?
     
  13. lowenz

    lowenz Master Guru

    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 750Ti
    There's a DX11 renderer in the new release?
     
  14. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,183
    Likes Received:
    165
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Hm. Looks like they updated more than they gave on.

    I will have to give it a shot maybe.

    I've got 2 games finished and ready to post so far and have 2 more in my own queue. Maybe i'll add that.
     
  15. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,183
    Likes Received:
    165
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    http://www.re4hd.com/

    Given the progress of this project, RE4 really needs some good AO more than ever. All those amazing textures and the flat lighting of the game. Hnnnggg


    Maybe i'll give it another shot.
     

  16. KoKlusz

    KoKlusz Active Member

    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 970
    Don't bother, I've tried everything back when game released, nothing but (IIRC) 1A and 1B worked, and both flags had flickering issues. Apparently You can force AO (SAO/HBAO) via Gedosato, there is already a config.
     
  17. pedigrew

    pedigrew Master Guru

    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX770 SC ACX 2GB
    forcing with gedo works, but in-game aa must be disabled to avoid graphical corruption. will test "MSSAO" method again. "SAO" method crashes the game. "HBAO" (very gpu taxing when downsampling) works but bleed through hud and fog, but seems to be the best option ATM, since driver level ao is impossible with tons of flickering (flags "0x00000002" or "0x00000013" as example). "VSSAO2" same bleeding issues.

    both hbao and vssao2 methods has this corruption -> http://abload.de/img/corruptrlaah.png

    no ao -> http://abload.de/img/noao0sdik.png
    gedo "HBAO" method -> http://abload.de/img/gedohbao08e8q.png

    no ao -> http://abload.de/img/aooffldi9t.png
    gedo "VSSAO2" method -> http://abload.de/img/vssao2eie6l.png
     
    Last edited: Dec 6, 2014
  18. KoKlusz

    KoKlusz Active Member

    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 970
    Thanks for testing. About SAO, try editing anything in SAO file (main gedo folder>assets>dx9) and save it, this fixes crashing for me. Also, there is a way to minimize the bleeding, maybe You could give it a shoot.
     
  19. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,183
    Likes Received:
    165
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    I am a sad panda. I'll take the AA over the AO any day. Looks like the HBAO bleeds at a distance too, and the VSSAO shot looks pretty un-ideal. :uhoh:
     
    Last edited: Dec 5, 2014
  20. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,183
    Likes Received:
    165
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    I could only find one flag that produced an effect in DX11 RFG.

    Only problem is there is some bleeding, (Some is also present with 2D in DX9 I am now seeing). The in game AO in DX11 doesn't bleed in the same way, and has it's own set of problems.

    I don't know if this is from the recent update. Or if I just missed it first time around.

    No AO http://i.minus.com/iSU3IKWbXiJrp.png
    DX11 HBAO+ http://i.minus.com/iT2PV8EbBCPZx.png
    DX9 HBAO+ http://i.minus.com/iuWwOVnDpPjs.png

    In game AO issues http://i.minus.com/ibgYWlA69NZaVl.png vs no Ao http://i.minus.com/i3d7z1EYLgyg8.png


    I've tried a lot of flags for DX11 with only the one flag working.

    Perhaps I need to see if I can fix DX9 at least.

    I found another flag working for DX9 that doesn't bleed through distance fog. But now bleeds through near field alpha effects like smoke, or even HDR!
    ex
    Working fine (Op scene from above.) http://i.minus.com/iKZXkG8Kt5ABR.png

    NERP http://i.minus.com/ilAPpQEXwyyFr.png (It doesn't do it exclusively in start menu. Accidently brought that up while shooting the picture)
     
    Last edited: Dec 6, 2014

Share This Page