Halo Online for PC announced - in Russia Only Though

Discussion in 'Frontpage news' started by Hilbert Hagedoorn, Mar 26, 2015.

  1. Hilbert Hagedoorn

    Hilbert Hagedoorn Don Vito Corleone Staff Member

    Messages:
    42,094
    Likes Received:
    10,084
    GPU:
    AMD | NVIDIA
  2. Tripkebab

    Tripkebab Member Guru

    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    7
    GPU:
    Nvidia GTX 1080
    I like their thinking..

    For too long have Russians been playing on Euro Dota 2 servers. M$ obviously have some high up execs that play Dota on a regular basis.

    Fed up with 'CYKA' being repeatedly yelled at them these execs have begun a global strategy to permanently segregate the Russian gaming community from the rest of the world.

    The future of gaming is bright.
     
  3. vbetts

    vbetts Don Vincenzo Staff Member

    Messages:
    15,124
    Likes Received:
    1,700
    GPU:
    GTX 1080 Ti
    Translations, and a proxy. :D
     
  4. Denial

    Denial Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,527
    Likes Received:
    3,073
    GPU:
    EVGA RTX 3080
    Does Russia have it's own Dota 2 servers? Or is it like SA where only Brazil has their own and surrounding countries ping horribly to it, so they connect to US East for some reason?

    Honestly I think more games should have built in text translation. Dota 2 as Trip stated above is like a terrible experience at times. In US East for example we constantly get Peru/Argentinian/Other SA players that join up and absolutely refuse to speak English, despite playing in the "english preferred language" pool. Would be better to just translate it all on the fly so I can at least tell them that their "1337 March of Machine Tinker play is only denying our carry of farm and that when you finish 37-1 as Tinker and yet the team still loses, it's the Tinker's fault".
     
    Last edited: Mar 26, 2015

  5. CalculuS

    CalculuS Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,070
    Likes Received:
    291
    GPU:
    GTX 1660Ti
    They have their own servers but they don't care for whatever reason.

    I have an Aussie friend who regularly finds russians on the Australian server.
     
  6. nhlkoho

    nhlkoho Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,752
    Likes Received:
    362
    GPU:
    RTX 2080ti FE
    Dota 2 actually has a Peruvian server now.
    I play a lot of Dota 2 and I only play on US East with English set to my perferred language. Maybe 1 out of 10 games I get english speaking teammates.
     
  7. rta

    rta Active Member

    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX970
    That's probably kinda nice. That way you won't be bothered by the stream of rage text thrown at you. I might have to give foreign servers a try :)
     
  8. Denial

    Denial Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,527
    Likes Received:
    3,073
    GPU:
    EVGA RTX 3080
    Yeep, this is pretty much my experience, I don't know about 1-10 but probably half the games I get people who don't speak any English. It's really frustrating, I think translations would help though, at least for basic communications.

    You still get the stream of rage text, you just can't read it.
     
    Last edited: Mar 26, 2015
  9. Dazz

    Dazz Master Guru

    Messages:
    935
    Likes Received:
    106
    GPU:
    ASUS STRIX RTX 2080
    Based on the events after halo 3? PC gamers never got Halo 3 so WTFF.
     
  10. nhlkoho

    nhlkoho Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,752
    Likes Received:
    362
    GPU:
    RTX 2080ti FE
    You can always mute people, but its impossible to coordinate any kind of strategy with people that you can't understand.

    As soon as I see "JAJAJAJA" they go on my mute list.
     

  11. cps1974

    cps1974 Active Member

    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Inno3d GTX770 4GB
    if you value any of your personal data, russian servers (and those from other former soviet states) should be avoided IMHO - you have been warned
     
  12. vbetts

    vbetts Don Vincenzo Staff Member

    Messages:
    15,124
    Likes Received:
    1,700
    GPU:
    GTX 1080 Ti
    [​IMG]

    Here's a screenshot!

    Let's not turn this into a conspiracy...
     
  13. KissSh0t

    KissSh0t Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,839
    Likes Received:
    3,710
    GPU:
    ASUS RX 470 Strix
    I still don't know what happens after Halo 2.. kinda waiting.. for.. a long time..
     
  14. kendoka15

    kendoka15 Member Guru

    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    16
    GPU:
    EVGA RTX 3080 FTW3
    I have to admit I've written JAJAJAJA many times just for lulz...
     
  15. (.)(.)

    (.)(.) Banned

    Messages:
    9,094
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 970
    So who wants to test this out?

    Just follow these instructions ->http://gamingtheater.net/halo-online-play-now/2015/, ang you're good to go.

    This is a leaked build and IT IS ALPHA
    This is a leaked build and IT IS ALPHA
    This is a leaked build and IT IS ALPHA
    This is a leaked build and IT IS ALPHA
    This is a leaked build and IT IS ALPHA
    This is a leaked build and IT IS ALPHA


    Note: The only thing you can do is load up different maps and run around by yourself atm. Its safe to assume that if MS doesn't bring this to NA, EU etc sooninsh, then a mp server will probably be put together by the community..somehow. Tungle?

    The final product is indeed coming to NA and EU, though not sure of when, but its happening.

    There is a helpful thread over at Overclock . net if you're having any issues.
    http://www.overclock.net/t/1548483/gt-halo-online-play-now/20

    Video tutorial:


    Some screens I took, Settings and in game.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Mar 29, 2015

  16. nhlkoho

    nhlkoho Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,752
    Likes Received:
    362
    GPU:
    RTX 2080ti FE
    I'll wait until it officially comes to NA.
     
  17. (.)(.)

    (.)(.) Banned

    Messages:
    9,094
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 970
    Fair enough. Its fun to play around on though. I didnt expect to... i dont know, feel? the way i would when seeing what is basically h3 mp, on the PC, in 1080p+ running so well.

    It was exactly how id imagine it being. Awesome.

    I can understand how ms cant see how much they'd make by releasing this series on pc.

    Give the pc community H3mp, proper pc hardware support, driver forced AA and even skip the dx11/12 added "features" and they'd make a killing. Imo, it's be massive in the sense of what we havent seen since doom was first released on pc back in the 90's.

    To me, h3 is the closet a mp game has come to perfection. Only Q3A and UT come close.
     
  18. vbetts

    vbetts Don Vincenzo Staff Member

    Messages:
    15,124
    Likes Received:
    1,700
    GPU:
    GTX 1080 Ti
    I think I have to go with Halo Reach being the best, only because of the newer Forge mode in it. :D Halo does have an amazing MP experience though, I have never had a bad experience with MP and Halo. Only hours and hours of fun! Even in Halo PC pistol sniping!
     

Share This Page