Guru3D Rig of the Month - June 2015

Discussion in 'Frontpage news' started by Hilbert Hagedoorn, Jun 29, 2015.

  1. cleverman

    cleverman Banned

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    16
    People not notice how this rig can be laid on one side with a reservoir fitted or is it fitted ?
    No one notice the lack of a power plug so no power supply fitted.
    Unable to see the area that makes the most sense, ( pump,psu,reservoir )
    Is that because its not actually fitted and this has been thrown out to claim the prise ....
    Funny build that's fooling everyone and no one is saying a word.
    Power supply, reservoir, pump pls and the power plug socket.
    Where are they, Showing us a bunch of assembled parts and filling a closed loop to pretend its water cooled don't deserve any prise.
    Allso doing a close up of the board reset button powered up shows deliberate intent to fool us because there is no power supply fitted.

    I would remove this as rig of the mth if I was you because it makes you a laughing stock because you can be fooled easy.
    Show us this rig running and I will eat my words,
    (someone I don't think that will happen)
     
    Last edited: Jun 29, 2015
  2. rl66

    rl66 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,088
    Likes Received:
    450
    GPU:
    Sapphire RX 580X SE
    4K with 3gig is possible, and work fine, despite a lot of people write (4g of use are very very very rare...) but the real question is "does the 780 can handle descently the 4K"
    i would say it's a bit at the limit... but with 780 you can already do a lot few bellow.

    about watercool the GPUs heat goes up only and are pushed this way and the 780 doesn't heat a lot even in OC... exept for silence i don't think it is usefull.

    this rig is nice and mobile, everything is logical, i like it.
     
  3. Hilbert Hagedoorn

    Hilbert Hagedoorn Don Vito Corleone Staff Member

    Messages:
    42,134
    Likes Received:
    10,100
    GPU:
    AMD | NVIDIA
    Added a photo for mr. sourpuss here. Oh and here here and here to see the chassis evolve and running. And on the reservoir, not everybody uses one, define tubing, pre-fill and close the loop.

    Now eat them ... :nerd:

    [​IMG]
     
  4. rl66

    rl66 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,088
    Likes Received:
    450
    GPU:
    Sapphire RX 580X SE
    yes most of the time the reservoir is used as decanter...
    it's as used in track car if you check your coolant level and a part remove presure (tap cap or valve) you can remove coolant reservoir.

    btw my computer "reservoir" is 15cm of 10/13 tube with fillport on top when it goes down i add few and it's ok... never have problem on my WC since many many years (on other hand pump and cooler unit are 5/6m away on other room... lot of fluid in tube already).
     

  5. cleverman

    cleverman Banned

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    16
    the reservoir ?
    show us the reservoir..
    oh and your first pictures failed bad because what I wrote could well of been true from those images.

    Ok I eat,
    good job there I take it all back.
    but you should of just posted them images because from the images provided I could of been right.
    Nice job indeed,
    I all ways say anything off the shelf don't belong on rig of the mth and yours isn't like that, good job.
     
    Last edited: Jun 29, 2015
  6. Hughesy

    Hughesy Master Guru

    Messages:
    357
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    MSI Twin Frozr 980


    You don't need a reservoir for watercooling, hence those AIO coolers don't use them. Not sure why you thought he would post a rig of the month that isn't a real build, think next time, he knows what he's doing. Not looking so clever, cleverman:nerd:....:stewpid:

    Take that last part as tongue in cheek.
     
    Last edited: Jun 29, 2015
  7. eclap

    eclap Banned

    Messages:
    31,495
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    Palit GR 1080 2000/11000
    Very neat, like it.
     
  8. Rage

    Rage Member

    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX680 2GB
    I was thinking the exact opposite. I only checked out all 4 pages waiting to see what it looked like with the front and rear shrouds on, only to find out that there weren't any. (Or did I miss them?) It just looks like a small rig, with three GPU's that is almost finished. Not sure why ROTM, but congrats to him.

    +1
     
  9. bigfutus

    bigfutus Master Guru

    Messages:
    530
    Likes Received:
    56
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 1080 Ti
    Are you a wizard? I don't know how you managed it otherwise :)
     
  10. xIcarus

    xIcarus Master Guru

    Messages:
    954
    Likes Received:
    96
    GPU:
    1080 Ti AORUS
    If your renderer supports CUDA/OpenCL you want to render on GPUs. A single high-end GPU generally trashes any CPU around. 3 of those is quite ridiculous. Not to mention multi-GPU scaling is pretty much perfect and you don't even need similar video cards like CFX/SLI. You can throw in any cards you want.

    LE: This was referring to the fact that he said he's using the desktop as a render slave aswell.
     
    Last edited: Jun 30, 2015

  11. xIcarus

    xIcarus Master Guru

    Messages:
    954
    Likes Received:
    96
    GPU:
    1080 Ti AORUS
    Hilbert already posted what you're saying. Page 1.

     
  12. Dr.Puschkin

    Dr.Puschkin Member Guru

    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    12
    GPU:
    GTX 1080Ti SLi
    Airflow is not good and there's air in the loop.
     
  13. L3p

    L3p Master Guru

    Messages:
    289
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus GTX980 SLI
    Nice job Ottetal:thumbup:
     

Share This Page