Guru3D Screenshot Thread (MASSIVE 56K WARNING)

Discussion in 'Games, Gaming & Game-demos' started by thecake90, Mar 12, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. thecake90

    thecake90 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,043
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Nvidia 1060GTX
    Half life E 1 looks amazing Keep them coming
     
  2. eclap

    eclap Banned

    Messages:
    31,497
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    Palit GR 1080 2000/11000
    those oblivion screens, the last one, I don't think you're using the lod mod with higher res textures for distant land...

    are u???
     
  3. scatman839

    scatman839 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    14,057
    Likes Received:
    445
    GPU:
    1080, KD55XD800
    No, that looks like the normal one to me.
     
  4. Gromuhl'Djun

    Gromuhl'Djun Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,437
    Likes Received:
    15
    GPU:
    1080ti

  5. Brian the King

    Brian the King Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,300
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Mobility Radeon HD 5470
    A few Episode 1 screens;
    All settings max, 1600*1200, 4xAA, 16xAA never below 40fps.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  6. scoutingwraith

    scoutingwraith Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,458
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    eVGA 1080/intel4400
    just a Q.??

    is HL2 episode one a new version of Half Life 2 or they are the same
     
  7. Gromuhl'Djun

    Gromuhl'Djun Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,437
    Likes Received:
    15
    GPU:
    1080ti
    No, it's an expansion. It continues the story of Half Life2. Same engine, but with HDR this time.
     
    Last edited: Jun 2, 2006
  8. Dublin_Gunner

    Dublin_Gunner Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,642
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte Rx 460 4GB
    nVidia CAN do HDR with AA, just once the HDR in the game is being used on FP16 filtered textures.

    BTW, the HDR in HL2 E1 isnt really HDR afaik, its just an advanced bloom effect.
     
  9. netnexus

    netnexus Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,156
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    4870x2
    NV cannot do HDR + AA on either FP16 or FP32 "true" HDR.
     
  10. meatfestival92

    meatfestival92 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,767
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Geforce 9800 GTX @ 815/2078/1180
    Nope, it's proper HDR, but with some limitations (mainly lower precision to allow MSAA to be used as well)

    Some detailed info here:

    http://arstechnica.com/articles/culture/lostcoast.ars/3
     

  11. WCASD

    WCASD Master Guru

    Messages:
    973
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    NVIDIA GeForce 8400M GS
    Man, those headcrabs look wicked.
     
  12. Beavis

    Beavis Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,032
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    Quadro K620
    Those limitations effectivley make it an advanced bloom effect though. I turned it off on CSS. I think the HDR on the source engine looks horrible.
     
  13. NvidiaFreak

    NvidiaFreak Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,773
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI Radeon HD 7660D
    on your pc it does. Source HDR owned its not like far cry HDR but it make the game more real and pretty
     
  14. faded

    faded Master Guru

    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte HD7970 OC
    [​IMG]
    hmm... meaty

    [​IMG]
    wow actually outdoors!

    [​IMG]
    well that didn't last long

    [​IMG]
    its a marvellous night for a gunfight?

    [​IMG]
    POW!

    [​IMG]
    skelator..
     
  15. Beavis

    Beavis Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,032
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    Quadro K620
    Hah, you don't even know what you are talking about. I'm able to play CSS on full settings with high AA, AF and HDR very comfortably, thank you very much.

    Basically why I disabled it is because the HDR effect is ugly it washes everything out and makes everything look extrememly unrealistic - it's basically an overkill bloom effect.

    Have you played de_dust with HDR on? Have you ever in real life seen pure white buildings and sand? Have you ever gone outside and turned on your flashlight and shone it at the ground and then turned on your computer and seen how it looks in source?

    [​IMG]

    There are some places where it looks interesting but for me it's just overkill. Look at the screenshot below, there's no difference in colour between the wall and sky and the sand looks horrible.

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jun 3, 2006

  16. iamtheoneneo

    iamtheoneneo Banned

    Messages:
    730
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Nvidia 8800GTS 640mb @ 576/1700
    i agree beavis the source engine can make hdr look over used, and yes i also agree to farcry has more interesting hdr and less noticable. but its nice to have it i any games to be honest.
     
  17. snip3r_3

    snip3r_3 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,985
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    1070
    true, especially in css, its WAY too bright, but disabling it makes it look dull...
     
  18. thecake90

    thecake90 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,043
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Nvidia 1060GTX
    WOW cool effects
     
  19. Gromuhl'Djun

    Gromuhl'Djun Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,437
    Likes Received:
    15
    GPU:
    1080ti
    On some maps it looks ok, but on Dust I didn't see my crosshair because of the overbright effects with the result I sucked even more at CS:source :D
     
  20. meatfestival92

    meatfestival92 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,767
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Geforce 9800 GTX @ 815/2078/1180
    No, bloom is bloom, HDR is HDR, they're completely different things. In Source they use textures and lighting with higher colour precision, so it's HDR whatever way you slice it.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page