1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

HBAO+ Compatibility Flags Thread

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by MrBonk, Mar 3, 2014.

  1. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,947
    Likes Received:
    70
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    If the game is like the port for SO4 it will be bunk, because it will have limited resolution support (Which as far as I have heard it does) and it will be DX11. It also only seems to support a super aggressive Post Process AA option for AA as well.
    (When the original game, like SO4 supported MSAA with alpha coverage support for things like hair.).

    AO may not be off the cards but AA will be disappointing.
    Yeah, DX11 only has the same option for PPAA as SO4 (Probably FXAA but no option for different presets here). Game uses a lot of dithering, so downsampling from 4k is your only option if you have a 1080p or 1440p monitor. If you have a 4k display you are out of luck.

    Their idea of HD textures is lazy too. Like so many others seem to be doing these days, they just run everything through Waifu 2x and call it a day. And that nets you a total disk size of 83GB for the game.
     
    Last edited: Oct 19, 2018
  2. Dweeb

    Dweeb Member

    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX680 4gb
    Even after 4k downsampling there is a ton of aliasing in this game orz. Did they really upscale the textures just using waifu 2x though? That would be funny.

    Was there an AO code for SO4 that I should try for this game? I couldn't find one when I looked yesterday.
     
  3. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,947
    Likes Received:
    70
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    It's pretty obvious they used something based on the same concept or design.
    In fact there's a new document (in Japanese of course) about the development of using deep learning to train an AI or NN on their research page. and inside are of course examples using it to upsample poor quality low res sources. Which of course has it's uses. But it's always used lazily to forgo having to do actual work on textures when used in games. (Another funny thing is when compression artifacts present in the sources they use manage to shine through and get emphasized by the upsampling. FFXII HD had a lot of this with the textures they used from the original game that clearly had a lot of dithering present. No one bothered to actually look at it and try to fix it before upsampling. Just lazy automated work.)
    http://research.tri-ace.com/

    And yes there is a ton of aliasing. Lot of texture, shader aliasing and aliasing from the dithering used on lots and lots of transparent textures and no AtC to clean it up. The upscaled textures also include upscaled normals/speculars and such and in cases increase the amount of aliasing present.

    http://www.screenshotcomparison.com/comparison/122653
    http://www.screenshotcomparison.com/comparison/122652|
    http://www.screenshotcomparison.com/comparison/122651

    I never rebought SO4 (Simply because I wasn't going to play it then so I didn't want to waste the money. I also was hoping SE would patch some of the problems like they did with Chrono Trigger and that would warrant showing support. But they didn't. So I didn't). never tested for HBAO+ in that game.

    Despite the problems here, I bought purely to support Tri-Ace self publishing a game. I might try a few things.


    HBAO+ is a no go. No flag produces any effect.
     
    Last edited: Oct 19, 2018
  4. Dweeb

    Dweeb Member

    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX680 4gb
    That's the same reason I bought the game lol. There was an interview I read about the release that said they were going to look into making a sequel if this works out for them too.
    https://www.inside-games.jp/article/2018/10/17/118121.html

    And yeah, FF12's "remastered" textures were a total joke. It's not nearly as bad in this game thankfully. Sucks about how locked down this port is though, especially compared to FF12.

    Thanks for your time.
     

  5. GuyFawkesGaming

    GuyFawkesGaming Member

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 980 4GB
    Truth be told I don't own RS2: Vietnam; I stumbled upon the post when looking for RO2/RS1 flags and though you might want the flag (probably not my best idea). I can confirm the RO2 flag works though, flickers on some maps but can be stacked with in game AO.
     
  6. Terepin

    Terepin Master Guru

    Messages:
    648
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    GTX 1080
    No HBAO+ for Crash Bandicoot?
     
  7. UZA

    UZA New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    1070 ti
    Thanks for all this information. This is so helpful but i have a lot of questions so can you please look at your PM if you have time.
     
  8. Khronikos

    Khronikos Master Guru

    Messages:
    710
    Likes Received:
    49
    GPU:
    EVGA SC2 1080ti
    Could not find this on the front page. Bumped.
     
  9. Susahamat

    Susahamat Master Guru

    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    148
    GPU:
    GTX 980 Ti Poseidon
    any flags to works in metro exodus ??
     
  10. brazzjazz

    brazzjazz New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 970Gaming4G
    I've been trying to get AO to work with Bioshock 2 Remastered, so far to no avail - not with 0x00020000, 0x00000023, 0x000002D (the two latter ones having been mentioned on another thread). I went into Nvidia Profile Inspector, used the AO compatibility flags, and set the two Ambient Occlusion settings further down to "On" and "High quality". What could be the reason that it hasn't worked? Do any settings in Bioshock2SP.ini have to be activated in order for AO to work, or is it irrelevant with a forced effect..? I wonder how AO can work since ReShade for instance has no depth buffer to work with, its own AO, called MXAO, does not work. Thanks.
     

  11. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,947
    Likes Received:
    70
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    I don't think I actually had the chance to test BS2R when I did that. Did you try with BS1??
     
  12. brazzjazz

    brazzjazz New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 970Gaming4G
    I did try with Bioshock 1 Remastered (not gonna write "BS" as I tend to read something different from it lol), it tanked my framerate, and also crashed the game once, so it apparently caused something, although I could not see any visible ambient occlusion, no matter how hard I looked into corners etc. Bioshock 2 Remastered on the other hand does nothing, the framerate stays the same, the screenshots I carefully compared stayed the same.
     
  13. Susahamat

    Susahamat Master Guru

    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    148
    GPU:
    GTX 980 Ti Poseidon
    Sekiro Shadows Die Twice HBAO+ Flag would be awesome :)
     
  14. Dagda

    Dagda Master Guru

    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    24
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti/rtx 2070
    Last edited: Aug 23, 2019
  15. onimare

    onimare New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    1070/1660
    Garry's Mod

    0x00000006 (Left 4 Dead) - Recommended. If this this one is too heavy for you lower `AO setting` to `Performance` - screenshot with Performance setting
    0x00000009 (Team Fortress 2) - Looks the same as previous
    0x00000014 (Left 4 Dead 2) - Only visible in close range, another screenshot

    Far from perfect but at least it works

    Other flags I've tried have this issue on some maps:
    0x00000007 (Counter-strike: Source)
    0x00000008 (Half-Life 2: Fakefactory Cinematic Mod, Half-Life 2: Episode Two)
    0x0000000A (Half-Life 2, Half-Life 2: Deathmatch)
    0x0000002C (Counter-strike: Global Offensive)
     
    Last edited: Apr 13, 2019

  16. babywin

    babywin New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 1050Ti/4GB
    Why do you disable Water Effects (Tomb Raider Underworld settings), and use Quality instead of High Quality on Ambient Occlussion Ussage (Nvidia Inspector Settings)??
    Thanks a lot!
     
  17. GuyFawkesGaming

    GuyFawkesGaming Member

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 980 4GB
    Well after some tinkering I got HBAO working in Halo 2...sort of. The problem is it's quality is REALLY bad and even then only shows up when looking at object at certain angles, real annoying. The flag was the same one from Halo CE (0x0000002D). None of the other flag produce anything.

    PS. there's some additional AA options (OGSSAA?) I found and listed in the AA guide that might be useful on the spreadsheet.
     
  18. Mustang104

    Mustang104 Active Member

    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    8
    GPU:
    nVidia 1080 GTX FE
    So many pages to read through, does anyone know if there's a working profile for DCS World 2.5?
     
  19. Keven Vallée

    Keven Vallée New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    1080ti
    Anyone knows the flag for Yakuza Kiwami 2 ?
     
  20. GuyFawkesGaming

    GuyFawkesGaming Member

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 980 4GB
    For The Suffering: Prison is Hell the flag 0x00000014 works best. Surprisingly quite a a lot of flags worked on this game but most bleed, flicker or are direction base and turn off at some angles. 0x00000014 only has two minor problems, it's more subtle than I'd prefer and still bleeds in some lighting effects (such as light seeping in through the windows).

    No AO:
    [​IMG]

    0x00000014:
    [​IMG]

    0x00000006 (similar outcome to most flags):
    [​IMG]

    examples of 0x00000006 (and other flags) bleeding:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Same locations with 0x00000014:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    rare instances where 0x00000014 will bleed:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Sep 20, 2019

Share This Page