HBAO+ Compatibility Flags Thread

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by MrBonk, Mar 3, 2014.

  1. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,223
    Likes Received:
    180
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    IF the game does have it's own AO, it either may be an option in the menu or you'd have to look for telltale signs of SSAO. Typical UE3 SSAO isn't very nice looking.

    But very interesting both your guys shots show wildly different results.
     
    Last edited: Apr 9, 2014
  2. GuruKnight

    GuruKnight Master Guru

    Messages:
    869
    Likes Received:
    16
    GPU:
    2 x 980 Ti AMP! Ex
    Then you are doing something wrong.
    It definitively works for me and BR4DDERS.
     
  3. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    17,173
    Likes Received:
    1,921
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti OC
    ah ok here its clearly visible, maybe its mostly for indoors..
    Although it looks a bit to strong for my taste, is it suitable while playing or overdone with fogging issues (see-through)?

    I tested only outdoor and I didnt see anything yet + it wasn't smooth, gonna try performance mode later.
     
  4. GuruKnight

    GuruKnight Master Guru

    Messages:
    869
    Likes Received:
    16
    GPU:
    2 x 980 Ti AMP! Ex
    Yep, there is definitively some fogging issues in those screens.
    But then again "2F" is a quite aggressive AO profile, since it contains all but one of the DX9 AO bits, namely the UE3 bit.
    Switching to "performance" mode isn't going to fix those issues.
    If I were you, I would instead spend some energy finding a different AO flag ;)
     

  5. robgrab

    robgrab Member Guru

    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ASUS Strix 1080 8GB
    To show you what I'm talking about I created a photo gallery showing what the 0x00020023 flag looks like in Bioshock 2. There are two photos each. The first one is always titled ON, where it's enabled, and the second one is OFF, where it's disabled. I can't spot any differences and there are certain areas where I would expect to see shading but I don't.

    https://www.flickr.com/photos/46070107@N02/sets/72157643776660544/
     
    Last edited: Apr 12, 2014
  6. Bradders684

    Bradders684 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,007
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 980 Ti GAMING
    Feel free to try these known flags. :D

    0x00000002
    0x00000003
    0x00000004
    0x00000005
    0x00000006
    0x00000007
    0x00000008
    0x00000009
    0x0000000A
    0x0000000D
    0x0000000E
    0x0000000F
    0x00000010
    0x00000011
    0x00000012
    0x00000013
    0x00000014
    0x00000015
    0x00000016
    0x00000017
    0x00000018
    0x00000019
    0x0000001A
    0x0000001C
    0x0000001D
    0x0000001E
    0x0000001F
    0x00000020
    0x00000021
    0x00000022
    0x00000024
    0x00000025
    0x00000026
    0x00000027
    0x00000028
    0x00000029
    0x0000002A
    0x0000002B
    0x0000002C
    0x0000002D
    0x0000002E
    0x0000002F
    0x00000030
    0x00000031
    0x00000032
    0x00010000
    0x00020000
    0x00020023
    0x00040000
    0x00050000
    0x00060000
    0x00060019
    0x00070000
    0x00080000
    0x00090000
    0x000A0000
    0x000A0028
    0x000A002D
    0x000B0000
    0x000C0000
    0x000D0001
    0x000E0000
    0x000F0000
    0x00100000
    0x00110000
     
  7. robgrab

    robgrab Member Guru

    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ASUS Strix 1080 8GB
    Thanks, I'll give those a shot and compare them. I created the gallery because GuruKnight said that particular flag was working for you guys. I just wanted to show you what I was getting to see if you guys you were getting something different than me. That flag works great for the original Bioshock.
     
  8. GuruKnight

    GuruKnight Master Guru

    Messages:
    869
    Likes Received:
    16
    GPU:
    2 x 980 Ti AMP! Ex
    No, I was ONLY talking about BioShock 1, not BioShock 2.
    Don't even own BS2 myself.
    The fact remains, that "0x00020023" works very well for the original BioShock :)
     
  9. GuruKnight

    GuruKnight Master Guru

    Messages:
    869
    Likes Received:
    16
    GPU:
    2 x 980 Ti AMP! Ex
    I completely agree, there is no HBAO+ going on in those screenshot comparisons.
    But since "23" works for BS1 in DX9 mode, I would start with something similar like "0x00000022", "0x00000026" or "0x00000025" for BioShock 2 ;)
     
  10. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,223
    Likes Received:
    180
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    yup, another example of , same engine, similar rendering =/= compatibility always. It is a frustrating issue.
     

  11. robgrab

    robgrab Member Guru

    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ASUS Strix 1080 8GB
  12. airshiraz

    airshiraz Active Member

    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    gtx 970
    i think some hbao+flags are proved that are correct and must add to list
    call of duty modren warfare 3 00000028
    resident evil 5 000c0000
    resident evil 6 000c0000
    mirrors edge 000002
     
  13. Jakshi

    Jakshi Member Guru

    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    PoV GTX680@1300/3700
    @robgrab: Awesome, I was hoping someone would find a Bioschock 2 flag.
    But I have 2 questions:
    In your post you say its 0x0002002D on flikr its says 0x0000002D.
    Also is the bit for DX9 only?
     
  14. lowenz

    lowenz Master Guru

    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 750Ti
    What a great work you're doing guys! Thanks!

    And nVidia too must thank you!
     
  15. robgrab

    robgrab Member Guru

    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ASUS Strix 1080 8GB

    You're right, it is 0x0002002D. I've changed the name of the photo gallery to reflect that. And, yes, this was using DX9. In fact, I used the "-dx9" command in Steam's launch properties to force it. Sorry for the confusion.
     

  16. GuruKnight

    GuruKnight Master Guru

    Messages:
    869
    Likes Received:
    16
    GPU:
    2 x 980 Ti AMP! Ex
    I suppose it is not really surprising, that "0x0002002D" works for HBAO+ in BioShock 2 DX9.
    In my testing of BioShock 1, I also found that "2D" worked, but flickered rapidly on and off when approaching stairs, walls and so on:
    http://www.forum-3dcenter.org/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=10162862&postcount=5684

    Did you encounter such problems with "2D" in BioShock 2?
     
  17. robgrab

    robgrab Member Guru

    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ASUS Strix 1080 8GB
    Nope. Buttery smooth. Never tried this flag with Bioshock 1.
     
  18. GuruKnight

    GuruKnight Master Guru

    Messages:
    869
    Likes Received:
    16
    GPU:
    2 x 980 Ti AMP! Ex
  19. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,223
    Likes Received:
    180
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Need screenshots please.
     
  20. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    17,173
    Likes Received:
    1,921
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti OC
    ^
    btw all those flags are default ones, except for RE6.



    RE5 flag doesnt work with RE6, at least last time I checked.
    I made a screen of a working one once, but idk which anymore -_-.. Should be from MT engine

    [​IMG]

    Although there is some minor fogging by sun shafts (godrays), but character has nice AO, all others didnt have any visibility on character
     

Share This Page