GTX480 SLI +280 Physx Results!!!

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce' started by gloves085, Apr 15, 2010.

  1. gloves085

    gloves085 Member Guru

    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    Graphics Card::
    eVga GTX 680 SLI
    UPDATED!!! GTX480 SLI +280 Physx Results!!!

    UPDATE: Having seen the results from a couple others with single 480 + Physx card I decided to look at my results again. It seems I had a damaged Sli bridge and the inital results below were false:

    I have since replaced my Sli bridge and it seems a Physx card can still make a difference.

    Single 480 + 480 Physx: Min:42 Max: 126 Ave: 80
    480 Sli: Min: 33 Max: 103 Ave: 67
    480 Sli +280 Physx: Min: 64 Max: 166 Ave: 103

    This is with 16 AF and 16QAA

    My apologies for my original misleading results. :wanker:


    :)Sorry for not posting screenshots but I was amazed and had to share right away.

    I have just run Batman Arkham Asylum Benchmark with 480s in sli doing physics and also 480s Sli with a GTX280 as Physics. In order to keep both runs on a level playing field I did not add the new GTX 480 Physx patch. Both runs were at max settings with 16Q AA @ 1920 x 1200.

    I was not expecting these results!

    GTX 480 Sli 480 Physx / GTX 480 Sli GTX 280 Physx
    Min: 37 / 34
    Max: 107 / 105
    Ave: 71 / 69

    Edit: I have since added the 480 Physx patch and the results for the 480s with no 280 were identical to the 480 with 280 previously, so I stand by my margin for error comment.

    This was off only one run each but I believe even at min FPS the margin for error is acceptable.

    The difference is negligible, I was amazed!! These cards really are GPGPU monsters, they can do Physx in their sleep!

    Anyone wanna buy a couple GTX 280s?


    Kudos to Ricardonuno1980 for predicting this. TBH I didn't believe the cards were that good.


    Edit: I ran 3DMark Vantage in both modes also. Of course the thing to bear in mind there is that the Physics test doesn't stress the cards at all so no surprises that with 280 CPU score = 50k, without = 59k. It's a no brainer, the 280s are going to a new home soon!
     
    Last edited: Apr 23, 2010
  2. Black_ice_Spain

    Black_ice_Spain Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,555
    Likes Received:
    0
    Graphics Card::
    970GTX
    just for curiosity, how much one of those 280s would go? xP
     
  3. gloves085

    gloves085 Member Guru

    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    Graphics Card::
    eVga GTX 680 SLI
    LOL, I think it's the insured postage that would kill your wallet.

    I'm currently deciding whether to put one in my partner's machine to replace his 2 x 8800GTXs on water, but he doesn't game so I think I'll probably put them on ebay, sadly none of my friends at work would know what to do with them and I hate parting with old gear.
     
    Last edited: Apr 15, 2010
  4. Black_ice_Spain

    Black_ice_Spain Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,555
    Likes Received:
    0
    Graphics Card::
    970GTX
    aint you from UK? xP european have no fees

    postage idk but a fan from china was only 10$
     
    Last edited: Apr 15, 2010

  5. ricardonuno1980

    ricardonuno1980 Banned

    Messages:
    4,409
    Likes Received:
    0
    Graphics Card::
    GTX 780Ti Classified :D
    :)
    ave - 107 / 105; max - 71 / 69 -> bad but max - 107 / 105; ave - 71 / 69 -> good. you mistake it. lool
    after new patch for batman AA, did you get crash or message error to desktop?
     
    Last edited: Apr 15, 2010
  6. gloves085

    gloves085 Member Guru

    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    Graphics Card::
    eVga GTX 680 SLI
    Ok, thanks for proving me wrong twice in one day Ricardo, fixed now :wanker:
    :stewpid:

    The annoying things is I've now got to rip the 280 back out of my case and that is MAJOR surgery!

    Oh and I did not run the 280 in Physx after the patch, I couldn't see the point.
     
    Last edited: Apr 15, 2010
  7. gloves085

    gloves085 Member Guru

    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    Graphics Card::
    eVga GTX 680 SLI
    @ Black Ice Spain

    I'm not quite ready to part with the 280s yet maybe a week or so in case I burn out the 480s with overclocks or overvolts. but if you take a look at ebay and then PM me with an offer I will get back to you seeing as you asked first.

    Please bear in mind they are EVGA GTX 280 SSCs and have been perfectly reliable, the warranty with evga is not transferrable, but they can be delivered boxed.

    NOTE!: I am not open to offers from anyone else, but Black Ice asked and IF I sell I will offer him first before putting them on ebay. I don't think I can say fairer than that as this is not a Marketplace thread.
     
  8. The Phoenix

    The Phoenix Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Graphics Card::
    gigabyte 970 g1
    dark void benchmark,even with 260 for physx it wont let me select above low physx setting,but anyway gtx480 by itself scored 95 fps,gtx480+260 doing physx,over 130 fps,i dont have batman so i couldnt test that,but alas im rather inpressed with the dark void gains,also tested darkest of days and gained about 12fps more with the 260 doing physx,probly will score higher on physx if i overclock the 260
     
  9. Black_ice_Spain

    Black_ice_Spain Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,555
    Likes Received:
    0
    Graphics Card::
    970GTX
    ill consider it if i see em in ebay (only one, i dont have two slots), anyways im happy with this one and was planning to hold it. so dont see me as a buyer xP. Was curiosity also xP.
     
    Last edited: Apr 15, 2010
  10. gloves085

    gloves085 Member Guru

    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    Graphics Card::
    eVga GTX 680 SLI
    @ The Phoenix


    Hmm, that is interesting, but I am in Sli, maybe Physx is now rendering across both cards, but I couldn't see a difference and for the extra strain on my PSU, not to mention squeezing the 280 between my 480s and upping temps, I can't justify it.

    These 480s are awesome aren't they! :)

    I may try a little more testing over the weekend before I ditch the cards.
     

  11. The Phoenix

    The Phoenix Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Graphics Card::
    gigabyte 970 g1
    definatly raises the temps on average about 8C more then the 480 by itself,and i agree im luvin this card
     
  12. Black_ice_Spain

    Black_ice_Spain Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,555
    Likes Received:
    0
    Graphics Card::
    970GTX
    480s are more awesome for physx and cuda things than they are for games.

    Well, that considering that they are awesome for everything xD
     
  13. eclap

    eclap Banned

    Messages:
    31,511
    Likes Received:
    1
    Graphics Card::
    Palit GR 1080 2000/11000
    Aldershot?? I'm between Basingstoke/Fleet... so... how much do you want for a 280gtx?
     
  14. The Phoenix

    The Phoenix Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Graphics Card::
    gigabyte 970 g1
    gloves085 are you overclocking the 285s? precision wont let me change the core clock on the 260 hmmm it would score higher if i could i believe
     
  15. gloves085

    gloves085 Member Guru

    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    Graphics Card::
    eVga GTX 680 SLI
    Odd!?! Precison worked fine for me on the 280s perhaps it is a side effect of having the 480 installed. Have you tried Afterburner? It is based on the same Rivatuner code.
     

  16. The Phoenix

    The Phoenix Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Graphics Card::
    gigabyte 970 g1
    nah hadnt tried that yet but i think i will an we will see what happens
     
  17. A M D BugBear

    A M D BugBear Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,527
    Likes Received:
    0
    Graphics Card::
    2 1080ti h20 w/XOC Bios
    Screw the physx card, play it without it. not many games utilizes it in full potential anyways, gtx 480 and or sli and no physx card, crazy man, leave the 480's alone, you are all set to go buddie.
     
  18. JCD3nton

    JCD3nton New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Graphics Card::
    GTX 480 SLI
    Hmm, if there's no difference maybe there's no need for me to keep my GTX280. I have a pair of 480s coming tomorrow, can't wait. I would have been scared to run a pair of 480s with GTX280 physx on a corsair HX1000 anyway.

    edit: oh snap, I actually see that the OP is using an HX1000. So OP, have you fried your PSU yet or does it seem safe?
     
  19. gloves085

    gloves085 Member Guru

    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    Graphics Card::
    eVga GTX 680 SLI
    Actually I added a second PSU for the 280 as a temporary measure to be on the safe side. I had one power cut off when using just the HX1000w, but I had CPU and both 480s overclocked so I decided to play it safe. It's a nice PSU and I didn't want to risk frying it either ;)
     
  20. JCD3nton

    JCD3nton New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Graphics Card::
    GTX 480 SLI

    Was the HX1000 sufficient for just the overclocked 480s without the 280 or did you need a second PSU for that too?
     

Share This Page