1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

GUIDE: Control voltage without using Afterburner or Trixx

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon' started by Pill Monster, Sep 7, 2012.

  1. Pill Monster

    Pill Monster Banned

    Messages:
    25,216
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    7950 Vapor-X 1100/1500
    Hi guys.

    Some of you may know how to do this but there are a few people who don't.
    These instructions for those with non-reference cards who don't have voltage control available in Afterburner.

    The problem with Trixx is it permanently locks the card at 3D voltages even if the GPU is in 2D mode or just idling.
    By using the method shown below only the 3D mode voltage will be affected.



    First stop the MOM service;

    [​IMG]




    Then edit following .xml file like so (Want 2 is the 3D voltage);

    [​IMG]


    After editing the .xml, start CCC to apply changes, once that is done you may disable CCC completely and voltages will stick.
    However please note that once your PC is restarted CCC needs to be opened again or voltages will reset to default.

    Hope this helps some of you. :)
     
    Last edited: Oct 3, 2012
  2. PhazeDelta1

    PhazeDelta1 Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    15,618
    Likes Received:
    13
    GPU:
    EVGA 1080 FTW
    I already knew about this method but thanks for posting it nontheless. You'll definitely make alot of people happy with that.

    Also, I am going to state the obvious because I know someone will still end up asking, NO this will not work with Nvidia cards. :nerd:
     
  3. Pill Monster

    Pill Monster Banned

    Messages:
    25,216
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    7950 Vapor-X 1100/1500
    Heh it wouldn't surprise me...:p
     
  4. The Mac

    The Mac Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,409
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9-290 Vapor-X
    hmmm....i dont seem to have this file...
     

  5. Pill Monster

    Pill Monster Banned

    Messages:
    25,216
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    7950 Vapor-X 1100/1500
    You sure about that?
     
  6. tweakpower

    tweakpower Banned

    Messages:
    932
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI HD 6770
    Good thing to have, I didn't know about that.

    Maybe i will need that soon, since this is first GPU from MSI that is so-so, not close as bad as GPU's i had, but still far away from perfect ;).

    The best card i had was ASUS 9550GE (not fastest one...), it played any game from 2x+ FPS smoothly, it is hard to get that today... on some games, even at 38FPS it becomes a bit not smooth, on others even at 60-80. Not as that drastic, but still very notable. I think voltage bump/down will help in those cases. Maybe will test it next time.

    Thanks ;).
     
    Last edited: Oct 3, 2012
  7. Pill Monster

    Pill Monster Banned

    Messages:
    25,216
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    7950 Vapor-X 1100/1500
    ^Hmm I'm surprised this thread isn't more popular....maybe I need to change the title?
     
  8. tweakpower

    tweakpower Banned

    Messages:
    932
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI HD 6770
    Maybe you should change "how to" it looks more like a question then tutorial, or simply add tut. ad start don't know, I'm sure someone will find use of this thread :).

    I def. need some help about something, will PM you to test something when you got time, if you can.
     
  9. Scerate

    Scerate Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,042
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2080@2.1/1070N@2.0
    I'm using nearly the same technique on my 7970M and used it on my 6990M to change voltage works without issues :)
     
  10. Tyrael-D3

    Tyrael-D3 Active Member

    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire HD 7870 XT
    This has never worked for me.

    Currently tried again using 6950, win7 x64, catalyst 12.9 beta 9.1.00/9.00.1 (dyslexic driver) caps viewer says 1.175 max
     

  11. CPC_RedDawn

    CPC_RedDawn Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,488
    Likes Received:
    75
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX1080Ti AMP
    I didn't know about this. Does this apply to AfterBurner as well? I do have a Sapphire card but I don't like Trixx.
     
  12. Pill Monster

    Pill Monster Banned

    Messages:
    25,216
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    7950 Vapor-X 1100/1500
    So then it did work, since the 6950 stock 3D voltage is 1.10v. I can get 1.18v max, anything higher is hardware limited I'm guessing.


    What do u mean by "does it apply to afterburner"?....
     
    Last edited: Oct 4, 2012
  13. Tyrael-D3

    Tyrael-D3 Active Member

    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire HD 7870 XT
    It's always been 1.175 hehe. i'll try lower and see if it changes.

    changed it to 1.111 and caps viewer says 1.111, but gpu-z sensor shows 1.176 (always shows that unless im using trixx)
     
    Last edited: Oct 4, 2012
  14. Pill Monster

    Pill Monster Banned

    Messages:
    25,216
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    7950 Vapor-X 1100/1500
    Did you close CCC first then re-open it after editing the voltage in .xml?
     
  15. Tyrael-D3

    Tyrael-D3 Active Member

    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire HD 7870 XT
    yep, end task on mom.exe, changed profile, save, exit, right click desktop open ccc

    can you try it out and see what gpu-z sensor says?
    what driver version are you on?
    been out of luck with anything newer than those april 18th 12.5's or w/e 8.97.
    i get screen crazyness when using those old dll files via trixx etc.. with anything newer than the 8.970
     

  16. Pill Monster

    Pill Monster Banned

    Messages:
    25,216
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    7950 Vapor-X 1100/1500
    [​IMG]

    Try uninstalling Trixx then rebooting....
     
    Last edited: Oct 4, 2012
  17. Tyrael-D3

    Tyrael-D3 Active Member

    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire HD 7870 XT
    Yea, try a lower voltage 1.123 or w/e to test it out, curious to see if it works as intended on your system/driver set.
     
  18. Pill Monster

    Pill Monster Banned

    Messages:
    25,216
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    7950 Vapor-X 1100/1500
    Of course it works otherwise I never would have created this thread...lol

    I can set any voltage up to 1.18v. What is the exact model of your card?
     
    Last edited: Oct 4, 2012
  19. Tyrael-D3

    Tyrael-D3 Active Member

    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire HD 7870 XT
    pic would be nice.

    HD6950 Toxic, unlocked via switch Bios: 013.012.000.020.000000 (113-4E182PROXX-T44)

    [​IMG]
     
  20. Tyrael-D3

    Tyrael-D3 Active Member

    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire HD 7870 XT
    I'm not trying to disprove you, i'm trying to get it working :)
     

Share This Page