HBAO+ Compatibility Flags Thread

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by MrBonk, Mar 3, 2014.

  1. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,974
    Likes Received:
    72
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    In my testing i've yet to see disappearing water. Interesting.

    Even if I dont' run into it. You can never get 100% sharpness and 100% AA quality. There is always going to be some averaging(Smoothing) to get as close to the ground truth as possible.

    Edit: EDIT2: I haven't found any missing water after testing again without any AA. And it certainly doesn't affect ocean water.

    http://i5.minus.com/i414CSkYVaI42.png

    If you can find pictures of said missing water, i'd love to see it. Am not finding it myself.


    But also you can downsample the game in DX9 with GeDoSaTo easily and get phenomenal IQ along with HBAO+ as long as you use a controller (Because it breaks mouse input)
    (Edit: GeDoSaTo unfortunately breaks HBAO+. Where as Driver downsampling doesn't)
    It doesn't AA some elements as well as SGSSAA but the iQ is a lot better.


    No AA http://i.minus.com/iblQhnf5NvFfgl.png
    Built in FXAA http://i.minus.com/iSMyZwOnnwQ5Q.png
    4xSGSSAA http://i.minus.com/ibnzD7kp08lniM.png
    4k + FXAA Bicubic to 1600x900 http://i.minus.com/iJOlH3Tji9aJT.png
     
    Last edited: Jul 15, 2014
  2. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,974
    Likes Received:
    72
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    - Far Cry 3 -
    Flag: 0x00000019 (Subtle) 0x0000001F (Strong)
    ________________________________________________________________
    General Information:
    There is a caveat to using HBAO+ in FC3, and that is when using the camera item in game, HBAO+ doesn't apply/work correctly. It will flicker on and off here and there, and is applied far too strongly.

    Ex Pictures:
    http://i.minus.com/iy4MJjQa7mhnQ.png
    http://i.minus.com/ioKrUiqkywfi1.png
    http://i.minus.com/ii9wxdHJfwQ52.png
    http://i.minus.com/iLegcIawL5lfh.png
    http://i.minus.com/ibwAuen9pAr1ry.png
    http://i.minus.com/ix5tCCXXDq0dF.png
    http://i.minus.com/isDpaoH1nfb11.png

    Otherwise it looks/works fine.

    19 and 1F are the only suitable flags that work with the least issues. I tested probably 50+ flags. It was not very fun. (And they both share the same exact issues)


    Game needs to be run in DX9 mode, either via the in game options OR editing your "Gamerprofile.xml" And setting the value of " UseD3D11=" to "0"

    As well the built in AO needs to be disabled via setting the value of "SSAOLevel=" to "0"

    Make sure to set the .xml file to "Read-Only" in windows. Otherwise it may not stick.


    There are a lot of other tweaks that can be made to this XML file but i've yet to really dive into most of it aside from disabling the built in FXAA and the poor quality DoF


    ALSO: HBAO+ does seem to work with driver downsampling in my tests, but not when using GeDoSaTo, which is unfortunate.


    ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||

    A worthwhile alternative is using " SSAOLevel="6" " in the Gamerprofile.xml
    It is pictured below, and it comes with it's own issues as well such as depth discontinuities like Clouding, being applied more like a drop shadow Photoshop effect on many objects rather than light occlusion.


    There is also some bleeding onto the first person gun/hand model when up close on some objects.


    The good news is that the higher the resolution you play the game at, the better SSAO6 looks.

    Ex Pictures:
    (Downsampled using GeDoSaTo Release 9 from 3840x2160 with FXAA)
    http://i.minus.com/iUMaI0yOIckhU.png
    http://i.minus.com/iAnXHFaLfkF4y.png

    Compare the first picture with this one of using HBAO+ with 19
    http://i.minus.com/iIy3GhwLOh0zX.png
    _____________________________________________________________
    Pictures:

    No AO http://i.minus.com/ib1I11vlzEcnhG.png
    SSAO http://i.minus.com/ifbawCvkPeC7t.png
    SSAO Level 6 http://i.minus.com/iSgG3gfzAFT5z.png
    HBAO http://i.minus.com/iw6zIkIbbjaek.png
    HDAO http://i.minus.com/i2HwRKgDpV9nF.png
    19 HBAO+ http://i.minus.com/iGbfnLVzdnXby.png
    1F HBAO+ http://i.minus.com/ioP4VhxCJJjg5.png
     
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2014
  3. GuruKnight

    GuruKnight Master Guru

    Messages:
    861
    Likes Received:
    12
    GPU:
    2 x 980 Ti AMP! Ex
    I may try out a combination of 1.5x1.5 downsampling and SGSSAA then :)
    Here is some relevant information you can add to your SGSSAA post (see post #229 by Kingping1):

    https://forums.geforce.com/default/topic/524584/3d-vision/far-cry-3/post/3722481/#3722481
     
  4. KoKlusz

    KoKlusz Active Member

    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 970
    Splinter Cell: Chaos Theory refuses to work with any official flag.


    MrBonk, do you have any suggestions for non official flags that could work with DmC?
     
    Last edited: Jul 15, 2014

  5. GuruKnight

    GuruKnight Master Guru

    Messages:
    861
    Likes Received:
    12
    GPU:
    2 x 980 Ti AMP! Ex
    I have now tested both HBAO+ and SGSSAA in the DX9 mode of Far Cry 3.
    "0x004010C1" is sufficient for SGSSAA, and it doesn't blur at all IMO with driver auto LOD :)

    In terms of HBAO+, the "2D" flags flickers on and off in some scenes depending on the viewing angle.
    But setting SSAOLevel="6" in GamerProfile.xml produces a very nice AO effect in DX9, which complements forced SGSSAA perfectly :thumbup:

    I have written up a detailed report for the game, which I think is very relevant to use as an additional reference in your HBAO+ list:
    http://www.forum-3dcenter.org/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=10281340&postcount=92
     
  6. Yecnot

    Yecnot Master Guru

    Messages:
    856
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    R9 270 2GB
    The flag on the first post for Halo CE doesn't work.
     
  7. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,974
    Likes Received:
    72
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    I've yet to see any flickering on and off. Are you sure you aren't just seeing issues like the metric **** ton of Z-fighting and shadow z-fighting in cutscenes? (Example: Play the opening of the game with the DoF disabled. The grass and shadows during the cutscene go nuts, but once out of the cutscene it is fine)

    It's also possible that it could be flickering on and off due to your resolution and aspect ratio. That has happened before with other games.

    Because I haven't seen it yet.

    I am playing more and more and am not finding any.

    The most i'm getting is some minor issues when super upclose to stuff in buildings
    http://i.minus.com/ib1Vxj8l9zFv9N.png
    http://i.minus.com/iO0wuxFteRbc7.png

    Edit:

    I did find another issue.

    using the camera
    http://i.minus.com/ibaA3VZM4Yx5Py.png
    http://i.minus.com/i7dNcZQcGk5Dn.png


    Edit again: I found that 0x00000031 worked better, didn't have the issues of 2D> and with the camera, it only seems to flicker occasionally on or off when moving randomly. When standing still doesn't seem to be affected.
     
    Last edited: Jul 16, 2014
  8. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,974
    Likes Received:
    72
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
  9. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,974
    Likes Received:
    72
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Isn't Chaos Theory DX8 or something I think?

    I do seem to recall that it does have quirks as it is.

    DmC, I don't unfortunately other than those i've listed in prior posts(Read the last few pages I guess)

    Have you tried every other flag?
     
  10. KoKlusz

    KoKlusz Active Member

    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 970
    Chaos Theory supports both DX8 and DX9, tested with the later, but yeah, this game is wonky on modern systems, at least Steam version.

    I've tested DmC with every DX9 flag listed in Inspector, 20 is the best i found, I'm gonna try flags you listed earlier.

    Oh, and Halo flag works for me, but bleeding is kinda bad.
     

  11. GuruKnight

    GuruKnight Master Guru

    Messages:
    861
    Likes Received:
    12
    GPU:
    2 x 980 Ti AMP! Ex
    I'm 100% positive, that "2D" flickers on and off in FC3.
    Whether it is my settings, the resolution or something else I couldn't say for sure, but for me compatibility is the most important.
    And SSAOLevel="6" looks very nice, especially when combined with 4xSGSSAA.

    At 1920x1200 with "ULTRA" settings, 8xSGSSAA is too much for even my 780 GTX SLI setup in FC3 (at least if you want minimal stuttering and a smooth frame rate) :wanker:
    But the SGSSAA quality with "0x004010C1" is so high, that 8xSGSSAA strictly speaking isn't really necessary ;)
    Also, as you said yourself earlier, I didn't notice any graphical glitches or other problems with forced DX9 SGSSAA in FC3 (played a few full hours yesterday with my new DX9 settings).
     
  12. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,974
    Likes Received:
    72
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    I will give that SSAO a try. Still trying flags.

    31 flickers on and off based on an angle like 2D does.

    1F works so far, no flickering on and off. But it has issues when using the camera (Same black clouding issue as 2D) when zooming in with the camera in the distance it bleeds a lot too.
     
  13. GuruKnight

    GuruKnight Master Guru

    Messages:
    861
    Likes Received:
    12
    GPU:
    2 x 980 Ti AMP! Ex
    Maybe the Dunia engine was changed too much from FC2 -> FC3 to allow trouble-free driver-forced AO?

    To me it seems like all the fancy new lighting and post processing in FC3 is preventing "2D" and other stronger AO profiles from working fully as intended.
    "2D" works without major issues in FC2, except that it slightly bleeds through distant trees etc.

    Also, you forgot to add "0x0000002F" for The Bureau: XCOM Declassified:
    http://www.forum-3dcenter.org/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=10275978&postcount=89
     
    Last edited: Jul 17, 2014
  14. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,974
    Likes Received:
    72
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    After testing the only remotely stable flag is 0x00000019 (Edit: 1F also), It still has issues with the in game camera item. (And i'm guessing sniper scopes maybe? I don't know. I can't play far enough to check that)

    Performance hit is about the same or less as SSAO-L6
    which isn't awful, but has issues of it's own. (The higher the resolution you play the game at though. The better it looks)

    With SLI 780's, you should try downsampling with SSAO-L6 with the latest GeDoSaTo with SMAA or FXAA

    With my 570 using SSAO-L6 and FXAA at 3840x2160 I got about 15-20FPS, but the AO did look a lot better. It didn't look as good as SGSSAA in some aspect as far as AA goes, but with those 780's you may be able to go to a much higher resolution for a better effect.

    I will update my FC3 post
     
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2014
  15. KoKlusz

    KoKlusz Active Member

    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 970
    Dear Esther

    0x00000009

    I didn't have any issues with this one.

    Outdoors:

    On
    Off

    Indoors:

    On
    Off

    _______________________________________________________________

    As for DmC, none of custom flags worked.
     

  16. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,974
    Likes Received:
    72
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Thanks. Appreciate trying.
     
  17. tapioks

    tapioks Active Member

    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    GTX 780M 4GB
    Hi Mr. Bonk.

    So it turns out that 2F is a better flag for Borderlands 2 than the currently recommended 20 flag. They both look about the same, except for the AO will 'lock out of phase' with the image occasionally using the 20 flag. This is the same experience I had when I tested Remember Me; with 2F there are no issues, not even bleed :)
     
  18. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,974
    Likes Received:
    72
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Alrighty thank you. I'll update that
     
  19. tapioks

    tapioks Active Member

    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    GTX 780M 4GB
    @Mr. Bonk

    Do you know an HBAO+ flag for Binary Domain?

    I am able to use 20, 29 and 30, though curiously these seem to just look like 'standard' SSAO, with little depth and a lot of noise.

    And my 'favorite' UE flag, 2F, seems to drop the framerate by half : /

    This game looks quite nice with SGSSAA, was hoping to add icing to the cake here :)
     
  20. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,974
    Likes Received:
    72
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    No Idea. I do have the game though, I will have to download and give it a shot maybe. :)
     

Share This Page