HBAO+ Compatibility Flags Thread

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by MrBonk, Mar 3, 2014.

  1. GuruKnight

    GuruKnight Master Guru

    Messages:
    861
    Likes Received:
    12
    GPU:
    2 x 980 Ti AMP! Ex
    Is it possible to turn off that awful film grain effect? :)
     
  2. whitespider

    whitespider Member Guru

    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    4770k
    Nvse or new vegas script extender adds engine extensions that allow the most popular mods to work. It's the same as skse for skyrim and obse for oblivion and fose for fallout 3. And using that flag does not work with nvse at all, new vegas stutter remover also makes engine related changes that eliminates stuttering in-engine. I have had "some" results using other flags, but they are poor so far.

    Actually the other flag you supplied works 0x0000002D, i am going to test it indoors and see if the on/off flicker you speak of remains true for an nvse enabled fnv
     
    Last edited: Nov 5, 2014
  3. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,973
    Likes Received:
    72
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Film grain looks quite sublime. But no, I added that from GeDoSaTo to help add noise when I had to use SGSSAA that was slightly blurry even with downsampling (12C1 flag.) ON top of the in game motion blur.
    (As well to be more filmic given the series cinematic styling and undertones. And given that the first game in the series uses a lot of pre-rendered 720p FMVs with no AA. So why not go for consistency. Grain helps a bit with those)

    the majority of the blur in those shots was not from SGSSAA but the in game Motion blur which is disablable and QUITE a heavy effect. If you take a a screenshot without AA when there is motion blur in play, it's just as blurry.
    Ex:
    http://i.minus.com/ib0tgDkE8ZOIip.png
    http://i.minus.com/iRs8A0Ht3irDq.png
    http://i.minus.com/iLriQf92BrHs7.png
    http://i.minus.com/ibo9IkmecPjIz3.png

    And I have fixed the SGSSAA issues as well so there is no more blur. Just haven't taken screens yet
     
    Last edited: Nov 6, 2014
  4. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,973
    Likes Received:
    72
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    - Castlevania Lords of Shadow: Mirror of Fate HD -
    _____________________________________________________
    General and important information:

    CLOSMOFHD is a bit of an odd duckling.
    Originally a 3DS game, ported to PCs and consoles, but still retaining the 3DS's 15:9 aspect ratio. So no matter what AR you play in. The game will still only be played in a 15:9 viewport within your resolution.
    Confirmation of this at 1600x900 resolution shows that there is exactly a 50px width black bar on each side of the screen. (1600 - 100 = 1500 | 1600x900 becomes 1500x900=15:9)

    However this information is only relevant if you want to use HBAO+, which is only possible if playing the game in a 15:9 resolution!


    When it comes to Anti Aliasing, the game comes with a somewhat costly MLAA solution that doesn't look good at all. And someone had originally reported some solutions for SGSSAA, however there were a few problems.
    • AA was either blurry
    • Or there was microstuttering
    However, with hours of testing, if I could maintain 60FPS there was absolutely 0 microstuttering!
    Which checks one thing off that list.

    What that person didn't see however, is that with either AA Flag, there were two other MAJOR problems.
    • SGSSAA conflicts and messes with the lighting of the game causing it to flicker between different conditions
    • There is a huge white line in the middle of the screen (AKA: Source engine games)

    Here is a video showing the white line in the center and the lighting flickering

    Now with other games/engines that have this white line issue, the AA Fix usually does the trick. And the same is true here! With 12C1 it even fixes the blurring problems!

    But there is ANOTHER major problem with the AAFix enabled. The lighting flickering becomes MUCH worse!


    So at this point, I was beyond frustrated. I tried to find solutions that mitigate the white line issue as much as possible because I had no idea where to start with the lighting.
    Turns out that OGSSAA modes don't suffer the white line issue even at all. (In the case of OGSSAA, there isn't even any blurring!)

    I thought maybe using HSAA+SGSSAA would produce better results.
    It did, but the white line was still quite visible. So the next thought I had was to instead try using my GeDoSaTo downsampling trick to help with the sharpness due to the blurring with SGSSAA

    GeDo DS Trick = Set downsample resolution in GeDo then set the present resolution to that same resolution ; important make sure you have created this custom resolution in NVCP!; and use some sharpening and also a resampling filter to pre-filter the image before it gets downsampled bilinearly by the driver

    This ended up working pretty well, here's an example screenshot using 1.5x1.5 of 1500x900 & 4xS+2xSGSSAA ( (Only doing sharpening+Resampling filter, then downsampled with photoshop using Bilinear filter. Using a 15:9 resolution also allows HBAO+ to work)

    It also subdued the lighting issue a very small amount. But still wasn't fixed.
    So back to the drawing board!

    I tried everything under the sun at this point, from AA behavior flags (Not compatibility flags. Behavior flags usually disable AA. Yeah I was desperate)
    To even setting functions within the driver that are not even visible from Inspector. (Don't ask). Nothing worked! I was so irritated.

    Unsatisfied, I went back to simply changing the AA compatibility functions. It took several hours until I finally found one that not only fixed the lighting issues, but it did so while also fixing the blur with SGSSAA and the white line if the AAFix is used whilst not messing up the lighting anymore!
    _____________________________________________________________

    HBAO+:

    This will only work when you are using a 15:9 resolution. Nothing else works. In cutscenes it only applies to character models
    0x00000002
    No AO| http://i.minus.com/ipJMsiajg4Gg0.png http://i.minus.com/iHSiy93vlHZOe.png
    HBAO+| http://i.minus.com/ibvd9nVu8zkptP.png http://i.minus.com/iDmFv9gZDLgqP.png

    So here are some example 15:9 resolutions from many common resolutions and aspect ratios you can use. (Just make sure scaling is set to aspect ratio in NVCP)
    1280x768
    1440x864
    1500x900
    1680x1008
    1800x1080
    1920x1152
    2000x1200
    2250x1350
    2880x1728
    3000x1800
    ___________________________________________________________

    AntiAliasing:
    AAFix is only needed for SGSSAA! It will mess up HSAA modes and OGSSAA!
    SGSSAA (Needs AAFix),OGSSAA,HSAA (+-SGSSAA)
    0x002012C1

    If you dont' care about HBAO+ or SGSSAA, I highly recommend using Driver FXAA+ 2x2 DSR! It looks pretty darn good! The filter gets some stuff better than even high ratio bicubic downsampling with GeDoSaTo. But both suffer some issues because of the strange bloom solution that gets subtlely worse with higher resolution. Causes some strange temporal aliasing issues.

    8xSGSSAA No AAFix | 8xSGSSAA With AAFix

    (Pictures are matched by scene. You can switch between tabs in Firefox easily via Control+PageUp or PageDown to compare shots easier)
    No AA | Title, Cutscene, Opening, Simon
    8xSGSSAA | Title, Cutscene, Opening, Simon
    4x4 OGSSAA | Title, Cutscene, Opening, Simon
    16xS+4xSGSSAA (noAAFix needed)| Title, Cutscene, Opening, Simon
    2.4x2.4 +FXAA (Bicubic) GeDo| Title, Cutscene, Opening, Simon
    3.2x3.2 +FXAA (Bicubic) GeDo| Title, Cutscene, Opening, Simon

    (You can use SMAA or FXAA with GeDo, the differences are non-existent when downsampling until you look at the pixel level)
     
    Last edited: Nov 6, 2014

  5. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,436
    Likes Received:
    1,506
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti OC
    COD WAW huge bleeding with default flag, is there anything new?

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]


    Speaking of COD, I see COD4 has COD MW3 flag as "ideal", but last time I tried that it had smoke see trough as well, dunno will have to see again.
     
  6. KoKlusz

    KoKlusz Active Member

    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 970
    What flag exactly are You using for WAW? 05 or 28? And in MW does bleeding occur in single or multi player? Could you post screenshots?
     
  7. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,436
    Likes Received:
    1,506
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti OC
    ^
    Default WAW flag for WAW, idk about single, multi only by both.
     
  8. KoKlusz

    KoKlusz Active Member

    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 970
    Try 28 (MW3 flag) for WAW.
     
  9. GuruKnight

    GuruKnight Master Guru

    Messages:
    861
    Likes Received:
    12
    GPU:
    2 x 980 Ti AMP! Ex
    I found a nice HBAO+ flag "0x0002002C" for both DX9 and DX10 mode of Company of Heroes.
    Once again the official DX10 flag "0x00070000" is completely useless, since it bleeds heavily through smoke and particle effects.
    Who the heck tests these official flags? Flying monkeys? :p

    Anyway, here is my AA/AO/tweak guide for reference purposes in the list:
    http://www.forum-3dcenter.org/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=10414299&postcount=103
     
  10. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,973
    Likes Received:
    72
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Another one bites the dust!
     

  11. ZabaZuu

    ZabaZuu Active Member

    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
    Why does Nvidia even bother? They should just release the tools so the community can make them :/ I honestly can't figure out why they haven't done that.
     
  12. Grimbarian

    Grimbarian Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,581
    Likes Received:
    240
    GPU:
    AMD RX5700 8gb
    Bit late to the party but great job thanks! About to test :)
     
  13. Dictator93

    Dictator93 Master Guru

    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    EVGA Titan X
    Update to F.E.A.R. 1 flag

    Hey everyone, I have made some progress with the HBAO+ flag for F.E.A.R. 1 as provided by this thread. The "0x00000008" flag as recommended here produces artifacts with smoke and through glass transparencies (you can see the AO on distant objects through them).

    As evidenced here:
    "0x00000008" smoke
    Nvidia Inspector Setting

    On the other hand, the "0x0000001A (Street Fighter IV, Street Fighter IV(Benchmark))" Ambient Occlusion bit still provides AO at basically the same cost, but without the ability for it to be seen through smoke or glass.

    As shown here.
    "0x0000001A" smoke
    Nvidia Inspector setting

    And to show that the AO is working properly:
    0x00000008 flag (recommended here)

    0x0000001A fixed flag (my recommendation)

    No AO

    So I recommend changing the AO flag recommendation for F.E.A.R. to the "0x0000001A" AO compaitibility bit. It may not be as dark, but it still works and doesnt have glaring issues.

    EDIT: More images for comparison

    None
    0x0000001A (fix)
    0x00000008 (broken smoke, darker)
     
    Last edited: Nov 8, 2014
  14. GuruKnight

    GuruKnight Master Guru

    Messages:
    861
    Likes Received:
    12
    GPU:
    2 x 980 Ti AMP! Ex
    Very nice find Dictator93 :)
    But I think we should instead change the HBAO+ listing for F.E.A.R. to "0x0000001A" (subtle) or "0x00000008" (strong).
    The "0x00000008" profile does apply a much nicer AO effect overall IMO, and some people might be willing to live with those smoke problems ;)
     
  15. pedigrew

    pedigrew Master Guru

    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX770 SC ACX 2GB
    Last edited: Nov 8, 2014

  16. pedigrew

    pedigrew Master Guru

    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX770 SC ACX 2GB
    - Condemned: Criminal Origins -

    Flag: 0x0000002D

    Comparison
    NO AO: http://i.minus.com/ibjkOT5MLUGYua.png
    HBAO+: http://i.minus.com/iX2PYsZDOVKbi.png

    It bleeds through volumetric lights :/, so i recommend you to disable "Volumetric Lights" in video options. Sometimes it also bleeds through the hud. I've noticed flickering only during cutscenes. :bang:

    Volumetric Lights ON ("2D") -> http://i.minus.com/ibggVfxHNUeAMd.png
    Volumetric Lights OFF ("2D") -> http://i.minus.com/iEfKphsa4XsPm.png

    The majority of the flags has flickering or drawning issues like these -> https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HphgVwv-Y7Y&list=UU0DBhWM_Taayulefvp2Llug | http://youtu.be/3eO6oMnsy6g

    IMO hbao isn't recommended due to major issues, but feel free to try since this flag provides a considerably improvement on IQ.
     
    Last edited: Nov 10, 2014
  17. pedigrew

    pedigrew Master Guru

    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX770 SC ACX 2GB
    omg hbao for Dead Space 3 is horrible, it messes with lighting sources.
    there are 3 working flags, "2F", "26" and "34", they has the same issues, all of them flickers depending on the camera angle :bang:

    comparison
    off -> http://i.minus.com/iUPDfbrsUBwot.png
    ingame ssao -> http://i.minus.com/irvuNX4QkiSRz.png
    hbao+ (26) -> http://i.minus.com/ixHi3ibttnuYk.png

    http://www.forum-3dcenter.org/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=10168620&postcount=5702 - lighting tweak worked, but the flickering persist and is very annoying

    comparison (Lightning Quality= Normal)
    off -> http://i.minus.com/i4uvxgc3sUU4Z.png
    ingame ssao -> http://i.minus.com/iZOuJgUR3Smy3.png
    hbao+ (26) -> http://i.minus.com/iun4Ho2gHGf4.png

    ingame ssao is sufficient for me, and IMO hbao for ds3 isn't recommended :puke2:
     
    Last edited: Feb 1, 2015
  18. Dictator93

    Dictator93 Master Guru

    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    EVGA Titan X
    Good point! I do actually prefer the stronger one, but there is soooo mch damn smoke and glass in F.E.A.R. that it distracts me! :p
     
  19. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,973
    Likes Received:
    72
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Have anyshots with glass?
     
  20. whitespider

    whitespider Member Guru

    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    4770k
    That's outright broken.
     

Share This Page