HBAO+ Compatibility Flags Thread

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by MrBonk, Mar 3, 2014.

  1. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,251
    Likes Received:
    200
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    No, the game has to be started in order for HBAO+ to work.
    It's a shame it isn't use more officially. As it is by far the best SSAO solution out there. (When it isn't implemented badly. Like Far Cry 4)

    Looking at screens of Halo CEA. Man that is some terrible looking AO. It's like they forgot to turn on the filtering pass that normally cleans up a noisy AO input like this.

    It's honestly pretty astounding how bad a lot of SSAO is these days. And in some cases they behave just outright bizarrely. (Bayonetta, Vanquish)
     
  2. Cyberdyne

    Cyberdyne Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,582
    Likes Received:
    301
    GPU:
    2080 Ti FTW3 Ultra
    To be fair, it mostly looks bad because it's CEA, which is by this point already an old game. In fact, CEA came out 10 years after the original CE (2001 - 2011), and it's almost been 10 years since THAT version.
    But that starts to feel like an excuse, that "Enhanced" option should have been an opportunity to do a lot more than what they did.
     
  3. ZabaZuu

    ZabaZuu Active Member

    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    RTX 2080
    Reach's bad TAA was replaced with FXAA for the MCC.

    Btw, I posted an HBAO+ compatibility flag a while back for Xenoverse 2 and I noticed it wasn't added to the spreadsheet.
     
  4. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,251
    Likes Received:
    200
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Ah I must have missed that sorry. I'll add it. I have not checked this thread as often. As not many people seem to be willing to do the trial and error work to figure this stuff out. So I had forgotten.

    I'll add it. And it's interesting they didn't try to just simply improve Reach's TAA (With the power of modern GPUs they could have had a ton of headroom to really go for high quality) and leave that as an option .
    But i'd still rather just have FXAA. As the TAA in the original Reach was really bad.
     

  5. OrdinaryOregano

    OrdinaryOregano Master Guru

    Messages:
    433
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    MSI 1080 Gaming X
    I have been editing the Half-Life 2 driver entry in Inspector trying to get HBAO or AA options to work in Half Life 2 Update(with MMOD) and it just isn't working. No HBAO+ nor any kind of AA is getting applied for some reason.

    I can do it just fine on Black Mesa so it's not some Source Engine update problem I think. Any ideas why this is happening?



    On an unrelated note @MrBonk can you please edit the OP and make the part with the link bigger? The link on the AA thread for example is more easily accessible/readable.

    "2017: It is no longer possible to directly embed the list. Here's a link to view it instead."
     
    Last edited: Mar 12, 2020
  6. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,251
    Likes Received:
    200
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    I actually can't. The post was made before the forum was updated and even back then I had to get the admin to extend the character limit to allow the post as it was.
    So I cannot edit the post at all anymore. Not unless I delete about 19,000 characters. (Currently sits at about 39k. Forum limit is 20k)
     
  7. S3r1ous

    S3r1ous Member Guru

    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    13
    GPU:
    Palit 1070Ti JS
    MXAO has an effect on weapons, but its really subtle, turn it up, ehh better than nothing i suppose
     
  8. evgenim

    evgenim Master Guru

    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    17
    GPU:
    RTX 2060 OC
    Can you provide some screenshots? Before and after changing flag.
     
  9. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,251
    Likes Received:
    200
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Flags that were made with the old HBAO(non +)/SSAO methods are no longer relevant.
     
  10. OrdinaryOregano

    OrdinaryOregano Master Guru

    Messages:
    433
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    MSI 1080 Gaming X
    Hey there, there's nothing to show in screenshots because no change is being applied. I can understand if you think the shadowing might have been hard to notice if it's too soft AO but neither that nor AA worked, jaggied lines all over.

    I applied both HBAO+ and SGSSAA 2/4/8x and nothing happened neither any shadowing nor any antialiasing applied. Turning it all off and just using 2x MSAA ingame worked fine. I tried using Override/Enhance and every other usable setting for AA as well to no avail.

    I'm really puzzled why it's not working, at this point I'm suspecting it might have some exe recognition issue with HL2 Update and MMOD which makes little sense.
     

  11. evgenim

    evgenim Master Guru

    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    17
    GPU:
    RTX 2060 OC
    HF:BM with HBAO + Reshade + SMAA + AdaptiveSharpen
    [​IMG][​IMG]
    [​IMG][​IMG]
     
  12. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,251
    Likes Received:
    200
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    How does it look when underwater or through things like fog and glass?

    You can just try enhancing the in game MSAA too with a Hybrid Sampling mode. (Unless the OGSSAA modes break MMOD like BM does).
     
  13. Morio

    Morio New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 1070
    Hello, guys!
    Please help me, which flag of ambient occlusion is better (or optimal) to use for RE Revelations 2?
     
  14. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,251
    Likes Received:
    200
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Try them all yourself pretty much. But also, I don't think you can disable the in game SSAO without losing other effects or lowering shadow map quality IIRC. So not much point. The AO in that game isn't completely terrible.
     
  15. Morio

    Morio New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 1070
    Hmm, did I understand correctly that REV2 already has SSAO?
    Perhaps I'll ask a stupid question, but the native SSAO works regardless of whether I enable the ambient occlusion in Nvidia Inspector?
    https://********/8zYK5nV/444.png
     

  16. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,251
    Likes Received:
    200
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Yeah, though I think it may disable the in game SSAO if you set shadows to Low or Medium. I can't remember.
    You could hypothetically find a flag for HBAO+ but you would have to also have to have Shadows set to whatever setting it is that disables it. (It may also be setting post processing lower.)
     
  17. evgenim

    evgenim Master Guru

    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    17
    GPU:
    RTX 2060 OC
    Only in some cases there are bleeding with fog.
     
  18. 0458315753

    0458315753 Active Member

    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    Nvidia RTX 2070S
    Is possible to apply VXAO flags? Presumably no, but I didn't find an answer in this topic.
     
  19. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,251
    Likes Received:
    200
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Nope sorry.
     
  20. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,251
    Likes Received:
    200
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Mind posting what flag this is so I can add it then?
     

Share This Page