Hardware engineers: Battery Safety Margins Exceed in Note 7

Discussion in 'Frontpage news' started by Hilbert Hagedoorn, Dec 5, 2016.

1. Hilbert Hagedoorn

Hilbert Hagedoorn Don Vito Corleone Staff Member

GPU:
    AMD | NVIDIA
  2. Pete J

Pete J Master Guru

GPU:
    Some of those as well
    A very interesting read, Hilbert. Thanks for taking the time to do this.

I'm a hardware engineer on occasion as well - I shall certainly remember this if I ever have to design something with a LiPo battery in.

3. schmidtbag

schmidtbag Ancient Guru

GPU:
    HIS R9 290
    Some may call it "pushing the boundaries". I call it "pointless".

If I were given a Note 7 for free and was promised the battery wouldn't explode, I still wouldn't use for my main phone. The only thing about it that interests me at all is the storage space and cameras.

It's kind of like driving a luxury supercar - costs a lot, looks nice, fast, and does cool things. But even if you have the money for it, it's still an inconvenience to own since you can't (or shouldn't) bring it everywhere you go, you have to go out of your way to recharge/refuel more often than cheap models, and within a couple years something will completely obsolete it. At that point, new cheap models will still be worse, but "good enough" to please most people. Your used model is now tattered where you touched it most and is too inefficient compared to the new cheap models, which makes it unappealing to everyone. I just don't see the appeal in buying anything luxurious unless you honestly don't care about burning money.

4. scoter man1

scoter man1 Ancient Guru

GPU:
    MSI GTX 1070ti
    Is it really a luxury if you use it more than 3 hours every day of your life?

5. JJayzX

JJayzX Master Guru

GPU:
    Evga RTX2070XCUltra