HBAO+ Compatibility Flags Thread

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by MrBonk, Mar 3, 2014.

  1. EnthusiastX

    EnthusiastX Member

    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    EVGA RTX 3090
    Has there been any comparison between the Borderlands Pre-Sequel Remastered SSAO and posted HBAO flags? The Remastered version is supposed to have SSAO improvements, but appears to look rather flat...
     
  2. ZabaZuu

    ZabaZuu Active Member

    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    RTX 2080
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2020
  3. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,265
    Likes Received:
    207
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    I'll remove LOS2 then.
     
  4. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,265
    Likes Received:
    207
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Not much we can do to help. Without real documentation from Nvidia it's literally just whack a mole trial and error.
    Believe me, i've spent dozens and dozens of hours attempting to tweak HBAO+ in various games. Sometimes it just doesn't pan out.
    It's a shame more games have not implemented HBAO+ and we are often still stuck with crappy SSAO. And now with the RT push it seems less likely than ever that this will be revisited and we'll be stuck with performance sucking RT modes and or shitty SSAO as our only choices.
     

  5. Markie

    Markie Active Member

    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    GTX 950 2Gb
    @MrBonk What about Assassin's Creed? Check my post on the previous page, please.
     
  6. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,265
    Likes Received:
    207
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
  7. Markie

    Markie Active Member

    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    GTX 950 2Gb
    Alright, thank you. I did try applying the AO flag to all the profiles and .exes and then launching the game from all .exes, nothing worked.
     
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2020
  8. nanogenesis

    nanogenesis Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,288
    Likes Received:
    6
    GPU:
    MSI R9 390X 1178|6350
    I hope this is the right place to enquire..

    I was trying lost planet colonies. I see nvidia has ambient occlusion bits, except that the effect is only applied to a quarter of the scene. If I'm playing at 1440p its applied till 720p only, rescaled. Also its not applied in cutscenes.
     
  9. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,265
    Likes Received:
    207
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Yeah those bits are very old and were from before they switched the driver to HBAO+. Sadly they couldn't be bothered to care to make sure anything even worked or worked correctly.
     
  10. SatsuiNoHado

    SatsuiNoHado Active Member

    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    28
    GPU:
    EVGA 1080Ti FTW3
    pls PIN this thread to the first page with anti aliasing compatibility thread together
    isnt that good ?

    THNX
     
    Markie likes this.

  11. Markie

    Markie Active Member

    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    GTX 950 2Gb
    Dagda likes this.
  12. Cronik

    Cronik Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,288
    Likes Received:
    111
    GPU:
    Nvidia GTX 1080
    Why was this thread unpinned?
     
  13. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,265
    Likes Received:
    207
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Lack of relevance maybe? Unsure.
     
  14. Cronik

    Cronik Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,288
    Likes Received:
    111
    GPU:
    Nvidia GTX 1080
    Anybody able to get ambient occlusion to work in Rainbow Six 3 Raven Shield? I used the d3d8to9 reshade wrapper and MXAO only works on the gun.

    EDIT

    It actually works using the UT3 AO flag but it bleeds through the gun and hand. I wish the effect was stronger though.

    0x00000010 (Unreal Tournament III)

    Before:

    [​IMG]

    After:

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jul 9, 2021
  15. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,265
    Likes Received:
    207
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    If you are willing to hex edit a copy of the dll you can increase the strength if you want
     

  16. Robyn

    Robyn New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 1060-6
    Guys, I was playing Resident Evil 5 Gold Edition recently and after 471.41 driver update official ambient occlusion flag 000C0000 doesn't work anymore. I tried suggested 0000001A, but it was much worse and performance heavy. Also DSR can crash driver and hang whole system now when I'm trying to run RE5 at 4K as I successfully did before. I see you know a lot about this stuff, can you check it out or something please?
     
  17. Numan

    Numan New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 680 / 2 GB
    Fellows please help, maybe someone knows valid HBAO+ flag for the old game The Godfather (2006)
     

Share This Page