1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Have RX480 want to add 2nd can it be 580 etc?

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon' started by Grimbarian, Dec 10, 2017.

  1. Grimbarian

    Grimbarian Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,175
    Likes Received:
    65
    GPU:
    AMD RX480 8gb
    Just want to check something, I have a bog standard Sapphire AMD Radeon RX 480 8GB, I want to add a second card, primarily for mining but I'd also like to take advantage of crossfire as/when I come across any games that support it to a decent degree, I read that the RX480 can be run in Crossfire with a 580 or similar but wanted to check that was correct and if anyone has tried it please? Not 100% sure which 2nd card I'll get but it'll be something around the spec of the 480 depending on price :)
     
  2. Grimbarian

    Grimbarian Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,175
    Likes Received:
    65
    GPU:
    AMD RX480 8gb
    Well then! I bought a 580, arrived today, Saphire Nitro+ edition, I'll report back with my findings!
     
  3. Athlonite

    Athlonite Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,221
    Likes Received:
    20
    GPU:
    Nitro+RX580 8GB OC
    If it doesn't work in CF then just flash the 480 to 580 I did my Sapphire Nitro+ 480 8GB OC works perfectly except it can't or wont sustain the 1411MHz core clock drop it back down to the 480's clocks and perfect and less Volts used aswell
     
  4. big ROBOT bill

    big ROBOT bill Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,061
    Likes Received:
    196
    GPU:
    R480+ Nitro @ 1425/2030
    So what benefit did you get from the flash, more fps? I have the exact Nitro+ card
     

  5. Grimbarian

    Grimbarian Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,175
    Likes Received:
    65
    GPU:
    AMD RX480 8gb
    Thanks, it does seem to work although only tested in Assassin's Creed Origins so far and that doesn't support Crossfire but I'll pick something that does :)

    Don't suppose you do any currency mining with yours? Have an issue with the workload toggle not being there when they're in crossfire mode and not sure if that's usual and/or how to fix it :(
     
  6. Athlonite

    Athlonite Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,221
    Likes Received:
    20
    GPU:
    Nitro+RX580 8GB OC
    It runs cooler due to less core voltage required for the same clocks for 480 clocks @ 1352/2000 the card wanted to use 1.25V now though it just uses 1.11V for the same clocks also chill wouldn't kick in sometimes when turned on with the 480 it works like it should

    @Grimbarian no sorry I don't mine cost per KWh is way to high here in New Zealand to make it worthwhile doing so
     
  7. big ROBOT bill

    big ROBOT bill Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,061
    Likes Received:
    196
    GPU:
    R480+ Nitro @ 1425/2030
    Hey fellow Kiwi! :)
     
    Athlonite likes this.
  8. Grimbarian

    Grimbarian Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,175
    Likes Received:
    65
    GPU:
    AMD RX480 8gb
    Yeah that's the dilemma I'm facing now I moved to Portugal, kwh is 4-5 times what I was paying in Sweden!

     
    Last edited: Dec 17, 2017
  9. Athlonite

    Athlonite Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,221
    Likes Received:
    20
    GPU:
    Nitro+RX580 8GB OC
    But probably still cheaper than here @ $0.37 KWh
     
  10. Grimbarian

    Grimbarian Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,175
    Likes Received:
    65
    GPU:
    AMD RX480 8gb
    Yep that's 0.22 EUR per Kwh, ouch!
     
    Last edited: Dec 18, 2017
    Athlonite likes this.

  11. Athlonite

    Athlonite Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,221
    Likes Received:
    20
    GPU:
    Nitro+RX580 8GB OC
    You bet it's ouch and it's the main reason I don't mine or F@H anymore
     
  12. Grimbarian

    Grimbarian Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,175
    Likes Received:
    65
    GPU:
    AMD RX480 8gb
    I used to be able to move the % sliders all the way to the right in wattman with my old 480 but now it keeps locking my PC or wattman resets even if I only do 10%, no idea why :(
     
  13. sykozis

    sykozis Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    20,497
    Likes Received:
    277
    GPU:
    XFX RX 470
    Crossfire is only supposed to work with cards from the same generation.
     
  14. Grimbarian

    Grimbarian Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,175
    Likes Received:
    65
    GPU:
    AMD RX480 8gb
    It definitely works fine with my 480/580, GTA5 is finally amazing which is a nice bonus as I barely played it in the past.
     
  15. Agent-A01

    Agent-A01 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,065
    Likes Received:
    641
    GPU:
    1080Ti H20
    480 and 580 are the same card so it should work.

    You can't crossfire a 580 and a 7970 tho
     

  16. Grimbarian

    Grimbarian Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,175
    Likes Received:
    65
    GPU:
    AMD RX480 8gb
    Hence asking about the 570/580 specifically :)
     

Share This Page