GTX 980 Club - Overclocking - Benchmarks!

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce' started by Veteran, Sep 19, 2014.

  1. fantaskarsef

    fantaskarsef Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,264
    Likes Received:
    4,454
    GPU:
    2080Ti @h2o
    Have you activated advanced voltage control and monitoring in the AB settings? afaik you need to do that before you can toy with those :)
     
  2. mahanddeem

    mahanddeem Master Guru

    Messages:
    660
    Likes Received:
    27
    GPU:
    Asus GTX1080Ti StrX
    :pirate:
    Oops, you're right, what I dumb I am lol
    I see the options(sliders) now.

    Thanks.
     
  3. fantaskarsef

    fantaskarsef Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,264
    Likes Received:
    4,454
    GPU:
    2080Ti @h2o
    No problem at all.
    Happy overclocking ;)

    What OC can you do? Don't forget to increase the power target, seems to be pretty handy all the time. Are you going for a custom BIOS too?
     
    Last edited: May 16, 2015
  4. alanm

    alanm Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,308
    Likes Received:
    2,445
    GPU:
    Asus 2080 Dual OC
    This looks like the new champ: Evga 980 Hybrid. Default boost 1430, OC 1620 with no voltage adjustments. Load temp = 36c.
     

  5. fantaskarsef

    fantaskarsef Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,264
    Likes Received:
    4,454
    GPU:
    2080Ti @h2o
    Not bad at all! Yet I'm not that shocked either, custom water already went there. It looks like an above average AIO system though :)
     
  6. alanm

    alanm Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,308
    Likes Received:
    2,445
    GPU:
    Asus 2080 Dual OC
    A bit too late for any 980 though, now matter how pimped up. Since the Ti is just around the corner.
     
  7. fantaskarsef

    fantaskarsef Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,264
    Likes Received:
    4,454
    GPU:
    2080Ti @h2o
    Oh certainly, but I guess they think 'better now than never' and try to grab a few sales still.
     
  8. deByte

    deByte Active Member

    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 980 SC ACX 2.0
    Hey, guys.
    I'm a newbie in GPU OC'ing, but I found stable core/memory OC in Heaven 4.0 and 3DMark FireStrike (Extreme and non-extreme). But in games like CoD:BO,BO2 my OC isn't even stable and I need to restart my PC.

    Which programs I need to use to check stability of OC?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  9. Extraordinary

    Extraordinary Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    19,562
    Likes Received:
    1,626
    GPU:
    ROG Strix 1080 OC
  10. milamber

    milamber Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,259
    Likes Received:
    50
    GPU:
    MSI 1080 Gaming X
    I find the Heaven, Valley and 3dmark benchmarks are enough. If they are stable with no artifacts then I'm usually OK. Although some games are more sensitive. For example, I recently found that I could push my OC higher for GTA 5 and Far Cry 4 than I could AC: Unity which was more prone to crashing.
     

  11. Extraordinary

    Extraordinary Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    19,562
    Likes Received:
    1,626
    GPU:
    ROG Strix 1080 OC
    CoD:BO,BO2 sound like pretty good stability tests
     
  12. fantaskarsef

    fantaskarsef Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,264
    Likes Received:
    4,454
    GPU:
    2080Ti @h2o
    Stupid question, but do I have to use Asus GPU Tweak on my Strix 980s, or could I use Afterburner too?
     
  13. Trinoo

    Trinoo Member

    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080 FTW
    you can use all GPU Tweak tools... Afterburner, Evga Precision X... Asus Gpu Tweak... Nvidia Inspector
     
  14. Prod

    Prod Master Guru

    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    2080 Ti FE W/C
    yup you can use any of them.
     
  15. fantaskarsef

    fantaskarsef Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,264
    Likes Received:
    4,454
    GPU:
    2080Ti @h2o
    Good, because Tweak Tool was installed fine, and as soon as I told it to remember my settings for the next boot, it wouldn't let itself be run either on startup or by the program menu, so... screw it. Liked AB better anyways.

    Thanks for the intel, guys.
     

  16. fantaskarsef

    fantaskarsef Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,264
    Likes Received:
    4,454
    GPU:
    2080Ti @h2o
    Just as a side note, have been running with 1.21v primary card and 1.175 on the secondary so far, getting to 1511 at the moment. Will toy with Shamino's stuff soon, as I hope to get both cards towards 1.3... the goal is 1600 on both cards. Far flung, but I want to see it! :D
     
  17. dwiewolverine

    dwiewolverine Member Guru

    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Strix GTX 980 Ti SLI
    still have 980 G1 SLI,consider build with skylake..:vader:
     
  18. BetA

    BetA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,368
    Likes Received:
    306
    GPU:
    G1-GTX980@1400Mhz
    uhhhh, NECROMANCING this Thread.... :)

    quick question,

    anyone used or is using an 6 pin to 8 pin converter for GPU´s?

    My Trusty GTX670 died 3 days ago while watching an Movie with "MadVR" haha.. Well, madvr has some stronk GPU usage... Of course madvr didnt kill my Card, it just gave it the last kick. Im pretty shure the Card had it coming anyway.. it had some nasty coile whine in the weeks before leading to its death.. aaaanyway.... im getting an gtx980 for free but my PSU only has 1 x 6 Pin and 1 x 8 Pin.
    The GTX980 (G1 Gaming Gigabyte) has 2 x 8 Pin connectors.

    My PSU shoud be enough, it has 1 Rail with 490Watts to its disposal...
    I also plan to lower the TDP in the BIOS of teh Card, so i dont go over 180 Watts.
    Because Gigabyte in theyr Wisdom made the Max TDP of this Card to 300 WATTS...
    This puppy "could" suck 300 Watts, so, you understand why i want to lower it..

    So, anyone has experince with this?
    Any suggestions?

    Thanks
     
  19. sneipen

    sneipen Member Guru

    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    16
    GPU:
    Nvidia 1080
    I use afterburner. Would think that safer that tweaking bios. Just save profile, make afterburner start with windows and make it default profile.
     

Share This Page